We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quiet Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #18 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersBronze level
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Quiet Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Secrets Capri was an amazing relaxing time. I wouldn't recommend it to young adults that are going away to party with friends but if you are looking to go on a romantic getaway for some R&R this is your place. We went in September and it rained a few days but we still had an incrediable time. They set up games and activities to do inside. The staff could not have been nicer. We ate at all the resturants. This was the first all inclusive place I have been that did not require reservations and it was fanstastic. They had beepers to call you when your table was ready the longest we waited was 20 minutes and i think that was the only night we waited at all. Feel it out and see how busy it is. Your first night there just go down a little earlier than you want to eat and if they can sit you great if not you just take beeper to the bar with you and have a drink. The food was excellent for an all inclusive hotel. Some places were better than others. They had a great chivche bar for lunch and the Japanese resturant was my favorite for dinner. some of the plates are small but you can order as many dishes as you want. They couldn't be more accodating. It seemed like they ran out of lobster quickly but they would apologize and make sure they saved you one for the next night no matter what resturant you wanted to eat at. Don't forget the bug spray!!!!!! If you did not have bugspray on and sometimes even if you did you would be eaten alive. The bugs can get very bad there at night. They had one small bar that had Karoke a few nights which was fun although only a few people sang over and over. I think the bar closed at midnight but nobody was there that late. It's a very quiet vacation place so if you are looking to stay up drinking and dancing this isn't the place for you.

  • Liked — the peace and quiet!
  • Disliked — the spa
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,760
    1,305
    431
    188
    94
See reviews for
250
3,785
63
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kirkwood, pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

We just returned from a week of total relaxation and pleasure. We have stayed at other resorts and this one is by far the best. Service was impeccable and the food was excellent.
We went to Desires nightclub almost every night. On Saturday night they have a live band that was fantastic! Played great American music to dance to. The nightclub opens at 11:30, that was one of the downfalls for us and other couples. We met a lot of people who also wished it was open earlier. We did stay up because we love to dance! The DJ was very accomodating and downloaded any song I requested. The rooms were very very clean and the staff was extremely accomodating, remembering our names from the beginning as if they knew us a long time!
We felt as though the managers of Secrets (including Punta Cuna when we were there 2 years ago) did their homework and had all of our needs met. Even with playing tennis, there were towels, cold water, and a private bathroom right by the court! All we want to share is that we had a total very positive vacation.

  • Liked — service, friendly
  • Disliked — beach/rocks/debris
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

My girlfriend and I just got back from spending 4 nights at Secrets, and since I chose it based on reviews, I wanted to write as honest a review as possible so other travelers can read it an make up their own minds as to whether to stay here. We got there early afternoon before three, so our room was not ready. They greeted us with the champagne and towel, and said we should go grab some lunch while we wait which was nice. We were told they would come get us when our room was ready. We waited about 1.5 hours and then went to the main desk to ask. We were told our floor concierge was out for the day but our room was ready and we were taken up. We settled in and then had our door buzzed to find the concierge who was out for the day at our door with another couple. He asked if this was our room and if we were settled in. I told him it was so he must have moved the couple to another room. The room is nice, but could use an update. Bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper because you can hear quite well through the walls, and you can also hear the room service carts clanking down the hallway when a guest orders something in the middle of the night. The breakfast was really good and packed with a plethora of food items, but the guy who waited on us would ask what we wanted to drink, then proceeded to disappear for awhile. We had him again and tipped him because we thought this might improve service but to no avail. On the flipside the young woman who seated us each morning was very nice and always friendly and attentive. We're in our early 30's, and as the vacation went on, I noticed the older guests in their early 50's and older received much better service from the folks who seemed to serve us poorly. I'm guessing they've worked at the resort longer and assume they'll get a larger tip from the older guests. Example: we went to Portofino one night and the guy serving us barely spoke to us while he took a long amount of time with a French couple who were telling the server how they should properly prepare their meals. He brought out our dishes and my girlfriend said in a very friendly way that he placed the meals in front of the wrong person. He frowned and glared at her for 5 seconds, switched the meals, then brought out the desert mixed up (we decided not to say anything). The food was good enough, but they should probably bone up with a chef sometime soon because some of the food was lacking. Not enough room here for everything, so feel free to email with any questions.

  • Liked — Location, overall laid back feel
  • Disliked — Inconsistent service, poor attention to details, thin walls
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

At the Airport: Take a cab to the resort (don't take one of the vans or the resort transfer) a cab is only $30 in total (no per person charges)

Room: Deluxe Ocean View - Ocean view room had nice view of the Pool and Ocean. The bed is not comfortable, unless you like firm beds. However, firm beds seem to be the standard at Mexican resorts. Complimentary refrigerator had beer, juice and colas.

Food: Every meal we had was good. The most consistent was breakfast buffet at La Riviera. At the Oceana, I had the lobster dish and it was less than filling, but good. If you are looking for authentic Mexican fare, this is not it. The Mexican dishes lacked the spice of what you'd find in downtown Playa.

Beach: They have it. It's the only nice beach in either direction. If you want a resort with a great beach, Secrets Capri is the place. Out of our 5 day stay, the first day had the most calm waters. The other days the waves were rough.

