We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort/Vacation ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
3 Ways To Win!
Ranked #18 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Peoria, IL
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Resort/Vacation ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2005

First, let me say this is our 3rd vacation to the Riviera Maya and each time it has gotten better (I don't think that will happen again!). This place was fantastic.

We went May 28, 2005 thru Jun3 4, 2005, and wished we could have stayed a lot longer!

Quick background, we are mid 30's with a child and the goal was to have a relaxing vacation. We have done other resorts in the area, but hands down this was the best SERVICE, FOOD, and atmosphere for relaxation.
However, if you are looking for fun and excitement, don't come here. While there are some daily activities in and by the pool, it is not really a "happening" kind of place during the day. And the night-life is pretty much non-existant. There are shows, but most are average or below what we have seen at some 4 and 5 apple resorts (we went throught apple vacations).
But again, we weren't there for shows or games, just drinks, naps, sun, and quiet walks along the beach.

The beach/ocean is much like most reviews, average. If you want clear blue, take the ferry to Cozumel.
We would definately go back again, but would avoid the apple transfer bus. We were the last stop and would have liked to get there bit sooner. Take a cab and avoid the apple people and set one up for return to the airport, because on the return ride, you are the first picked up! Thus you have to get up at the crack of dawn. Cab rides are not that expensive, especially compared to the private apple transfer.

Definately spend a day in Playa del Carmen, about 10 minutes away. Shop a get some goodies, then go back to the resort for food.
Our favorite spot for dinnner was the Himitsu (Japanese cuisine) - while there, definately do the habachi (spelling??) grill with table side cooking.

They have free internet service so you can stay in touch with home. They also provide free DVD's to watch in your room. Just be sure to TIP everybody, and do it early on, versus on the last day. You will be suprised how much you get for a couple bucks, or in some cases $5 or $10.

Have fun and if you have specific questions, don't hesitate to email me, I will be happy to let you know where else we've been and how those rate as well.

Not gonna post any pictures, the Secrets official site does a good job of representing their resort!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,433
    1,192
    397
    181
    89
See reviews for
206
3,467
52
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

I will make this review short and sweet because the other more detailed reviews explain Secrets Capri well.

This was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable vacations my fiance and I have ever been on. The service, food, rooms, grounds, pool, restaurants, entertainment, spa, etc. was impeccable. The resort is small so it never seems overcrowded, even if it is filled to capacity. No matter what time you get up there are always available chairs by the pool or on the beach. The liqour selection is top notch (they actually serve Blue Label for all you Scotch drinkers). The shows at night are creative and fun. Scuba in Cozumel and snorkling with the Mayan Adventure tour a must.

This place was very hard to leave. What was funny was that on our way back to the airport, our cab picked up a few couples from the other resorts. These couples all had complaints about their resorts. They asked us what our complaints were and we could actually say that we did not have one. It was a nice feeling.

Please ignore any negative reviews because this place hands down is the best all inclusive resort in the Riviera Maya. We will definitely be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2005

Ok, my husband and I traveled to Secrets Capri from June 17-22 2005 and had the best time ever.

For starters, Getting through customs was not to bad, but to make it a little faster; make sure you have your immigration form that you should recieve on your airplane filled out so you can go through without any problems.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the bell hops which removed our luggage from the van and opened the front doors into paradice. We arrived around 2:30 pm and went straight to the checkin in desk. While checking in we were greeted with a warm wet towel and a glass of champange, very refreshing. After that we were told our room was ready and congradulations for us celebrating our anniversary, we were also told that a concierge was on each floor and could assist us with anything further that we needed; he was there everday and was wonderful.

Our Room:
We had a Jr. Suite Oceanview which was extremely breathtaking. When we walked in we had towels shaped into a heart with our robes on each side and the entire bed was convered in rose pedals, very nice touch. We also had fresh flowers in the window shutters and a fresh fruit basket and a bottle of champange.

The Pool:
The pool in very beautiful and a great size, the swim up bar is great. The pool is very clean, and if you want a float there is always one lieing around that noone is using. You don't have to get up early for a chair around the pool, there are plenty.

