We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location and friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Alhambra to your Saves list
Hotel Alhambra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 8 con playa MZ 4 N 876 | Beach Front, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
portland or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding location and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We love Hotel Alhambra! Everyone is so nice there, and you cannot beat the location- right on the beach and just a block from Av 5. We had delicious fresh fruit for breakfast (we're vegan) which was really lovely. The rooms are simple, clean, and housekeeping always made the towels into cute little animals/creatures which we enjoyed! Because it is so close to the action, it can be noisy at night. It's worth staying there just for the beachfront- best beach in Playa for sure. Go, have a Corona and relax under the shade of an umbrella. There's nothing better!

Room Tip: The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, and the location is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    67
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
89
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a terrific find! My husband and I stayed here one night on our way to Talum. It was within walking distance from shopping row central (5th avenue), and we were pleasantly surprised to see how little we were "barked" at to shop in particular locals shops as we were walking around. The room was somewhat small, but extremely clean, and came with free FULL breakfast the next morning. My only regret is we didn't plan better so that we could have taken advantage of the Yoga classes. The hotel feels like a zen retreat. Quiet, peaceful and clean. Note: It's a little noisy from the music at the corner bar on 5th - but just slightly. Just turn up the air conditioner...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I have just left Hotel Alhambra. We had been very busy beforehand and really needed to chill out. This we did. Our room, while not large was fine for us as we were hardly in it. The location was perfect - close to the evening action but not in the middle. We whiled away the day, reading and swimming, dipping in and out of the sea, and the food was great. We were close to some great coral, well worth exploring. Staff were so gentle and thoughtful. Our only downside was in the evening the distant throbbing of music a few blocks away on the beach, but this is not only an issue for the Alhambra, and it did not stop us having a wonderful break. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are currenly staying at alhambra, and having a great time. My wife and i enjoy the great breakfast every morning, and love laying on the chairs under umbrellas which they provide. The food has been a real suprise. Better than we expected.. Love the limonada with mineral water mmmmmm, a must try. We would come back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Alhambra for a 8 days and loved it, staff was great!. we had a party of 14 (Salazar Party) and everything was perfect... could not ask for more, the room, food and the room rates we awsome....

Room Tip: all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stumbled upon this hotel by chance. I initially wanted to stay at Playa Maya which is right next door. Before making my reservations I asked for some clarification via e-mail and waited for their response. Playa Maya never responded so I called them directly and hotel clerk explained that they use an agency to book the rooms. I then asked her to recommend a hotel right on the beach and she then recommended Alhambra.

Great inexpensive find!

I was very pleased for the immediate response when I asked for a room over looking the ocean. Mario was very attentive and accommodating. I asked for a fridge in the room and Fernando informed me that one would be provided which was helpful.

We took the ADO huge comfortable bus from Cancun airport for around $9 pp to PDC, which was great ! Some guy at airport had offered us a ride in a van for $32 pp. So do your research.

The room was not very spacious but for the price I thought it was great. I agree with other TA bed was hard but actually I slept well on it. The breakfast was tasty and filling and saved on some money having it included. The restaurant staff is really nice ! Especially busboy don't know his name who looks very young.

The maid service was great they kept room spotless :-)

We were there during Hurricane Ernesto and when we asked the staff about it they were not too concerned said the government had not evacuated Playa.. Coming from Florida we didn't want to be evacuated at the last minute so we just kept an eye on it on our phones with their fast Internet. Ended up being not a big deal just a lot of wind and a little rain for 1 day.

The Girl who works front desk seemed completely lost every time we asked her anything. Only thing she did know was the location of bank.
Fernando seemed bothered every time you asked a question. He Never smiled and His tips were not accurate.

Tip: found out A Collectivo is van which you can take at 15 Avenue north and 2 street that can basically take you anywhere. Don't know how much to airport but you can take to Tulum , Xelha, Many Cenotes , Cancun etc..it's cheaper than taxi.

We also asked for directions to a restaurant we saw in TA but didn't have the address. Instead of looking on their laptop for exact address and giving us correct location they sent us to opposite end of town. A nice hotel clerk at some other place was kind enough to look up the address and after 1 hour of walking in the humidity we finally reached our destination. Kaxapa great Venezuelan place by the way. I left some cards at the front desk.

The Alhambra hotel is a great affordable place to stay. It's clean, has a good breakfast, its right on a beautiful beach and in close proximity to all the fun stuff.

Mario is very helpful he offered us downstairs showers since checkout was at Noon and our flight wasn't till late afternoon.

We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel was pretty good. It has a great location, between the beach and the 5th avenue, which is very nice to walk by. Their ambience and theme was a surprise to me and my family. They have free yoga classes, with an ocean view. It also has a solarium with a great view. They have a tiny pool, that's not even worth to try swim in it, but just to admire it or maybe to take a picture with the dolphin sculpture (it looks more like a fountain than a swimming pool).

Even though the food was nice, the breakfast buffet (included) was repetitive. Another dissapointment was not to have rooms over the ground floor, or even an elevator would have been sufficient for a 96-year-old lady. The last ugly surprise was that the hotel had no street access, this is inconvenient as there is no parking nearby.

At the beginning we didn't care for the owner's attitude as "my way, or the highway"... He was quite rude, and eventhough the problem was a miscommunication between the travel agency and the services provided there, he manifested to be more affraid of having a bad review rather than trying solving these issues. At that point we decided to have a great time despite this man, and so we did.

The rest of the employees were very warm and helpful, as all people in playa del Carmen we met on our vacation.

I recommend this hotel if it suits your conditions, and maybe if you're in a romantic mood or if you want to "connect" with the ocean.

I don't reccomend it to people in wheel chairs, or if you're planning on being noisy or party there, since they're very strict with the quietness.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms with balcony, they were ok. The view was of the front of the hotel, which is on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra R, Director de Recepción at Hotel Alhambra, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We will consider your opinion. I see that this did not stop for you to have fun that's what matters. We hope to serve you in another time and you leave satisfied. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#33 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fusion Hotel
Fusion Hotel
#123 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#138 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#133 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#28 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residences El Faro
Residences El Faro
#29 of 141 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Address: Calle 8 con playa MZ 4 N 876 | Beach Front, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open the door to the Harmonies and Healing energies of earth, sunlight and ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Alhambra Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.