We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vista Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Vista Caribe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 6, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights before travelling on. The hotel was clean and our room spacious. The pool was clean but the furniture around the pool was tatty.

The location is excellent 1 minute from the beach and 1 minute from the action on Fifth Avenue. This is not a 5 star hotel and you don't pay 5 star prices. This hotel is excellent value for money.

The breakfast in the small restaurant attached to the hotel is lovely and included in the price.


Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    75
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
35
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

That's a simple, cheap and very well located in Playa. It was our second stay in this place and the only one complain is about the shower it isn't work properly. So the others points are already commented here. No elevator, long stairs... But the prices and location. Make it worth.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great location but have really let this hotel run to the ground,the staff were hopeless,maybe they were just uneducated and couldn't read a clock for wake up calls.The tv in the room didn't work and the room was musty smelling ,the toilet was not flushing properly and the shower didn't drain.Don't waste your time or money with this hotel as it didn't show any professionalism.Needs a complete clean out of staff and a total refirb.I don't like giving bad reviews but this hotel simply doesn't deserve a good review.

Room Tip: DON'T, Go to another hotel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel is in a great position but is let down by the total lack of any management. The staff appear to have lost all interest in the hotel. It is reasonably clean but need maintainance vedry badly. The breakfast restaurant next door is good though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I are frequent travelers to Playa del Carmen and try to give a different hotel a chance each time. This trip it was Vista Caribe. My husband called the hotel 3 months prior to our arrival and with the help of Google Earth, zeroed in on the hotel and asked that they reserve a specific room on the first floor by the pool. The gentleman he spoke with was very accommodating and assured him that we would have that room on our arrival. We arrived around 2:00 p.m. and were informed that our room was not ready which we expected since we were early. They stored our luggage and asked that we come back in 45 minutes. We were happy to do so, and when we returned to the hotel, a different person was behind the desk who informed us that the room we had reserved 3 months ago was not available and that they had nothing on the first floor. We were told that the only available room was on the 3rd floor. Although we were not happy with this news, we lugged our luggage up to the room with little help from the staff. The room was grim looking and dumpy and not what we had expected at all from the website. At this point, the person who brought us to the room had left, so we lugged our belongings back to the lobby and haggled with the gentleman at the desk to get our money back. We felt poorly treated, promised a room that they failed to reserve and in general, had a horrible experience at the Vista Caribe. We have been happy at virtually every hotel we have stayed in in Playa until this experience. I have read other glowing reviews about this hotel and looked forward to a great stay but this was not our experience. Be aware that they do not reserve specific rooms for you and that some of their staff are rude and uncooperative.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend south Wales U.K
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. As we wanted to spend the last couple of days in the Playa del Carmen. A small Mexican style hotel, a nice large room we had a junior suite, sitting area, a king size bed Very good a c & 2 ceiling fans. There is a fridge & microwave. We took our own travel kettle, it goes every where with us. We had a hot breakfast next door & had a evening meal there which was nice & a good price. In the hotel grounds is a small swimming pool,sun bathing deck & a few plants. We had a nice stay there We would go back again. Also a few steps away from the beach, & just of 5th Ave, where there is plenty of places to eat & drink.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift, if you have a problem with stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

stayed in there a few years ago, nothing fancy but everything worked fine: a/c, fans, hot water, etc. got a suite 4 feet away from the pool. If you are looking for a hotel to stay all day at, this might not be the one. right in 5th avenue and a block (small block, 20 ft) walk to the beach

pase unos dias en una suite hace varios años aqui. el hotel no es lujoso , estilo rustico mexicano con lo necesario. pequeño, callado, nada lujoso. si tu presupuesto no es muy alto o no buscas lujos, para el precio es lo mejor que al menos yo conozco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Vista Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Caribe

Address: Calle 6, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Caribe Hotel is located few steps from the beach in the most beautiful and amazing sea port of Playa del Carmen, just in middle of the Mexican Riviera Maya. The hotel has 35 comfortable and clean rooms, junior and master suites. The swimming pool is sorrounding by a tropical garden. The famous Fifth Avenue is just 20 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vista Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Caribe Hotel
Hotel Vista Caribe Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.