The beach:
The beach is very beautiful and the sand is white. Yes the water is different colors in places but it still is beautiful. Again, you don't have to get up early for a chair on the beach there are plenty there to. There are many beach front waiters there to get you anything you need so just sit back and relax.

Just so you know, the amount of alcohol in your drinks is not a problem, they are by no means stingy on the alcohol at all, to be honest some drinks were to strong for me :) Also, if you want more alcohol all you have to do is ask, they are happy to give you more without any problems.

Overall Service:
The overall service is way above perfect, there is always someone around to do anything for you or get you anything you need. The staff is extremely friendly and ALWAYS smiling. Every staff member I talked to told me that Secrets Capri is their paradice and they love it there.

The Resturants:
The Riveria: They serve breakfast here which was very good, its a buffet but was wonderful. We had something different to eat for breakfast everyday and it all was great. They also serve lunch here to and you can either eat the buffet or order off the menu, the buffet was great; not sure about the food on the menu because we didn't eat anything off of it, but I'm sure it was great :)

The Oceana: The place is very beautiful and the food is perfect, 5 star at its best. The service there is perfect and the servers are on top of your every need. The menu has a good amount of choices and everything we had was wonderful. If you want to sit outside I suggest you get the early because the seats outside are limited and they go very fast, to get one of them the wait is lik 45 mins to 1 hour if you do not get there early.

The Seaside Grill: The place was also wonderful, very beautiful and the food was top notch. We got to sit outside and look at the ocean while we enjoyed our dinner. A very nice touch was there is a saxophone player that stands right by the balcony and plays some wonderful and beautiful songs, very relaxing.

The Capri: This is the Italian resturant, which again was just perfect. The inside is extremely beautiful and soft-slow music is playing that is very nice. The food here is wonderful, I tried something I have never had before and I was very happy with the taste, it was excellent. Service here is also great, as is evey resturant.

The Hitmusi: This is the Asian place, and along with the rest is very beautiful and the service is great. The food was great and the susihi is also very good to. They also have a place where you can sit and the cook your food right in front of you; very nice.

It rained on 3 days but that was ok with us, the staff was very prepared and had a lot of activites to do so we never really thought about the rain. They also hav a lot of activites to do outside when it is not raining, and the staff does not pressure you to participate, you can do as much as you like as a little as you like.

Also, my husband and I got 80 min deep tissue massages and the were just perfect, excatly what we needed, I recommed doing this if you get a chance; they have a lot of different massages to choose from so you don't have to just get a deep tissue; but it was wonderful.

They have different shows every night and there is always something to do. I can't tell you anything about things off the resort because we did not leave at all, everything we could ever possible want was there. The only thing we did was sucba diving in the ocean about a 10 min boat ride from the hotel, that was the best thing ever and I recommed it to anyone.

We have plans on coming back here next year for our anniversary and we cannot wait. If you are having doubt about this place because of other reviews, just let me ease your mind and promise you, you will have the best time ever, and if you want a place to jus relax and enjoy yourselves, this is definetly the place, you are treated like kings and queens here 24/7.

Thank you so much Secrets Capri staff for making our anniversary the best in the world. We will see you next summer.

Also, if you have any other question please fell free to email me and I will answer them as best I can. I hope you enjoy your vacation, we sure did.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Secrets Carpi on the dates of May 25-June 1st. This was our first vacation together, and we were in awe of the beauty of the hotel, grounds, and beach. We felt that the Capri was a very upscale hotel ie. fresh towel and champagne when you first arrive. I have stayed at other upscale hotels like the Ritz-Carlton, and would definately say that the Capri was very close in comparison.

We were upgraded upon arrival, and ejoyed the room very much; although it was not a beach front or view, we still enjoyed ourselves just the same. There was always some activity to join during the day or at night to watch. We never left the resort. Next time we might leave to go into Playa del Carmen or do an adventure tour during the day.

The beach was wonderful, although we are beach people; living in upstate NY makes you appreciate the beach even more. The staff was always on top of the upkeep of the beach, and always taking care of our every need.

