We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Luna Blue Hotel
Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Adorable little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a quick stay here and it was fantastic. Alex at the front desk was a terrific host. The tropical, open-air feel of this hotel is alluring. The inside of the room was quite small and simple but it did not cost much so it was fine. There were pretty tropical flowers and birds here. I loved the complimentary bread in the morning, too. So delicious. We walked to spend the evening in the bustling town. The Playa area was perfectly safe. We booked CancunShuttle.com to drive us here and they were great, too. Highly recommended. Would be a neat place for a budget honeymoon, too. Get the treetop room if stairs are not a problem for you.

Room Tip: The tree top room is cute and overlooks the property. I enjoyed sitting outside the room waching th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    176
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
60
456
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good location if you wish to go to the beach and walk. Close to tourist areas but also the eateries within walking distance. Excellent service...always returned to a clean room. Pool was very nice as was the bar.

Room Tip: Garden room with kitchenette and fridge very handy. Also private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Walking through the entrance of Luna Blue from the active streets of Carmen Del Playa was akin to entering another world. The noise died down and we were surrounded by a serene and natural setting. The hotel's semi-hidden appearance from the outside expanded into a village of charming rooms nestled between large, beautiful trees and a stone walkway. I instantly felt at home. We were greeted by Alex at the desk who quickly became our go-to guy for tips and questions about the area. Loved him! Jorje, the bartender, was also our go-to guy, only for excellent margaritas :) And Tony and Sherry, the owners with whom I now consider family, were warm, generous and wonderful to talk to! Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for the location, the comfort after a long day of sightseeing, and the genuine people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Booked a last-minute trip to Playa and had another great stay at Luna Blue. From check-in with Alex to check-out at 4:30 in the morning the day of my departure, everything was very relaxing. The staff is so very friendly and accommodating. The man (not Mario, but forgot his name) on night duty the day of my very, very early morning departure made sure I was up and ready to go for my ride to the airport by 4:00 a.m.

Spent a full day reading by their gorgeous and relaxing pool area. So peaceful. I really could have sat down there by the pool every day of my stay because it is just such a relaxing and beautiful environment that Tony and Cheri have created there.

And, of course, can't forget hanging with Jorge, the bartender, in the evenings. Such a genuinely great person!

Thanks, Luna Blue, for another wonderful trip to Playadise! We will see you soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in Sept prior to our son's wedding. Alex at the desk couldn't have been more helpful. Jorge, the fabulous bartender, gave us a great tip on a restaurant that we all loved...La Pesca near Mega. Lovely atmosphere, reasonable prices and great good. Luna Blue feels like you are in the middle of the jungle...lovely trees and birds chirping. The pool was so refreshing with the 100% humidity. We had a room with a kitchenette and lots of space for 3 people. It is very simple but nice and quiet and steps from crazy 5th Ave yet we didn't hear any noise from that. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great ambiance. Very central location, just off the main pedestrian zone. Loved the sweet breads in the morning, the margaritas and the pool. The bar and music at night on some evenings might be an issue if you're planning to get to sleep early the next day. We will definately come back to Luna Blue when we come back to playa.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good, Tree house rooms in the back have a great view and are more shielded from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The Luna Blue hotel was a great hotel to stay in for my trip to Mexico! My room had everything you could possibly need, big comfy beds, a small kitchen a clean cozy bathroom and a cute little porch. The pool was beautiful and aqua and surrounded by beautiful plant life and comfy chairs... and the bar was right next to it! Every day that I arrived back in my room it was freshly cleaned and my towels were replaced and creatively shaped into flowers or seals or whatever inspired the maid and placed on the bed. Absolutely adorable! Very fun to see what the towels were going to be every day! They had plenty of brochures for attractions down at the desk as well and paper slips to rent free beach chairs when you made the 5 minute walk to the beach. Overall my stay at this hotel was uncomparably amazing and definitely will not be my last!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Blue Hotel

Address: Calle 26 Norte, between 5th & 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Blue Hotel is located in Playa del Carmen's popular north end, three short blocks from the beach and half a block from the restaurants, shops and nightlife of 5th Avenue. This boutique hotel features palapa-covered balconies, a sunken tropical garden swimming pool, a lush garden, and one of the most popular bars in town. The hotel offers free use of four beach clubs and various local discounts. American owners and their bilingual staff offer you personal attention during your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Blue Hotel Garden
Luna Blue Playa Del Carmen
Luna Blue Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.