We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luna Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Blue Hotel
Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off by Booking Direct
Ranked #35 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Rio Rico, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It's just a great place to stay, very clean, comfortable and the location is excellent. This is the third time I stay in this wonderful hotel and every time I enjoy my stay even more it just feels good to stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    174
    26
    19
    11
See reviews for
59
450
56
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We absolutely loved the experience! The suite was quaintly furnished with a comfortable hammock in the outdoor area as well. The room was very clean and cozy with a world class climate control system and thick walls for complete serenity and peaceful, refreshing sleeps each night. The ensuite kitchenette allowed for private meals with my girlfriend with convenient access to either supermarkets or restaurants when we chose to eat out.





The location is surprisingly quiet and secluded from the lively sounds of quinta avenida, yet it is only about 30 seconds walking away. It is also right around the corner from the Evolve gym, one of the best gyms I have been to in the Americas .





The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and sourcing various activities and local attractions. The weekly package we purchased also included various promotional items at local attractions, restaurants and clubs including some free drinks at Luna Blue which saved us a couple hundred USD throughout the week. The hotel also offers a simple complimentary breakfast which was quite convenient.





The management is amongst some of the most professional and well-seasoned hotel staff I have encountered globally. They completely respected our privacy regarding cleaning staff coming at sporadic times that suited our schedule and most importantly allowed us a late check-out in order to get prepared to make our flight home.





We give it a 5 out of 5!

Room Tip: pick the one with the roof top hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We really liked the hotel but some issues with cleanliness really disappointed ...
Otherwise the service , rooms , service all was good and worthy for the money we paid . Good for one time staying . The beach is really amazing and that's why people come to Zanzibar for

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at Luna Blue feels like I am at home, it is that comfortable. I found this place by drifting around online, but returned for another stay by intention. It offers what I look for in a hotel- clean, convenient and caring staff. The location is perfect for whatever you have come for- shopping , eating, sightseeing. No it's not directly on the beach- but it' s a minute away. They offer discounts at several beach clubs, but you can easily go anywhere.
The staff is helpful- from the owners to the employees. Directions, hairdryers, recommendations- they provide it all. Of course the price is fabulous- compared to other hotels this is the best.
Check out all the rooms, they are different, but by looking online you will get the exact idea.
Coffee and really tasty breads are served each morning, you can eat in the courtyard and be tropical or go to your room.
It attracts people who are friendly and I chatted with everyone I met there. This is nice if you are travelling alone.
The walk from the bus station is possible, going slowly it took me 30 minutes, but a taxi is $2.
Go and stay - you will happy.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want, the online descriptions are spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at Luna Blue was a wonderful & restful experience. The accomodation was in an excellent location, very close to all the main attractions with comfortable rooms & a very pleasant staff compliment at all levels in the management. The bar is a fun place to enjoy a few drinks & entertainment was great. The management were extremely helpful in providing advice on all manner of queries put to them. We were recommended by friends to stay at Luna Blue & we were not disappointed. We would strongly recommend this great small hotel to all & sundry when they choose to stay at Playa del carmen.
K& P Crew

Room Tip: A room upstairs near the tree tops is strongly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very accessible location for shopping and restaurants. Although we knew it ahead of time there are amenities we have come accustomed to that Luna did not provide. Nice hotel just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are definitely coming back to this charming hotel next time we come to Playa del Carmen. We loved it. The bar was fantastic, the pool was great, the staff were great, the resident cats were nice to have around as my husband and I are both animal lovers. And we absolutely loved that it was so near to everything we could need. It was walking distance to nearly everything.

The hotel room was super cute and the the safety deposit box was actually larger than we had anticipated and it was nice to have that additional peace of mind. The pool was really nice and we pretty much had it to ourselves many days/evenings. It was just nice to have that option.

So... there's gotta be something wrong, you may think!..Well, we did have an issue with the hot water not working for the first couple of days (we thought maybe there was no such thing as hot water in hot Mexico!), but once we brought it up with the hotel staff, they took care of it right away. And the only other bad thing was that the AC unit was near and over the bed. And while it didn't bother me too much, my husband has tinnitus and he complained that the AC was too loud and made his ears ring. So if and when we do come back, we may book a different room.


On our last day, my husband had accidentally left his cell phone in the room and we thought for sure it was a gonner. But a couple of hours after we arrived back home in the states, we got an e-mail from the owners letting us know that their maids had found it and turned it in. Talk about honesty and integrity! We got really lucky because they were coming out to California that same week and told us that they would just mail it to us from there. So we did get our cell phone back and think that it was just really great what they did for us. Thank you!

Definitely coming back and staying at the Luna Blue :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.