The restaurants were all delicious. Although we loved the Himitsu and Capri restaurnts the most. For breakfast and lunch we would rotate eating at the Capri or the Seaside Grill, and both were fantastic. The spa was great for a massage, I would definately do that again.

The only one insignificant complaint we had was hard towels, maybe a little fabric softner would help.


Overall we loved our stay at the Secrets Capri, we loved Eric the supervisor, and we will surely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC, CANADA
1 review
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2005

BACKGROUND: We are a mid thirties/early forties, childless couple from Montreal (QC), Canada, with enough vacation time to be able to enjoy two or three vacations each year.

After 15 cruises or so, we were looking to get an all-inclusive (“AI”) experience and especially did not want to stick to a schedule. We're avid boaters and love the sea. We love the outdoors and are beach people. We're not into luxury; we usually book less expensive trips so that we are able to vacation a lot. This time around, we wanted to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary and after much research and consideration, we decided on Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun. We have traveled throughout most of the world seeking different things from different places. This holiday was all about relaxation and spending time together - something we have been very short of lately - but we also like to socialize and meet new people. This vacation gave us all that and more.

An all-adult, all-inclusive vacation was the way to go. We read many reviews before we left and got many pointers that were very helpful. Let me give you our review of the hotel and its services. This is only our personal opinion and you may not agree on some aspects of it. I apologize for this review being so long, but we wanted to give as many details as possible. For those of you that like to get into the nitty-gritty details, read on!

Again, we spent a lot of time looking at reviews and had a few reservations based on some of the negative feedback. However, we couldn't be happier with our decision to stay at Secrets Capri (“SC”). SC is on the exclusive list of “Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide” and is the only ‘preferred hotel’ in the Riviera Maya region. The service expected of preferred hotels is held to rigorous standards. SC is certainly worthy of their preferred hotel status. We have traveled extensively and have been fortunate enough to become acquainted with the ‘finer things’ one expects from a luxurious hotel.

This resort is as about as close to perfection as you will get. We will get to the details so you can understand what we are talking about. This is an incredible resort and one that we imagine would be very hard to beat on any level. We will comment on the following areas: arrival, overall experience, room, pool, spa, grounds and building, beach and sea, activities/entertainment, food, bars and beverages, staff and service, and finally, tipping.

We've learned that people's opinion of a vacation is strongly affected by their age, their likes, and their expectations. With all the discount travel going on, it concerns us that people may forget the most important aspect of selecting a resort: personal interests and lifestyle. If your only criterion is finding the lowest price available, you can easily wind up in a hotel where you have nothing in common with the other travelers, adversely affecting your enjoyment of your vacation.

The point is to do research first to determine which resort best suits your personal interests and lifestyle. After having narrowed your search, start looking for the best price for these hotels. We would rather spend a couple of hundred dollars more for a resort and a fantastic vacation, than become so obsessed with price that we end up at a resort that gives us only a so-so experience.


ARRIVAL: We flew into Cancun on May 28 and spent a week at the Caribbean Village by Occidental (4*). My husband and I then stayed at Secrets Capri from June 4 until June 11.

We arranged for our own transportation from the airport to SC as we had stayed in Cancun the week before. We booked a rental car from Alamo and picked it up from the airport; it was $150 USD for the whole week including taxes and PLI insurance, which is mandatory in Mexico.

Of course, upon our arrival at SC we were given the customary welcome glass of champagne and offered a cold towel. The reception gave us a fantastic description of all the amenities and services available to us during our stay. The check-in staff was knowledgeable, courteous, and the language barrier was non-existent. We filled our check-in information and headed to La Riviera (one of the many restaurants at the hotel) for lunch since our room was not quite ready yet.

When our room was ready, we were quickly escorted by a wonderful bellman who showed us to our room and explained to us all of the room amenities. Within one hour of our arrival, we were unpacked and sipping drinks at the pool bar. It simply doesn’t get better than that!


