We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sian Ka'an Jeep - Whale Shark Natura

Sian Ka'an Jeep - Whale Shark Natura
Monte de los Cibeles, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 109 7216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 292 Activities in Playa del Carmen
Type: National Parks, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We will pick you up at your hotel, transportation with A/C, (collect throughout the Mayan Riviera from Cancun to Tulum 7:30 - 5:40). Once we get pier will offer us coffe while we waited for our boat assigned, board a speedboat for 10 passengers, it is mandatory to wear a lifejacket. Snorkeling with whale sharks will be accompanied by a sailor, can jump two or four at a time. When we will back will visit isla mujeres to have a ceviche luch and beer to finish our tour.
Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Once in a lifetime experience. 3 hourse in a little boat to find them was a little to much but cant be helped. Forget all that when you find the whale sharks and jump in with them!!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Whale Shark trip left me a bit disappointed, though it was no fault of the staff. There were SO MANY boats and SO MANY other people who wanted to see the whale sharks that it was insane. People were jumping in the water, pushing and kicking just to get a glimpse. Getting kicked in the head while trying not to disturb the whale shark isn't much fun... :( I spent most of my time trying to avoid people rather than enjoying the shark.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best thing I have ever done on any trip abroad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

words cannot explain the time I had. Tina and the crew were amazing..I want to do it again. They are only in 2 places in the world..mexico and Australia...these are the biggest fish in the ocean...gentle as fabric softner but incredible HUGE!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Must do on your bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Incredible. However, many are sea sick and it is for good swimmers. We had a couple on board who had never snorkelled... not the place to learn. Also, take the blue pill they offer you, 6 out of 10 were sea sick that day, I was fine but felt queazy looking at people vomiting. Bring biodegradable sunscreen lotion... go to the washroom before getting on the speedboat AND BUY the CD afterwards, the $25 is worth it. The boat captains are very careful not to hurt the sharks, it's done in a respectful way. Try to book your tour close to the full moon, you will see more. We got to see 50.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime event!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Swim/Snorkel with whale sharks June through September. They are very safe because they eat plankton. Swimmers do not seem to bother them. They actually appear to enjoy the company.
They are anywhere from 10-42 feet long and weigh as much as 47,000 lbs. Amazing!
A must see!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sian Ka'an Jeep - Whale Shark Natura also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Sian Ka'an Jeep - Whale Shark Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sian Ka'an Jeep - Whale Shark Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.