Pool: The water was freezing. There are two halves to the Pool. One is colder than the other, oddly enough.

Spa: I do not recommend. My wife loved hers. I did not. We received a $100 spa credit, but you could not use it for one treatment. Even with the credit, you still pay $80 per person. My wife used $50 and I used the other.
I'm certain my masseuse was not trained. I've only had a few massages in my life, this one was the worst (and the most expensive). I mentioned this to the spa staff and the person booking that booked the treatment. I wasn't looking for a refund, but all they offered for the waste of my $80 was another treatment at two for the price of one. No thanks.

Getting to downtown Playa from the resort: $15 each way by cab. There is one free shuttle that leaves at 6pm and returns at approx. 11pm.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The Spa
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

We chose this resort based on the reviews on this site. We stayed one week and agree that the resort is beautiful, the staff was very friendly and provided outstanding service, the rooms very clean and nicely decorated and we enjoyed the food in all of the restaurants. Secrets was a good value and we would definitely stay there again.

These were our favorite experiences:
Dining - Having a private balcony at Oceana, the hibachi grill and Mediterranean night outside. We tried all of the restaurants and were never disappointed. We liked the smaller portions, so that we could have a salad and dessert. The breakfast buffet had a great variety and the quality of the food was good. We also liked the snacks - ice cream bar, fresh fruit by the pool and small sandwiches and chocolate covered strawberries in the lobby.
Room - Very clean and the housekeeper always took care of the room when we weren't around, so we never had to avoid the room while it was being cleaned.
Beach - We had fun sailing the Hobie Cats, the water temperature was comfortable and once you get away from the beach the water is clear and beautiful colors.
Pool - Because it's a smaller hotel the pool area isn't overcrowded with chaise lounges right next to each other. The floats for the water are nice. Every day you get a list of activities for the following day and the entertainment team comes around occasionally to tell you what's going on, but they don't annoy you to participate. You can do as much or as little as you want.
Tour - We went on the Amstar tour of Chichen Itza. It's obvious why this site is on the new 7 wonders of the world list - it is amazing and very much worth the trip. On the way back we swam in a cenote - awesome!

These things could've been better:
Jungle Tour & Snorkeling in Cancun - booked through Aquaworld by the hotel pool. After the 1 1/2 hour bus ride to Cancun, stopping at other hotels, we took jet skis through the mangroves to get to a national park for 1/2 hour of snorkeling. It was packed with people and we had to stay with our guide. We saw a few fish and a ray - definitely not worth the trip. We waited for over an hour to take the bus back to our hotel and by the time we got back had felt like we wasted $132 and a day of our vacation.
Beach - The beach sand is soft and beautiful - great for a walk along the beach, but the water's edge has a lot of rocks and stumps. One of the staff told us that the beach area used to be mangroves that were pulled out and replaced with beach sand. We should've brought water shoes.
Pool - The water was too cold in January.
View from room - Our balcony overlooked a larger balcony so there was no view at all.

Things that we wish we had time to do:
Check out the spa, get our photo professionally taken by the photographer at the hotel, take a free trip to Playa del Carmen, snorkel from the beach (not sure if there's anything worth seeing) and visit Cozumel. We'll just have to come back!

  • Liked — Beautiful, clean hotel with excellent customer service.
  • Disliked — Pool water too cold.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

Wonderful hotel, exactly what we were looking for. Staff and amenities are first class. Food in the restaurant as well as the a la carte dining rooms was excellent, no matter what time of day. House wines are good, local beers consist of Corona products only. The only problem is the water. The beach is beautiful and well maintained above the tide line but they are experiencing severe erosion. For the entire week that we were there a small army of workers were hacking out stumps and roots with axes and picks and picking rocks at the water line and beyond. We tried going out into the water but these hazards extend out for at least 25 meters. Nothing like stepping on an unseen tree stump in bare feet. We gave up and went about 3/4 of a km south where the beach and water were fine. With the amount of erosion they are experiencing, I would guess they will be trying to get rid of these hazards for quite some time.

  • Liked — Room was beautiful - Superior Ocean Room
  • Disliked — Mini bar not always stocked up by end of day
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We stayed at Secrets for four days and enjoyed every minute of our experience. We have been all over the Yucatan, and many places on the west coast of Mexico. The resort was just what we needed.

The rooms were clean, the food was outstanding, the grounds were well maintained. There was very little about our stay that we could complain about.

If there was a negative, the pool was not heated very well, but was warm enough that we swam most every day. Cool enough that we did not hang out at the pool bar much, however.

If you are looking for beach swimming I believe the Yucatan is not where you need to go. Last years hurricanes eroded most of the beaches severely. Walking the beach was fine, but do not plan on swimming in the ocean if you go there.

Also if you go and you are offered the "Jewelry Factory" tour for free, AND you are not interested in buying high end jewelry, stay at the resort. No tour, just a salesperson to follow you around a showroom for two hours. I am not sure I would buy a $30,000 piece of jewelry there. Do take the trip to Playa Del Carmen, however.

I would go back to this resort without thinking twice!

  • Liked — We enjoyed the restaurants at this resort.
  • Disliked — We wish the pool was warmer.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.