OVERALL EXPERIENCE: This was by far the nicest all-inclusive resort we have been to! I work in the travel industry and therefore have had the privilege of visiting many Sandals and other all-inclusive resorts. I was a little concerned that we would not like the beach, as we are beach lovers. While the water was not as clear as other resorts we’ve been to, the beach itself is beautiful with white sand, comfortable lounge chairs, and food and beverage services. The water was the perfect temperature for cooling off from the hot sun. The hotel’s pool is also very large and lovely. The weather was mostly great, although there were a few afternoons and evenings where it would downpour for a few minutes and then clear up. This is normal for this time of year and didn't bother us at all.

Two of the main things that they do differently here at SC, as compared to other hotels, are the beach towel service and restaurant reservations. You do not need a bracelet nor to sign out for a towel and need not return it at the end of the day. At the pool, the towels are already put out on all the lounge chairs and, if needed, you can get fresh towels at the water activities desk. When you leave your chair at the end of the day, you just leave the towels and the staff picks them up. As far as not having to make restaurant reservations, we feel this works quite well. If you are told you have to wait, you can do so by relaxing at the bar or simply try another restaurant. Given the variety at each restaurant that, even if you feel for one particular type of food, chances are you can get a variation of that at any of the other restaurants. I think our favorite restaurant was the Italian restaurant - we went back twice. As well in our opinion, the nightly entertainment was above average for resort type entertainment; the performers were not amateurs.

Honestly, we have no reason to complain about our experience. We really enjoyed our vacation at Secrets Capri. We loved every minute of our vacation in paradise! It was relaxing, luxurious and exactly what we wanted and were looking for. All of the travelers vacationing at the resort were very nice. No one was too rowdy or too loud. It was a nice mix of young and older couples, the majority being honeymooners. We cannot say enough about the service; from the moment we got there, we were treated extremely well.

It is hard to know what to believe when you read many reviews. Every experience is different, and of course, no matter where you go, things can go wrong. It is important to remember that this resort is in Mexico - not in Canada or United States. It's a different culture: the pace is slower and there's a slight language barrier, so you have to expect some little goofy quirks. It's all part of the experience of traveling to a different country. The Mexican people are some of the most gracious, helpful people we've met. We were thrilled with our experience and highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing, sun-filled vacation and great food and service. This is an excellent resort for couples who are in need of relaxation. If you are looking to party hard, you do not want to vacation at this resort.

All in all this is a fabulous resort, and I will make sure that everyone in my travel office is made aware of this so that we can keep sending people on great vacations.

Even with the latest outbreak of sickness, we would still recommend this resort. Not everyone got sick, perhaps only a small percentage. Unfortunately, I was part of that small percentage, but it did not ruin my good time. Just be smart about what you eat and drink, make sure you wash your hands often, and a few remedies in the suitcase wouldn't hurt either.


ROOM: We were in room 245 of the north wing. It was a deluxe tropical view but we had partial view of the ocean. When we arrived, there were rose pedals sprinkled on the floor and on the bed, which also had two towels in the shape of swans kissing, a fresh fruit basket, fresh flowers, a bottle of champagne on ice, a welcome letter from the manager, and a 15% discount for spa services. The marble floors, huge marble shower, dual vanities, the sitting area with a table and the king-size canopy bed, all added to the overwhelming feeling that we had just arrived in paradise. We loved some of the extras in the room such as the make-up mirror, the huge assortment of lotions, sunscreen (SPF 8), soaps, shampoo, incense and many other various toiletries that were provided. Each room has every standard item you would expect in a hotel of this rating including, hair dryers, iron/ironing board, 27” TV, DVD/CD player, alarm clock, electronic safe, high-speed internet connection, mini-bar stocked with orange drink, Coke, Coke lite, corona, orange juice and water, robes, slippers, etc…

As mentioned, the rooms are equipped with a DVD player (you can get movies from the concierge) that piped into the bathroom. Channel 2 is a beautiful classical station that can be played during the evenings when you wish to relax in the Jacuzzi. Twenty-four-hour room service was available but we did not ordered room service. The menu, however, included four choices of sandwiches (a hamburger complete with any trimming you’d like, a Mexican club, a traditional club, and a wonderful ‘La Riviera’ ham wrap), three main entrees (grouper, steak, and chicken), and three desserts (mango cheesecake, key lime pie, Caribbean fruit mix). A full breakfast menu is also available from room service. There are also coffee makers in the room but we did not use them.

