We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luna Blue Blues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Luna Blue Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elgin, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Luna Blue Blues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

On the plus side, the day receptionist, Juan, is very amiable and helpful. They have put in a nice pool for after the beach and you are offered a free arrival margarita and excellent coffee and breads for breakfast.
BUT, Luna Blue, like the incessant Jimmy Buffet tunes played all day long, and I mean, ALL day long, is unnecessarily dated. After years of traveling in Mexico and now finishing up our one month trip into Chiapas, Yucatan and Quintana Roo, we have realistic expectations about Mexico. With not a great deal of effort, the Luna Blue could be very charming. With the Grunge factor in the rooms, bathrooms, and bar area however, you feel you should be paying a lot less. Though we understand it being right on a well traveled road off the Quinta and the dust factor it can cause, it just felt like everything was covered in dirt and really gave it the neglected look. The Palapas are worn, full of dirt and leaves, the landscaping limestone needs a good powerspray and the bathrooms need Mr. Clean and a scrub down on all surfaces. Do not look closely at the baseboards in the bathroom as I think the grime has been there since Jimmy Buffet was cool to listen to. The shower curtain needs to be washed and the louvres on the bathroom door have all kinds of nasties on them, don't ask...The barman, if asked, will politely dust off a chair or two for you to sit on. He really should have been doing that all along making the bar more inviting rather than glued to his I phone, a problem I have seen with many hotel employees.
Sadly, Playa is caught up in the "all inclusive" patrons' pressure to be chic with pricey restaurants, trendy shops and boutiques. For a night in transit, an ok place to stay. Too bad, as more attention to cleanliness, maintenance and a change of music at the bar, Luna Blue could be very nice. Maybe it is just a matter of reviewing the responsibilities of each employee there and more TLC and supervision from the owners who live locally.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaBlue, Owner at Luna Blue Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
It is never pleasant to receive a negative review from a guest, especially a guest who spent less than 24 hours in the hotel yet makes broad comments such as there are ”incessant Jimmy Buffet tunes played all day long, and I mean, ALL day long.” The one day that the guest spent at the hotel, we had Radio Margaritaville playing from 3 pm (when the bar opened) to 8 pm (when live music started). One could hardly call five hours “ALL day long.” We have satellite radio in our bar. Sometimes we play Margaritaville, sometimes we play Latin music and other times rock or jazz. It would have been quite simple for these guests to ask the bartender to change the music, especially as they were the only people in the bar at the time they redeemed their free margarita coupons. We are always happy to do that for a guest, especially one with such an intense dislike of Jimmy Buffett.

However what alarmed us the most about this review was her comment about our “grunge factor.” We may not be the fanciest place in town, but one thing we are is very clean. We immediately called in our head maid and checked the room these guests had vacated that morning. The room had just been cleaned by our regular staff. So we did a “white glove test” of all of the areas they commented on, and everything was absolutely spotless. The baseboards were not dirty (what they saw was likely tile discoloration from when they were first installed). The louvers on the bathroom door were spotless. The shower curtain had a small white mark on it which we found to be from a splash of bleach during cleaning. The cleaning this room received is the same cleaning all rooms receive each day. Accordingly, we were very confused.

We’re not fancy and don’t claim to be. We have found that sometimes people have expectations that a value-priced hotel may not meet. In that case sometimes imperfections or normal wear are seen as being a lack of cleanliness. They are not.

The guest also commented that the bar area was dirty. These guests came into the bar just as the bar was opening for the day and the bartender was starting his shift. When they sat down at a table, the bartender was in the process of wiping down the bar and swings. Each day he cleans that area first (as it is the most popular area) and then moves on to the tables and other parts of the bar. Like many open air establishments in Playa, our hotel and bar receive a fair amount of dust from the traffic going by, and as a result we are continually wiping down surfaces. Had these guests arrived five minutes later, the table they sat at would also have been cleaned.

Of course we clean our palapas and power wash our grounds. But we certainly don’t do this type of maintenance on a daily basis, as you can imagine the inconvenience that would be to our guests. Most of our guests understand that having a beautiful tropical garden also means some falling leaves.

This guest said she felt they should be paying a lot less. These guests rented our most inexpensive room ($89 US in high season). For this they received a room with private bath, air conditioning, free unlimited bottled water, free high-speed wifi, a free welcome margarita, free and discounted use of several beach clubs, free coffee, tea & homemade sweet breads and discounts at restaurants around town. We think this is one of the best deals in town as do many others, which is why we have received a TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice award for Best Bargain in Mexico for the past two years.

