We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Slinger, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited May 2 - 9, 2013. Best week ever!

We booked through Apple for an early 15th Anniversary trip. We had to take a wedding invitation & prove our anniversary was within 3 mos of our visit. Our Apple rep, Julie, told us we will either have a King size bed or two twins that can be pushed together, but we cannot actually reserve either.

We were greeted at the front door with a warm "welcome" and a cool towel to refresh ourselves. We had to wait 5 or so minutes to check in (many couples were checking in at the same time) but went quickly as they're efficient. They will HOLD a credit card number on your room in the event you want something charged to your room (and if there are damages - just like the U.S.). The staff took our bags to our room for us.

Our door had a banner acknowledging our anniversary. The room was quiet and clean. In the closet is your safe - we used it: "better safe than sorry". We were concerned about the safety of being pool side, ground floor, but we had no issues.The patio door lock didn't work so we had to use the metal pin that fit in the hole to lock the door (after your room is cleaned each day, make sure that's locked as they maintain your patio as well). FYI: you don't really hear your neighbors, but you will hear them pull out/push in chairs as the floors are marble and the sound travels through the floor. If it's late and your neighbors are loud enough you hear them through the wall just pick up the phone and tell the person that answers, they'll address the situation within ten minutes. Keep the louvered window open when you're not in the room to keep the air flowing through the entire suite (to get your towels and bathing suits dry).

Meals:
-We visited LaRiviera for breakfast, lunch once and a few times for dinner. We also had breakfast and lunch a few times at the Cactus Club. They were all great.
-We ate at Portofino (Italian) restaurant once. We were given a buzzer to wait 20 minutes for a table...which we waited an hour for (ate dinner at 10:15pm); although, there were MANY open tables (forgot to page us?), and the food wasn't that great.
-We got reservations at the Himitsu hibatchi grill - that was really good too (steak & shrimp and steak & chicken combos were had). The bar staff was a bit slow at our table but still friendly.
-Seaside Grill was VERY good (lunch and dinner each one time). The crab appetizer is so good and the Shrimp Tempura was excellent. We went up for a steak dinner - yum!
-Getting a tasty snack at the coffee house was nice (COLD cheesecake) and convenient from the bar across the way...they had very good drinks and attentive staff which went aroud the entire lobby to take orders.

Entertainment:
-The "Elvis" show is a must! We were expecting a BAD Elvis impersinator. Reggie was very good and had some really great comedy in between. The outdoor movies were fun to do (as we aren't big bar people/partiers).
-Cinco de Mayo day long celebration was fun (partake when you want to) capped off at the end of the night with the Entertainment staff and singing/dance group having provided entertainment for us.
-Be sure to catch the Rock Show. 70-90's rock with live band/singers/dancers and make it visually interesting as well (very good). The Entertainment staff really gets the crowd involved.
-The Entertainment Staff is amazing. They work 18 hrs/day to make sure you have a good time and it shows. They take care of you in pool side bingo, International buffet/dinner nights, movie nights, the Elvis/rock shows, they shmooze with the clients before the shows, give Spanish lessons, kayaking, and the list goes on. Jonathan is a true asset to Capri (all of them are, but we only had interactions with Jonathan). He truly cares if you're having a good time and he has a super personality.

Shopping:
-The gift stores are pricey (you can find suveniers at the "convenience store" that are a few dollars cheaper than the suvenier store). Unfortunately, the biodegradeable sun screen is only available in Mexico and cost approximately $17 USD.

Photos:
-Take advantage (if doing the Anniversary package) of the photo shoot. It's a free 20 minute photo session which is part of your room package and get one free photo (they print it there - without the anniversary package you don't get a free one unless you use a coupon from the front desk).
-If you order photos, but not enough for the photo book they put them on a CD. We only wanted to spend $100 tops, but couldn't narrow down the number of photos we wanted. The woman gave us 11 pictures at $11 each.
-They were $15 each up to 20 pictures. When you want 20 pictures, they'll make it 30 photos for $299 includes those 30 pictures on a CD and photo book. They're good photos, the short guy (can't remember his name) said "was long day" at 2pm, so if you can get somene else maybe do that.

