We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious-Glad we went!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocotte Cita

Cocotte Cita
Calle 38 entre 5ta y 1a Avenida | Colonia centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
984 803 11 91
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious-Glad we went!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Friends gifted my boyfriend and I an anniversary dinner. The food was delicious. The service and ambiance was excellent. The owner incredibly personable and friendly. I highly recommend this place. I hope this place continues to be successful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    151
    19
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Just Go Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you seek good, honest food and wine get yourself to Cocotte Cita. We were drawn in by the great looking country French menu and the brilliantly executed food and service have made us patrons for life. If you are looking for glitter over substance this may not be the place for you. If you seek pure flavors and personal attention you have come to the right place. We enjoyed tasty house-made terrines, chicken braised in beer, and the classic bœuf bourguignon (beef burgundy), with fresh salads and great, tasty wines from France's Southwest. We love eating Mexican food in Playa but as many regular visitors and expats know - sometimes you simply need to sample another cuisine. This restaurant is certainly our place for a taste of France. Additionally, we love the wine selections here. They offer well chosen wines that satisfy the palate without breaking the bank. Wine lovers can easily tire of the standard South American selections offered at most every restaurant in town. We are already planning our next visit and we are bringing friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic French comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I both spent time living in France and the food at Cocotte is authentic and delicious. Simple ingredients and superb quality. We had the French onion soup (delicious & lighter than the typicall heavy:beefy/cheesy version), chicken braised in beer with thyme and potatoes, fresh fish of the day (whole fried snapper with pesto tagliatelle) and the molten chocolate cake. Everything was delicious and beyond our expectations and best of all - reasonably priced! Great atmosphere and location - we were served personally by the owner. Go here its great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you're wanting to get a break from the usual Mexican cuisine and hoping to eat fine food in a quiet surrounding then this is the place to go. My boyfriend and I are lovers of fine food, and I cannot deny that this restaurant certainly met our standards. We were first served a complimentary goat cheese dip, which was absolutely delicious yet not too filling. We then shared the foie gras to start. Having visited Paris earlier this year, we definitely know what good foie gras tastes like and this appetiser hit the spot! Served with crusty bread it was divine and is a definite recommendation. We then shared the duck confit, served with sweet potato dauphinoise and salad. It was kindly divided up for us on two plates, and definitely big enough to share.

While the quality of food is always important, I believe that the ambience and service is also a detrimental factor of a great evening, and we were not let down. This restaurant is situated just off the busy fifth avenue in a quiet little spot. The owner, a lovely French man, was extremely friendly and helpful, taking time out of his evening to talk to us and explain different menu items.

Highly recommended for a romantic evening full of great food and a cozy atmosphere. This place is also rather easy on the bank balance considering the quality of the food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in Playa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ate at this restaurant for the first time last year just after it opened in April. We loved it last year. We decided to give it a try again this year and we were not disappointed.

The menu is a mix of traditional French specialities and some with a Mexican twist.

My starter was a mixed terrine--3 different types --almost enough for a full meal. My wife had Duck Confit with a Squash Dauphinoise. Last year, the duck was great and it was just as good this year. The chef buys his duck from a small farmer who visits Playa to sell his produce. I had a seafood tagine which was steamed fish, clams, crunchy vegetables, dried apricot sauce on a bed of couscous--all cooked in a tagine-like casserole. Huge amount of food!

Given the quality and size of the portions, the prices are very reasonable--190 pesos for the duck confit; 200 pesos for the seafood tagine; and only 100 pesos for the terrine selection.

There was no room for cheese or dessert! The wine list is short and is well priced (for Playa) and includes wines by the glass (including a couple of good French selections).

My wife and I agreed that on our next visit, sharing will be the order of the day!

And, don't forget to visit the art gallery on the mezzanine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocotte Cita also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cocotte Cita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocotte Cita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.