It’s unfortunate that these guests judged our hotel and Playa del Carmen based on a one night stay. Yes there are all-inclusive hotels, "pricey restaurants, trendy shops and boutiques." However there are also small treasures like low-cost local places to eat and shop. We would have been glad to direct these guests to such locations if they stayed in our beautiful town for more than one night. Frankly it sounds as if they arrived with a preconceived attitude about Playa and as a result missed what is special about this place.

Tony & Cheri
Luna Blue Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    182
    28
    19
    11
See reviews for
63
465
58
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our 1 week stay at Luna Blue was terrific - everything promised in their website was accurate. Wonderful staff and everyone was very helpful with ideas of what to do and how to get there. The location is the best, very restful but just a half block from the shops, restaurants and action of the 5th ave. Loved the pool, used it everyday and we usually had it to ourselves - it was like our own private tropical retreat. Thanks to Cheri, Tony and staff for a perfect vacation.
The Filadelfias, Paso Robles, CA

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 35 - had the best patio location for viewing everything at the hote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Cheri and Tony have a little gem in Luna Blue with its location off la Quinta, and lovely staff. We came into Playa from Isla Mujeres to meet up with some friends and arrangedour night at this hotel on their recommendation. We were not disappointed! We had an upgraded room in the courtyard, and it had a full kitchen, gas stove, fridge and water cooler. The place was spotless and there was a very cool quote by Nehru on the wall above our bed. The bathroom toiletries were organic and honey-scented, and I wish I could purchase them here. There was live music at the bar, great tunes and it didn't go past 11 p.m. In the morning there was hot coffee and delicious lime coconut pound cake which was truly decadent. No wonder Frankie the cat loves his life there!!
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Luna Blue Hotel in Playa del Carmen for 12 days in late March to early April, 2014, and were impressed. The staff (Juan & Heimie) were friendly and extremely helpful in booking excursions (we loved Xel-ha). The rooms were kept well cleaned and Diana created beautiful towel creatures for us each day. The owner, Tony, was checking regularly to see if we needed anything to make our stay enjoyable. The complimentary daily sweet cakes for breakfast, with fresh, strong, and delicious coffee were great. The location is good, near the beach, near some great food/restaurants (fresh! fish at Meuelle restaurant, and perfect creme brûlée) and very close to 5th Avenue shopping. There was at least 3 nights of live music/bands at the Luna Blue bar during our 2 weeks - very enjoyable.
Juan also helped arrange a taxi for one day; our driver Jorge was very good, watching our valuables, ensuring we knew where to go, and making a wonderful lunch recommendation -- at La Buena Vida on Half Moon Bay at Akumal. The day was great, including seeing 4 large turtles and a stingray while snorkelling at Akumal Beach; followed by a visit to the very beautiful Chikin Ha cenote.
Would recommend this hotel, definitely, with all it provides, and it's helpful friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is our second time staying at the Luna Blue hotel and we were, again, completely happy with our experience. The last time we stayed here was 5 years ago and we noticed some changes and improvements to the space. They had built a pool, which was nice, even though we didn't use it (we prefer the beach). But there did seem to be some parts of the day where the sun hit the chairs and pool. The prices are the best and they are right off 5th avenue, so they are very close to everything.
We were surprised that they didn't give discounted tickets to Mamitas Beach Club anymore. They recommended three other places. The Indigo was alright - we had their food but we got there in the afternoon so there weren't any chairs left. The Canibal Royale was actually closed. This was our only disappointing experience. We walked all the way there, which was a bit of a distance up the beach, and it was closed. That was frustrating. But luckily, we weren't too far from Mamitas and we walked right back there. We ended up going to Mamitas every day, so I do wish Luna Blue still offered discounts there. They said the reason seemed to be due to the construction going on, but it really wasn't that bad.
Another addition was free coffee and sweet breads in the morning. I liked this addition, as we always drink coffee in the morning anyway. We also got two free margaritas from the bar, and those were the best (and strongest) drinks we had the whole trip! Jorge - the bartender was very friendly and an excellent bartender!
We will continue to choose Luna Blue each time we come back to Playa!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrisburg, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This isn't a fancy resort, but it's clean and is in a great location. It also has a nice courtyard area with small pool. If you can get one of the four loungers, it's very relaxing. It's only a few blocks from the beach and walking distance to many great restaurants. Cheri was great, offering lots of info when we arrived. It was the perfect place for us. Only negative was the minimal water pressure in the shower, but we managed to get clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was my second stay here. The price is reasonable and you are close to everything from the beaches, to the Quinta ( if you want it ), to stores like Mega and Wal-Mart and to more reasonably priced restaurants a bit further into town (10th Ave over to 30th).

The hotel is quiet, which is very important to me. The Wifi worked well.

The staff is a real asset at Luna Blue. They are friendly and well informed. I especially enjoyed the many chats and good advice on local matters from Jaime, the afternoon receptionist.

All in all, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna Blue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.