Excursions:
-We did the $86/person Mayan Adventure (snorkeling in a cenote, cave, lagoon) - NOT for beginners/weak swimmers (no matter what you're told). My husband snorkled and I just couldn't. Very yummy chicken lunch and the Pico is so good (you are offered pictures from the first stop and a few scenic shots - we didn't get them so I don't know the fee).
-If you're interested in the Mayan history do the Tulum/Coba tour and climb in Coba (SO cool). You're given about an hour of free time at Tulum which you can go to the beautiful beach and/or look through the ruins (we never got to the beach - SO worth it). Between Coba and Tulum there is another lunch provided at a local restaurant - very good.
-We did the submarine excusion on Cozumel. If you get motion sickness on boats, plan to nap as you take a boat across to the island. Then you take a smaller one to the submarine. The trip was nice - didn't get the best underwater pictures though. On the boat ride back to Cozumel you get a small orange juice with option to add vodka. Then you get about an hour free time on the island (even with haggling they still overcharge visitors) and another trip back.

Other:
-Make reservations for the Hibatchi as soon as you get there (the only restaurant that needs/takes reservations because everyone wants the hibatchi). You need to make an appointment for the photo shoots. Everything else is "first come first serve".

We will definately be going back to the Capri! Couldn't have asked for a better vacation. Thank you Secrets Capri food/wait/housekeeping staff for having taken care of us so well, treating us well, and for having made this an amazing trip! Mucho gracias, Capri!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear valued Guest.

Thank you very much for your comments.

It is always a pleasure to read comments like yours that make our job so wonderful!

I hope the memories that you created during your vacation will stay for a long time and we hope to have the opportunity to host you one more time soon!

Please if you need any assistance in the future do not hesitate to contact me!

Best Regards,

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,757
    1,303
    431
    188
    94
See reviews for
250
3,781
63
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We chose Riviera Maya as a honeymoon destination and our travel agent booked us at Secrets Capri. It was our first visit to the area as well as our first stay at a Secrets resort. Overall, our 7 day stay was quite good. My wife and I both know a decent amount of Spanish, which really helped develop friendliness among the staff. The entertainment staff (who go around, rounding people up to take part in scheduled activities) did a fantastic job, specifically Jonathan, Victor and Isay. These guys (and girls) work their butts off the make sure people enjoy themselves at the resort.

Our room was an ocean view, otherwise nothing spectacular. Room service was always delivered within 30 minutes. A bottle of champagne awaited us on our first night. The room was well cleaned and turned down each night. It briefly stormed once, causing the water pressure in our room to drop to zero. That was fixed once we arrived back to our room after dinner. I did notice that there were spots of water damage (ceiling damage) throughout the hotel after the brief but strong storm. Everything was patched up by the next day.

The food isn't anything spectacular. But, that said, we still greatly enjoyed every meal. Least favorite was the breakfast buffet. Most favorite was the sea-side breakfast/lunch spot and the Italian restaurant. This being Mexico, I did suffer from Montezuma's Revenge after the fourth day of our stay, however I can't blame that on the resort. It coincided with a trip out to Cobá where we ate a pre-prepared lunch. That food was great, but who knows. Point is I felt ill every morning until about noon, and then I felt fine.

One important note on the upstairs restaurant near the pool/beach: get a table indoors at dinner. At night the wind really picks up. It's hard to notice from the ground, but as soon as you go up a level there's nothing to block it. We were amused by it at first and that quickly wore off. It didn't ruin dinner, but was a definite distraction.

The pool was fun. Not much to say there. Bar service was great. Tasty drinks. Fun people. Tip the tenders for faster service. Drink service on the beach was spotty at times, but those guys are super busy. Spots for chairs at the pool and the beach were highly contested, so go out before breakfast and claim a spot. But honestly we were pretty annoyed at people who tossed a magazine on a chair, only to appear 4 hours later to sit down. My advice is blame the wind for sending a hat or a book flying off a chair.

Kayaks and catamarans are free to visitors all day on the beach. The guys running them and the wave runners are nice. They speak English. They'll take you out to sail if you're not comfortable doing it on your own.