The balcony was of a nice size with two chairs. We enjoyed our balcony, occasionally even watching the sunrise over the ocean in the morning. The only complaint we have was that you hear every door close, every chair move, every phone ring and every maid cart pass. The walls are thin. Luckily, we are early risers, so the noise didn't bother us too much.

POOLS: There is one huge pool at SC. Lounge chairs were available at any time of the day, even though the resort was nearly at its capacity. Walking on the grounds around the hotel was very quiet and relaxing with music playing in the background.

The pool was as warm as bath water and clean. There are two sides to the pool - one end is cooler than the other - and we preferred the warmer side. Everyday the teak lounge chairs had pads on them with towels waiting for us. The pool also had floating pads for us to use, which was relaxing. The sloping edge was nice to enter by and the pictures of the pool at night are beautiful. The pool offered a wonderful ambiance after dark as it is lit up all night. There was a bathing suit fashion show during the day (great prices) and we had a Mexican fiesta around the pool on Friday. There was a volleyball game going most mornings and water polo most afternoons.

We preferred the pool area because of the swim-up bar and the daytime activities. The water temperature was perfect given the 90-degree days in June. The fountains and water sprays are also a great feature.

The pool deck and area is made of many limestone tiles left naturally finished. Again very nice but please be careful around the pool as it is slippery. The resort is fairly new so the trees are smaller - meaning less shady spots - but we never found that to be a problem. It was never a problem to get a lounge chair or a float mat either. The pool bar was the happening place, and Samuel is one crazy bartender.

SPA: We toured the spa and it looked fantastic. I made an appointment to fix my pedicure and was very happy with the service. Several people we talked to who had used the spa said the hydrotherapy circuit and massages were particularly good.


GROUNDS AND BUILDINGS: The building at this resort is simply awe-inspiring. There is so much marble and so many columns! The architects designed it with an Italian flare. There is artwork built into many of the building designs and the grounds are very clean and well designed. There are thousands of plants and trees. There are statues, ponds, and artwork everywhere. The wood used on the doors to the rooms, in many of the restaurants and in the ‘Desires’ disco, is a very rich-looking deep cherry. The finish throughout the property is excellent. The building, both inside and out, is very clean but already need some repair since from time to time there were water leaks during rain showers.

The flooring and walls of practically every location in the entire resort, including the washrooms, the guest rooms, the lobbies, the grand staircase and turtle pool, the hallways, the courtyards and restaurants were covered in granite and limestone tiles in a classy Mediterranean style.

The resort had strategically placed speakers, hidden in bushes, where in the mornings and evenings, soothing music would emanate. There was a "hammock terrace" on the beach, where several comfortable hammocks were strung under a pergola facing the sea. This was very peaceful as it was 20 feet from the waves rolling in from the sea with a tropical breeze blowing through.

The turtle pool, a curving, shallow, rock and seashell filled waterhole inside the lower lobby on the beach entrance level, had a cascading waterfall delivering water over rocks and ledges into the pool. All of this was under the great staircase leading down from the upper lobby.

Entrances to various restaurants, several large windows and various public areas were decorated and designed with ornate, limestone carvings and curving columns, accented with artwork. This was also done in a Mediterranean style and very classy.

The black wrought iron railings on the guestroom balconies, the grand staircase, the stairs up to the restaurants and the bridge over the pool, perfectly accentuated the villa-like design of the surrounding structures.
Several Mexican antiquities and Yucatan/Mayan urns were strategically placed throughout the resort, such as built into limestone facades depicting lions or fish, which spewed waters from the walls in various places.
The interior courtyard giving access to the rooms was open, airy, and columned and gave the impression of being outside even though you were in the interior of the resort.

