We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a excelente resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great stay at a excelente resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Secrets Capri from March 13th to the 20th. We have stayed quite a few times at Excellence and El Dorado locations in the past both being a top preformer in the lists.
Now we checked out all the reviews that have been posted, noting the good and the bad (people that just will not be happy) and desided to check out Capri. We arrived at just before 3pm and check in went fast. Yes they do try to get you to listen to the timeshare type speach and go check out the other Secrets locations. We said we were on vacation and wanted to just stay at the resort for the week, done!
We were taken by the bellboy to our room which was on the north side walkout to the pool with a good view of the pool and the ocean which was nice. The rooms are nice and well kept, we noticed no issues, no mold as some have mentioned, no bad smells, and at no time did we have any water pressure problems or lack there of. The bed was very comfortable and relaxing for a good night sleep. Now the only issue we had was with the cleaning of the room and not leaving 4 towels on 2 days that's it. Now as for the beach, yes it's narrow, but it's clean and NO rocks yes NO rocks. The beach is only narrow on the north end and the maintenance staff is working hard to keep it clan. They have started to install a new pier on the south end of the beach property but the work is very slow. We did walk the beach every morning in both directions after breakfast. The beach to the south is in front of an undeveloped lot and yes it has rocks and trash that floats up so FYI as for the beaches in front of other resorts they are even narrower and Oceans really is lacking a beach so you have to walk on the boardwalk right in front of there VIP area, don't think i'd pay extra for that.
The Pool is very good and never crowded when we were there, so no worries. The towel game is in full swing so just be aware although we never had any issues on the north side of the pool and it is alittle quieter at that end.The south end has the swimup bar and some days it was busy down there. The only downside to the south side was the smoke from the BBQ burgers when the wind was blowing just right also this end loose the sun sooner. Now for the floaties, never soon an issue where you couldn't just use one, they have plenty.

The food; Awesome!
Our first night was a Caribbean dinner and that was fabilous, not a complaint.
We had breakfast most days in the La Riviera, a mut here is Rita's omlets, these and the crepe's are made to your desire (try the chocolate and peanut butter crepe)
Lunch, most times we at by the pool with the service from the pool staff food from the Cactus club "good pizza'
Dinners were also very good; The Seaside grill very good "try the chicken breast stuffed with shrimp" Oceana, was very good do recommend the Sea Bass and the Grouper, Himitsu Asian we loved it, the only drawback was this place is good and everybody wants to go there, so make reservations and enjoy, now for the Portofino itialian, we had a fabilous meal here, the four cheese lasagna was tasty. You won't leave hungry.
Every night we went up to the Rendezvous lobby bar for Mexican flaming coffee . This is a must have with 1800 tequlia, Kuluha, and Baileys oh so good must have!
Now the pool snacks that they bring around are fresh and tasty, Chips, salsa and fresh guacamioli, ice cream, fruit keeps you going between the drinks.
One thing to be aware of; yes the bars all have top shelf liquor but they will use the house cheaper stuff if you don't ask, and when they get real busy the drinks are made fast and sometimes lack a lot of booze, but only by the pool bar

Now the entertainment staff works there tails off in making sure your stay is an enjoyable one and on that you'll want to return soon. Jonathan and Stepahanie and Humberto were the 3 that we got to know the best, very good and they get to know you and visit with you.

The only thing I would say is if your a stuffy snob please leave your attitude at home and relax please. We watched an elderly genttelman thinking he was someone importaint (he might be back home) and that the pool staff should cater to him right now "NOT" no need to slam your newspaper down and make a scene just remember your in there country and there home your just a tourist and remember they could make your stay a memorable one :(


We will be back to this resort again soon Thanks guys for a great vacation

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,757
    1,304
    431
    188
    94
See reviews for
250
3,782
63
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just got back from our first vacatation in Mexico and my second all inclusive resort. First, the negatives we experienced. I want to get these out of the way because there and many more positives. The drinks are watered down for sure. My Goose martini even watered down. Big disappointment. Trust me on this. I watch, I taste, I know good whiskey and wine. The alcohol is cut somehow and I am suspecting there is cheaper grade placed in premium bottles to cut costs. There is upcharging for some of the premium alcohol that you think will be included. No Remy, no Don Julio, no Chopin vodka etc. unless you pay extra. The house wine is terrible and should be banned. The gym is really bad with very very dated equipment and two broken eliptical machines which didnt happen overnight. So no excuses here. The towel game people play to reserve palapas, chairs, umbrellas on the pool and beach is disgraceful and should not be tolerated by management. Basically, if you wake up earlier than everyone else, put towels on what you want and its yours for the day, even when you dont show up to use it. Its wrong and management allows it. Good luck getting one of the shaded areas if you dont play this game. Which we did not. Empty chairs everywhere with towels on them, all day. You'll see it, trust me. Oh, spend the money and buy the spa treatments at the discounted price offered. Unless you like pressure, head games, and are buying/interested in a time share, do not go to Secrets Maroma for the time share pitch with the free spa treatment coupons given at the end. It will run you a minimum of three hours and you will leave with a headache or an empty wallet. But you'll have your spa tickets! Your choice. I'm just letting you know in advance. People talk and other guests are aware of everything I have put above. And thats them, bringing it up to us in conversation, so it cant be far from the truth or spot on.