By the time my wife and I left we we friendly with some of the staff. The phrase "it's a pleasure" was common during service.

Overall we had a very nice stay and would go back. We heard some terrible things from people staying at other resorts about bad service and uncleanliness. So we definitely felt like we made the right choice with Secrets.

Room Tip: We felt it was worth it to pay extra for an ocean view since it was our honeymoon. No regrets there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dea valued guest.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with the Tripadvisor community.
It reads you had a great time throughout the resort and we feel happy to know service and food were excellent.

I think the resort is a perfect romantic spot for honeymoon and anniversary couples.
Thank you again for visiting us and please return soon, it is a pleasure to assist you.

If you need further assistance please contact me directly.

Best Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-concierge
Info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Bow, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First off we have been to many all- inclusive resorts and have never had the experiences we had at this place. It all started at check in when they make you give them a credit card and charge $300 on it "just in case" you need anything while you are there, and then press you to upgrade your room for quite a large increase in charges. After that they give you $200 in resort credit and tell you that you can use it to get a massage or a couples dinner or wine while you are there but what they fail to tell you is that you can only apply a small part of the vouchers to the total and then have to pay the difference. So after all that we finally made it to our room and wanted to try to get a bite to eat since we had been traveling all day but much to our surprise all of the restaurants were closed for the next 2.5 hours. So when we finally did get to eat the food tasted very good but either the tuna at dinner or the sausage at breakfast gave my husband food poising and landed him in bed for most of the next day. And on that day it rained as it did the night before and the ceiling in our room leaked on our bed...not a big deal things happen- I realize that BUT the problem started when we called to report the leak and they said they would send someone right up. 2 hours later when no one had come to check on the leak we called again and again we were told that someone would be right there...an hour later we repeated the same thing and finally after the 4th call and about 4.5 hours someone finally came to investigate the problem. Their solution was to wipe the water off of the ceiling ( which was still dripping no matter what they did) and to move the bed against the wall so the ceiling would drip on the floor instead of the bed. They then left the room because everything was "fixed" When we called back and told them that was not acceptable they said they would send housekeeping up with towels to catch the water in the floor. When we asked they refused to change our room and we had to beg for them to bring new bedding for the bed- which took another hour. We were still insisting that they switch our room due to the puddle in the floor and the ceiling that was still leaking and the forecast showing more rain but they still refused. In the meantime we had called room service for some Coke since there wasn't any in our frig that is supposed to be stocked daily and it took them the 6 hours to bring it to our room and that was only after the sweet lady that changed our linens called them for us. So the next day we ask again for another room and they tell us to pack our stuff and while we are gone fishing they will put us in another room. When we return from our fishing trip our stuff had been moved to another room which was much smaller and as far away from the ocean as you can get and still have an ocean view room. The room was much cheaper per night than the one we had paid for and no one notified us that this would be the case or offered to refund the difference. In the second room there was no hot water and the air conditioner made a horrible screeching sound every-time it turned on during the night and the only way to stop it was to get up and turn it of for a few minutes and then turn it back on just to repeat again in about half an hour. But even though we reported that daily no one ever did anything to fix it. After much complaining the manager on duty finally agreed to comp a spa treatment for each of us. But when we went to take care of checking out the day before we left there was no mention of it in the computer and the charges were still on our credit card, but they said they would fix it and to come back later that evening and sign a voucher- which we did. Then the following morning we went to check out and guess what - the charges were still on our account and no one seemed to know what we were talking about when we said that it was supposed to be taken care of and we had signed a voucher. FInally after waiting forever and having them call the manager we first talked to they said they refunded the amount to our card (which I will believe when I get my statement). Yes the resort is beautiful and for the most part the food was good ( and Jesus at the Cactus Grill was awesome) when the restaurants were open although we didn't get to eat at one of the places because there was always a 2+ hour wait since they don't take reservations. The biggest problem to me was that thru all of the above NO ONE ever apologized or acted the least bit sorry for the conditions. We go to this area every year but will NEVER return to this resort or any of the resorts in this chain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and for reviewing our property. There is always a second page to a story and we would like to share some comments in response to some of your inconveniences.