Arches, bellhops in safari hats, the individual check-in process with an employee at an antique desk instead of a counter while sipping a glass of champagne, swinging glass doors to the toilet and shower stalls, very interesting statues, etc. were just some of the "little" touches that were there to appreciate if you took the time to notice and absorb.


BEACH: To begin, we would like to point out that we were spoiled by the beaches in St. Thomas (Meagan’s Bay/St. John/Trunk Bay and the USVI, which are rated among the best beaches of the entire Caribbean. In Riviera Maya, the water is exactly as described by others as some sea grass is on the water line of the beach. The water is blue or green rather than turquoise in most areas, due to the sea grass on the ocean floor. The staff does a great job of cleaning it up several times a day; therefore, it does not affect the sandy area of the beach, nor does it interfere with taking a dip in the ocean. We enjoyed walking down the beach. At SC, it was nice to walk north to the end of the Club El Mandarin property, but I would not recommend going any further north. Beyond that, the beach is undeveloped and the sea grass is piled up with a fair amount of garbage mixed in. This is not very attractive at all and we did a 180-turn a few blocks past the dock. If you venture out 20 or 30 feet from shore, then you will come to a turquoise green band of the "7 colors" sea and, if you go out in a Hobbie Cat (catamaran) or a kayak, you only need to go out about 100 feet for the sea to become a gorgeous translucent green.

Riviera Maya is not like Cancun where the resort properties are lined up next to each other and where every inch of beach is being cleaned and maintained daily. On the beach at SC as at the pool area, you will have no trouble getting lounge chairs and even palapas were available until late morning. Hobbie Cats, kayaks and wind surfers are available to use, all free of charge.


ACTIVITIES/ENTERTAINMENT: The theater was okay. This is one area of improvement at SC; the lounge where they put on shows has regular banquet style seating! This is certainly not consistent with the other plush amenities offered at SC. The shows take place in the ‘Portofino’ ballroom. After a little downtime in your room or on the balcony, a few more pre-dinner drinks, dinner, and then after-dinner drinks (there seems to be a theme here), the shows were over or ending. The nightlife is very quiet but I don't think many people were bothered by it. We went to the disco one night - it was rather empty but we danced anyway and had fun with a few other couples. On one occasion, it was casino night followed by an auction where you could spend your winnings; on another night, there was karaoke.

Do everything or do nothing. Most people chose to do nothing. Salsa dancing, water polo, water aerobics, Spanish lessons, cocktail-making lessons, tequila tasting, football games, you name it they had it. There was no pressure to participate. The hotel also has pool tables, chess games and an air hockey table for the competitive couples.

Business center/Internet café: There are four computers set up in the business center. Access to the Internet, a printer, and a fax are all free of charge. The business center is air-conditioned and the Internet connection speed is very fast. Guests are asked to limit their time to 15 minutes, and for the most part everyone abided. A 10-minute wait was necessary on several occasions, but nothing outrageous.


FOOD: The food was delicious and tasty. My husband and I are are food lovers. We eat out regularly and have a deep appreciation for upscale restaurants. We were pleasantly surprised by how "gourmet" everything was.


TEA TIME: We really enjoyed this. Every day between 4 and 6 p.m., it was teatime in the lobby bar area. Out comes a cart of crust-less finger sandwiches, cookies and wonderful bite-sized desserts. What a great way to unwind after a day of relaxing on the beach or at the pool! My husband would enjoy a "special" cappuccino with a snack.

Breakfasts: The breakfast buffet was in ‘La Riviera’. They were cereals, juices and coffee, and a very good assortment of pastries and breads that included bagels and English muffins. They also had a specialty toaster that allows for toasting anything to your exact liking. There were also two cooks that would make eggs and omelets to order or crepes. In addition, several egg casserole dishes, sausage, bacon, ham, and a huge selection of fruits was offered. You can start your day with a great pool view with the ocean in the background if you get a table by the windows!

We ate breakfast once at ‘Sea Side Grill’. This is a sit-down service and it was very good. They do not open for breakfast until 8:00 a.m. though. The ‘Sea Side Grill’ is the resort’s casual restaurant open for late breakfast, lunch and dinner.


