We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Alhambra to your Saves list
Hotel Alhambra
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 8 con playa MZ 4 N 876 | Beach Front, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

My friend and I spent 4 nights at this lovely little hotel from Feb 11-15. Everything about this hotel was exactly what we expected, and then some. Both the front desk and on-site restaurant service was impeccable - thank you!! The hotel's decor is very pretty and the rooms are simple and super-clean! Beds are quite firm as is common in Mexico, but apparently my body likes that since I slept very well! The food at the restaurant was delicious. Anyone who loves seafood MUST have their ceviche - I particularly enjoyed the Caribbean one with mango in it. I'm craving one just writing about it! Beach chairs were readily available, unlike the fight for chairs at the big all-inclusive resorts. Couldn't ask for a better location - on the beach, but a stone's throw away from 5th Ave. I could go on & on....but if you have any questions, feel free to contact me for more....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    65
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
88
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Great place to stay, great view, service, yoga AM classes, art desplays we loved it

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauneta, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Such a great place to stay! Small and comfortable, all amenities that a person needs. Great staff, and VERY clean and comfortable. Daniel does such a geat job as general manager. The service was spectacular. Jose, Andres, Santiago, Alfonso, Miguel, Edwardo, and the others did a great job!! They work very hard at making your stay at the Alhambra an experience to remember!! Will definitely see our Alhambra Family again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Hotel Alhambra is a small but wonderful hotel. The rooftop access is amazing for early risers who want to catch a beautiful sunrise front and center! You feel like family and get first class service from all the employees. My family has celebrated Christmas in Playa for 3 years now and this stay is definitely is at the top of the list!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The Alhambra was one of the most relaxing hotels I have stayed in. The staff were very accommodating and the rooms were clean and bright. The food was great and there were many different items to choose from. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family who wanted a relaxing and enjoyable vacation to beautiful Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Really nice hotel FACING THE OCEAN!!!! in the middle of everything, great service, clean, outstanding!! and of course wonderful vacations, the food at the restaurant was pretty good.

I would recomend this place to my family and friends!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Beautiful Morrocon style hotel located on the beach in the center of town. Rooms are comfortable with balconies if requested. The view is slightly of the beach but there is no reason not to stay under a beach umbrella all day with the staff to serve you breakfast & lunch. Jose is a great waiter. The hotel and rooms are kept very clean. Substanital towels and small bars of soap were provided daily. Face cloths are provided if asked. Would recommend bringing shower scrunchie & soap. Food is good, especially the chilequiles & fresh squeeze OJ for the breakfast which is included and ceviche. The location is just a block away from the main shopping and eating district on 5th Ave. You can easily walk the whole length of 5th Ave. The staff is very friendly & helpful & can set up excursions. American Express is not accepted for the hotel. Book through the hotel website directly for discounts. Knowing a little Spanish is good. There is no TV, phone, etc. so relax and enjoy. Bring ear plugs if evening music bothers you. The ceiling fans are wonderful. Outside was cool so no need for airconditioner. I will come back in the Spring.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Address: Calle 8 con playa MZ 4 N 876 | Beach Front, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alhambra 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open the door to the Harmonies and Healing energies of earth, sunlight and ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Alhambra Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.