First of all the hold of your credit card is done at all hotels and it is a policy when you check in to our property. It is not a charge, only an open voucher for the amount mentioned in case any surcharge you inquire doing your stay.

In regards to the upgrade options we provide, well the decision is up to the client if he wishes to do an upgrade, depending on the original room category he reserves. The available options are only that, OPTIONS. The credit coupons are to provide you the opportunity to try out several options we have at Capri for you. These are promotions as any other elsewhere that you can use towards the services we have that incur in extra charges.

When you mention our restaurants were all closed for 2 and 1/2 hours it really surprises me when I have the complete schedule where on the dates you were here only one restaurant closed for that week and it was for dinner. We have 24 hour room service available and it is free of charge. Maybe the information given to you was not clear and we misinformed you. We apologize for this.

We don´t want yo to take this as a negative reaction from us, but do consider the facts we provide in this information. We also do wish to apologize for the inconveniences given in your room, these are not acceptable and we have been working with our maintenance and concierge staff to not let this happen again to any future guest. We take your comments into consideration and they become priority to us from the moment we read them. We really appreciate these, to make proper changes and take actions to prevent this uncomfortable events.

If at any time you wish to give us another try please feel free to contact us. I would love to assist you personally and help make your return trip a great one.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope you reconsider visiting us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me and my wife are just comming back from ourSecrets Capri, the whole experience was great (as always in the secrets hotels). In particular, here's my review of the must important things to take in consideration:
Arrival, check-in, front desk and lobby: it's an small hotel, only 3 desk for check in so you will have to wait if you arrive between 1-4 pm, they make you feel great since you arrive (calling you by your name, fresh mosturized towels, welcome drink, fresh fruit) the lobby is small but very ood decorated, confortable coachs, very clean and confortable bathrooms, the lobby bar with premium drinks is available for you since you arrive and it's in-front-desk-sight (you can go for a drink while waiting) waitress service at all the lobby and even the offe shop is near by.
Rooms: all rooms are "preferred suites", the "V" shape of the building, make sure that almost any room have partial ocean view (some of them very partial), rooms very clean, beautifull furniture, marbol, wood, bed and pillows very confortable, notice: the jacuzzy in the bathroom is for one person, very small (no like the others secrets hotels that have a jacuzzy for couple), and the bath amenities doesn't include tooth paste. if possible, ask for a room in the 3rd floor and in the second part of the "V" wing (the nearest to the beach), avoid the rooms located above the lobby building.
Food, restaurants, drinks, bars: the food quality it's great for an all-inclusive, the breakfast buffet includes some good cold meats, great omellet station, and all you can ask for a very good breakfast (fruits, pancake, quesadillas, sausages, bread of all types, etc. etc.), don't expect premium food like selected nuts, proscciuto, crustaceans, etc. Hint: wait to drink your coffe in the "coco cafe" that is next to the breakfast restaurant it's much better quality and varied there! the luch: i strongly recomend the tacos at cactus club, great and fresh! and the charcoal-grilled burguers and hot dogs station by the pool! there's buffet lunch and a la carte lunch in the restaurants too! you can be in your palapa at the beach anbd ask your waitress for your meal (but i recomend go in person for it so you can take wath you wish and see all options. the dinner: go to the a-la-carte gourmet restaurants no reservation requiered (long pants, closed shoes and no t-shirts for the man), Unfortanelly, these hotel doesn't have the mexican "El patio" and the french "Bordeaux" restorans that the others secrets have!! only have the Oceana Grill, Himitsu (japanesse) and the Protofino (Italian-mediterranean). in all very good food, tepanyaki show (don't miss it, but you have to reserve with your concierge with anticipation and probably have to wait a little while at the restaurant). Good certified angus meat, duck, tuna, salmon and shrimp for sure in a lot of different dishes for all likes but keep in mind somethin: it's not real gourmet food like the one you received in a fancy new york restaurant, it's great, quality food, nothing lees or more! Drinks: all bars have some called premium drinks but be sure to ASK for it! if you ask just for a mojito or a whisky: they'll give you the cheapest drink you can imagine (plastic bottle rum and spirits!!) the top brand i saw was: whiskey: jhonny Walker black label, jack daniels vodka: stolichnaya, absolut, rum: bacardi, captain morgan, apleton state, tequila: jose cuervo, liquors: fraygelico, 43, kahlua, di saronno, bayles. seriously even if you want to drink mixed beverages like coco loco, banana mama, mai tai, caipirinha, amareto sauer, etc, etc. ask them to put the good version of the liquor, it will make a LOT of difference in the taste and in your head! jajaja.