LUNCH: The ‘Sea Side Grill’ serves steak fajitas with traditional salsa, guacamole and nachos, chicken wings, sandwiches, and everything else from a chicken sandwich to a 12oz New York strip. Any of those were great with Coronas and lime! At ‘La Riviera’, you can choose the buffet or à la carte menu during lunchtime.

Don’t miss the shrimp cocktails at the ‘Oceana’, ‘Sea Side Grill’ or the sugar reef bar. They are each prepared a little differently, in a light and sweet cocktail sauce with little melon balls in them. Really delicious!

Pool and beach side service: Most of the items available at the ‘Seaside Grill’ were also available to order off a menu right from your lounge chair (or even better, right from the comfort of your float mat).


DINNER:
‘Himitsu’ is the Japanese restaurant at the hotel and was our least favorite. There really was not much in terms of food preparation at your table. They have a sushi bar and were serving ‘Himatsu’ roll, which is a shrimp tempura roll with a habenero sauce on it.

‘Capri’ was the Italian/Mediterranean restaurant. The lamb chops were excellent. They have someone with a huge parmesan cheese wheel and cuts of some fresh cheese to go with your bread, olive oil and vinegar. I had a tomato and buffalo mozzarella salad that was fantastic. If you could not decide between the pasta entrées and the sea food or steak entrées, you could order a smaller portion of pasta to accompany the other entrée of choice. We had an excellent meal followed by a good dessert and cappuccino coffee.

‘Seaside Grill’ was very good to excellent as well. We sat outdoors as it had cooled off by the time we got to dinnertime. We started with salsa and chips. The dinner recommended that night was lamb. I would recommend it and truly enjoyed the meals there.

‘La Riviera’ is the buffet-style restaurant, but they have theme nights when you can get an à la carte menu.

One thing that we liked about the restaurants is that the portions were small so you could get an appetizer, a salad, an entrée and a dessert. This way you can try many things from many dining options.


BARS AND BEVERAGES: The bar service was very good and we don’t recall receiving a different drink than ordered. They had a wide selection of vodka, which is our alcohol of choice. The frozen drinks were very good. They have a good wine list that is part of the all-inclusive package (the last page of the wine list includes Cabernet Sauvignon Gato Negro from Chile or Nabiolia Merlot from Spain), as well as other bottles you can order from about $16-$300 USD – there is something for everyone.

It was almost shocking given the number of people here that the Desires disco never had more than 20 people in it after 11:00 p.m. and on most nights, there were only a dozen people or so. This was the same for the lobby bar - after 11:00 p.m., it just emptied out.

Important note: all drinks are made with rail brand alcohol, but are more than happy to use your call brand if you ask. We quickly adapted by asking for everything with the call brand we wanted: Absolute, Bacardi, Cuervo, Smirnoff, etc… Also, ask the bartender for suggestions for a shooter or frozen drink. Some of the best cocktails we had were found by just asking the bartender for suggestions.


STAFF AND SERVICES
We received outstanding service. The SC staff went out of their way to insure that our vacation was spectacular. All of the staff was attentive and welcoming: Luis, our second floor concierge who greeted us every day; Roger, the waiter at the steak house restaurant (Seaside Grill), and Samuel at the wet bar from the pool, all ensured that the service was always impeccable. We will forever be grateful to all of the staff at Secrets Capri for providing us with the best standard of service available in an all-inclusive hotel.

When you enter the restaurants, you are asked your room number and then greeted by name by the restaurant manager, waiter, and busboy (they write your name on the order form so they remember). Most times, our waiters remembered our names from previous visits without us giving them our room number.

TIPPING: They work so hard, and are so friendly. They don't push tipping, but they make peanuts per hour. Bringing $100 USD in denominations of ones and fives was a good idea. We tipped everyone, and felt good about ourselves. Many other guests tipped as well. The staff works everyday (6 days a week/8 hours a day) so we think they deserved a little extra.


IMPROVMENTS: Almost all of these were minor items to us, and we feel guilty even bringing them up, as overall every aspect was very good.


