We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel as always.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luna Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Blue Hotel
Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off by Booking Direct
Ranked #36 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel as always.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our 5th time when we went down to renew our vows for our tenth wedding anniversary. Tony, the owner performed our ceremony and did a wonderful job. As always the staff was great, going out of their way to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    173
    26
    19
    11
See reviews for
59
448
56
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were staying at the hotel next door and saw the sign for this place. We cancelled our remaining reservation and moved to this little place for the remaining 4 days of our stay. We loved the court yard. It really feels like you are in a tree house! The bar is nice and mellow. The location is incredible. Its just a block up from 5th ave. but nice and quite. But we really moved here for the kitchenette. Being able to make a few of your own meals is great. There is free water in the rooms, as well as fridge, oven, microwave and coffee maker. Pots, pans, utensils, plates, glasses, ice cube trays are all in the room. The air conditioning is amazing and almost froze us out! The front desk man, Alex was so very friendly and accommodating. The owners were around and were friendly as well, she even let me borrow a hair dryer from the front desk, as it was the only thing not in the room that I needed. The pool is small and not heated, and stays cool because of the canopy of the trees in the courtyard. Perfect for a quick little dip to chill out. The beds were a bit hard, but hey, you're in Mexico. I would definitely stay here again. It feels like home, only better, because there's no TV and you're in sunny Mexico. It even comes with a resident cat, Frankie.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 6. Private balcony, 2nd floor, great view of courtyard, kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in December, 2012 on a quick visit down from Cancun. It is a charming hotel, I felt as though I was living in a tree house! It just so happened that the bar was closed for repairs to the palapa roof, which resulted in a lot of noisy hammering during the day. The owner gave us a big discount on the rate to compensate, which we appreciated. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We found this little gem of a hotel thru word of mouth. BOOK DIRECTLY WITH THE HOTEL since those online booking agencies like Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, LonelyPlanet, etc. tend to list the hotel as full but I found this not to be the case when I got in touch with them directly. Agency listing bias?
The hotel is reasonably priced compared to some other hotels in the area. It is in a good and convenient location for restaurants, beach, taxi, etc. It has a nice tropical and peaceful ambiance, zen-like, family atmosphere, more like staying at your own home away from home. Unless you like the 'grand hotel, all-inclusive' ambiance, this is the place for you at Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights end of November. I'm sure I would have enjoyed it more if I hadn't gotten sick! I stayed at a different location the previous 3 nights and arrived at the Luna Blue on a Wednesday, loved what I found walking into the courtyard and loved my room and balcony way up high. I thought now this is going to be awesome!! I ended up getting very sick late that night and was pretty much laid up for the rest of my trip, staff was very nice and the tea and bread in the mornings saved me. Would give the place another try if I return to PDC. A couple turn offs were the loud music coming from some bar close by, kept me awake a couple nights. Luna Blue's bar music was not an issue, it is quite right after 11:00. And the cat fights...oh Frankie can be quite the scrapper and it seemed to always be right around my room, haha. Will go back again if I'm ever in the area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

For my second trip to Playa del Carmen, I decided I would skip the All Inclusive Resorts and try something a lot smaller and a lot more personal. My only regret is that I didn't do this the LAST time I went!

The Luna Blue has carved itself a quiet little niche, just far enough from the array of night clubs and bars to let a person sleep in peace, while still remaining close enough to the core of town that I never even considered taking a taxi. (The area of town immediately around the hotel feels safer than most parts of the town where I live, making for comfortable and relaxed evening walks.)

And what a niche it is! The vine-strewn trees throughout the property provide an atmosphere of being in a primitive jungle. The pool feels even further isolated, since it is on a lower level, about 10 feet or so below the main area of the central courtyard. Then there's the palapa-topped bar, with a scattering of intimate tables and (my favorite!) swings rather than stools around the bar itself. The bar is stocked with a wide variety of beers and liquors, and (far more importantly) is staffed by possibly the nicest bartender it's been my pleasure to meet.

Once I had my morning swim and was ready to face the day, it was a short walk from the front gate to anything you could want on a vacation. The beach is maybe two city blocks away, with Playa's best "beach clubs" right there. Coffee shops, restaurants, boutique stores, and an astounding array of bars are all within a block or two. If you venture a little further (maybe 4 or 5 blocks) you come to the night clubs both on and off the beach.

Did I mention that the hotel has free WiFi throughout the propery? You haven't fully lived until you've used your phone to video-chat a friend from paradise, and been able to show them *exactly* what they're missing.

In short, it simply doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: The tower room, with its private patio area, felt deliciously indulgent. Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 12 day stay at the Luna Blue. What a perfect place to spend Christmas and New Years Eve. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The grounds are kept up beautifully. Unfortunately Cheri was not feeling well and we didn't get to see her but we did get to talk to Tony and as always he was the gracious host.
Every time you return to the Hotel either Jaime, Alex or Mario greeted us like we were family and answered any questions we had. They are truly good people.
Who can forget Jorge either. When the bar got hopping on New Year's Eve watching Jorge pour and mix is like watching a ballet-but more interesting (in my opinion). Jorge is engaging but never intrusive and will always find a way to make sure your stay is fun.
We ran into people we had met two years ago while staying at Luna Blue and it was like meeting old friends again. It was a great feeling.
Thank you to Tony and Cheri, and the entire Luna Blue staff for another great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.