Beach and pool: if you want to have a palapa or even more, a gazebo at the beach, you have to wake up really early to get one (arround 6:00 am for a gazebo and maybe 7:30 for a palapa) take with you some magazines, a bottle of sunscreen and take twobeach towels (available in your way to the beach), and put it all in your selected place, you can return to your room, sleep, go take breakfast and arrive to your spot at 10 or 11 without a problem, i know it doesn't sound fare, but if you don't do it, someone else will and you will not find a shaded place for you at the beach!! the beach is small but beautifull, white sand, caribean sea, and it's really clean, some of the palapas need urgently some manteniance so when you go to pick up yours, look if the palapa is in good conditions so you can get the shadow you want. there's only one pool, plenty deck chairs and umbrellas available, at the pool you can get your drinks yourselve at the pool bar, if you are in the beach, ask for them to your waitress and take in consideration that it will take around 10 minutes to get to you.
In resume: its an small hotel (the smallets secrets that i know) and i think it is great for an not to long vacation (i don't recomend to stay here more than 5-6 nights) since the goal of this review it's to help you take a good choice, i have to say: the best secrets in my experience it's the secrets maroma beach by far! it will be my first recomendation; if it dosn't fit to your budget, i'll definitelly recommend you the secrets silversands as your second choice, and the secrets capri as the third one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Secrets the week before Easter for 5 days. We stayed in a garden view room. The resort is smaller than ones we have stayed before, but we really enjoyed that aspect. Everything was easily accessible without having to hike across the resort. The room was well appointed but had a bit of a musky smell and the spa tub needed the jets to be cleaned. (we told staff). The pool wait staff was very friendly and the drinks were plentiful. The food was of good quality. Our favorite dinner was at the italian restaurant. It was fantastic! The staff really knocked themselves out for the dinner on the beach. The fire show was an unexpected surprise one night. It was quite the show. One of my favorite parts of the resort was the coffee bar. You can get cappuccinos, expressos, etc. all day & eve. They even had a flaming coffee station in the lobby in the evenings. The smaller resort feel lent itself to a better vibe with the other guests. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Upon arriving we were greeted by a cold towel and a flute of Champagne. We were then asked if we wanted to upgrade to beachfront unit for $600.00 for the week. I did and we went to the room to find #1 Air Conditioning not working and load bangs from it. Requested to change rooms and was told non available. #2. Our patio was stolen by people every night waking us. Called front desk and reported, nothing done. #3. Ants in Bathroom (happens). #4. Real bad musty smell all of the time. Room was nice looking and bed was comfortable. Food was just adequate, nothing special. The pool had plastic cups, napkins, straws and coated with lotion from sunbathers that stayed from the previous day (not cleaned right). The front desk changed money for us but three times were were told " We don't have the right change (coins), but we will send it to the room or get back to you with it, never happened. The workers on service were fantastic and very friendly, but don't listen to the web site. Premium Liquor which is said to be avaialble, never was the whole week "Sorry, we ran out" was the typical reply. Grounds were beautiful and well kept. Was ok for a visit, but definately not a 5 star as advertised. Will not be back.

Room Tip: Just stay at the regular 1 Bedroom Suite, Oceanfront not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Jesus Bananas was the reason our vacation was so amazing. He was always there with a great personality, fun filled entertainment and an absolute joy to be around. You can tell he loves his job and what he does - I highly recommend everyone who reads this...make sure you get in contact with him while vacationing there, he is for sure to make your time incredible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.