SUMMARY: We had a really wonderful vacation. In the past, we traveled to Bahamas, Bermuda, Caribbean, Europe (Mediterranean), Hawaii, Vegas, etc… Our vacations have included several cruises and stays at Westin resorts, Marriott resorts, Hilton resorts, Fairmont properties. As a point of reference, this property compares favorably to them all. The wide age range from late 20’s to 50’s just added to the diversity of the people, and no one ever felt out of place. We like trying different properties for our vacations and we will consider this one for a return visit. We would like to try Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun, as it too looked to be a first-class resort when we took the tour of the property during our stay. Last word of advice, go and enjoy a wonderful vacation at Secrets Capri; we don’t think you will be disappointed.

Overall, they definitely try to do everything to please you, and we felt like royalty. It was truly an amazing week! Thank you to everyone who helped us with the planning, thank you to the staff of the SC and thank you to AIM and SECRETS RESORTS for an amazing vacation!

All right, one final word: If you go to Mexico in a bad mood, and want to find every bad thing about a resort you can do it. Remember, your vacation is what you make of it. If you go there and look forward to having fun, and are forgiving for the small mistakes, you will not ever forget this vacation. Secrets is heaven, absolute heaven. VIVA MEXICO!

Please feel free to e-mail if you have any questions (nlaroche@iq.ca) aka Cruise_Diva!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

We vacationed to Secrets May 22nd-29th! I have to say it was hands down a fantatstic vacation. I consider myself to be a picky traveler. We have stayed all over the world including the Ritz Carlton in Maui and found this place to be right up there with the best of them! The food, relaxed atmosphere, friendliness of the staff, and cleanliness of the resort was remarkable. A few thoughts on the resort:

Beach-Gorgeous water. I am not sure what others in the past were talking about. My husband spend most of the week wind surfing and loved it. The water was warm and "seeweed free." Claudia brought us drinks and food all week. I never had to lift a finger.

Pool- Always a free chair, towel and floatie. We especially loved the pool's swim up bar. Try a mudslide ladies!

AquaWorld/Aquatic Desk-I had no idea that the resort had an onsite dive desk. We were thrilled. My husbad is a certified diver and was anxious to book a trip the first day. I am not certified so I decided to take the resort class to see if diving is something I want to pursue. I have to say that the staff at AquaWorld was fantastic!!! Jaime was my instructor in the pool. He was patient and really spent alot of time with the divers to make sure they felt ready to go out in the ocean. Jorge, Rafael, and Juan were all part of the dive team that took us to the ocean. As a resort dive, I did a 35 foot dive and it was fantastic. The dive master was right next to me as I went down and made sure I felt comfortable the whole way. We can't say enought about AquaWorld. Thank you guys for opening my eyes to the world underwater!!

Restaurants-Great! Be sure to try the sushi. It was awesome. You have to ask for the sushi menu. It is seperate. All the restaurants were wonderful. We found the best time to go to dinner was around 6:00. The wait was usually not too long then.

Spa-We booked 2 garden swedish massages. Both were excellent. They were $80.00 US dollars and well worth it.

Tipping-We tipped everyone. From someone bringing us a round of drinks to each meal that was served to us. Just a tip. The maid service will not take your money each day unless you put it on the pillow.

The rest is a memory. We look forward to booking another trip to Secrets. We were very impressed and have told many of our friends about this untouched "secret."

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2005

My husband and I got married and honeymooned at Secrets Capri the week of June 3 - June 10, 2005. It was without a doubt the most wonderful vacation we have ever had. We've been to several All Inclusives and this was by far the best. Much better than Sandals! The weather was a little cloudy a couple of days and even rained one day but the staff handles it so well with "inside" activities that we didn't even care that those days were not sunny! Diana (our wedding coordinator) was wonderful and also Rugerio was the friendliest, nicest guy! I'm so sorry we didn't get to see him to say goodbye! I hope he will be there on our next visit. We have been looking for a place to call "ours" and we have found it in Secrets Capri. We'll DEFINITELY be back!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.