Now for the great positives. Absolutely beautiful property, small and a bit tired in some areas, but beautiful none the less. Super clean, everywhere. The grounds arent overly lush with vegitation so dont expect it. Beach is small in width due to erosion and the sand only exists maybe 30 feet or so, into the water, then its a mud bottom. Not the Resorts fault at all, Im just being honest here. The room was beautiful and with 24/7 room service, who could want for more here. The deluxe ocean view standard room was more than enough room for us. Super clean and the maid/turndown service was second to none I thought. From reading the review you might think we're picky people right? The food was great, hands down. No complaints here. Not even one. Even the buffet was top notch, and I was frowning on the idea of a buffet before we checked it out. For us the food was great. All restaurants were beautiful and the exterior seating means you can eat ocean front or ocean view every day every night if you please. The staff and I mean the entire staff if phenomenal. When I tell you that they are there to serve youre every need, with a smile, and keep doing it day after day. We were amazed at the staff. The resort is doing everything right in this area. There is something to do every day, every night, and nightly shows too, which were surprisingly good for such a small venue. We dont regret going to Capri, even based on what I thought were negatives. Would we go back instead of trying somewhere new? That one I'd have to think about.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on third floor, facing the interior and pool, give you all views including ocean. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went back to Secrets Capri to spend a week in the Riviera with a couple of friends. We had stayed in this resort few years ago and, even after having visited many other adult only all inclusive alternatives, this is still our preferred. This time, if possible, we liked it even more for a few nice changes: you don't have to wear the bracelet any longer and free WiFi is available anywhere, beach included. In comparison with other resorts, this is much smaller and charming, assuming you like some Mexican character in the architecture. Food is good in all the restaurants and we love the option of having breakfast in three different locations: buffet in the main building ( but with a great view on the pool and ocean ), a la carte close to the beach, and even outside few steps from the sand. I can't think of even one employee that did not do all is possible to please our staying. Our friends, at their first visit to Mexico, enjoyed very much the location, the decor, the room, the friendliness of the staff, the food, the drinks. Overall, thumbs up and a big thank to the management and everybody that keeps this place the way it is. One small tip: if you wish, you can visit the sister property at Maroma beach and have dinner over there. That is a much bigger, more modern and also upscale resort. You can book a visit ( free of charge ) after 3:00pm with the only need to assure your actual visit and a bit of paperwork. Maroma, beside similar Japanese, Italian and fish restaurants, adds also a French and Mexican restaurants that may help in making your selection even broader. We had a car and we went to Cancun, Playa, Tulum and one of the theme parks, all of them great excursions. But if you plan to just relax in the resort, you will not regret either. Lastly, even if we did not see the all of them, the evening shows, movies and daily entertainment, are nice complements to your staying. In summary, thanks Secrets for the professional management of this great place.

Room Tip: Even the garden view rooms are very nice. We stayed in the upper floors that may be quieter and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just returned from Secrets Capri and booked it through travelocity "secret" vacations! We were thrilled when we got Secrets Capri at a lower price and it was the hotel we really wanted to stay at.

We have stayed at all-inclusives in Cuba and Costa Rica and been on a all inclusive cruise. This would rate as on of our best trips.

Everything that has been said in most reviews was accurate. We got champagne and towels at check-in, they tried to up-sell us a room---seemed to pull a number out of thin air.

We declined to change rooms and stayed on the jungle side which was really quiet and peaceful. Our room was super clean and neat and the housekeeping staff was excellent, always giving us fresh towels and leaving us friendly towel animals each night. We did have trouble with the light switches but figured it out eventually. The one strange thing was the bathroom had a toilet with no real door rather just a glass swinging door---and the bathroom had shutters that closed it off from the main room--rather a lack of privacy but worth mentioning.

The food was good. The buffet was only great for breakfast, dinner was not amazing. The different restaurants were a good choice. We liked the Italian one the most and then the steakhouse and seafood was a close second. The Asian one was not that great and rather just regular "order-in" food. The Catus-club on the beach had a great breakfast and really good lunches and afternoon snacks. They also provide daily nachos service at the pool and a daily BBQ with burgers and such for lunch--very good. We only had one night where there was an extreme wait at all of the restaurants and most nights we waited for less than five minutes or they gave us a buzzer and we got a drink and returned within 20 minutes.

The drinks were good and the servers were quick. We drank mostly mixed drinks and the specialty drinks. They tried to up-sell you wine at dinner but the house wines were fine, two whites and two reds and there was one decent one of each.

We did two excursions which we booked through the hotel which was easy and inexpensive. We did the half day to Tulum and the it was great nd afterwards the hotel got them to drop us in Playa Del Carmen and we wandered the town for the afternoon. We took a cab back which was $20. We also did the Maya Adventure snorkeling trip which was amazing! Loved the trip and would highly recommend it.

My advice would be that there is not always chairs available each day in the shade. I love the sun but it was HOT! We needed the shade. We lucked out at the beach the first day as we found a spot and then other couples left and we got front row! The pool is different, you have to get up at 6am to get a decent spot! Plus the left side of the pool (if you are looking at the beach) is MUCH quieter then the right side of the pool. I think those people got up at 5:30am! The hotel puts our rolled up towels on the chairs and and then people rush down and leave shoes and magazines ect. The whole 30 minutes rule is not applied by the hotel.

The pool service is amazing, they brought you water, drinks, food and anything you needed. I was impressed by there attentiveness.

Overall, it was an amazing trip with excellent food and service. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Secrets Capri is a smaller resort than some of the resorts we have recently stayed at. Though smaller, it has plenty of room to get your space as needed. It did seem that because of the close proximity and less guests, we were able to get to know our fellow guests easily.

If you haven't stayed at a Sercrets before, I highly recommend it. The secrets phrase of unlimited luxury is true. The rooms are nicely appointed with marble throughout the room. The resteraunt dishes are very advanced for all inclusive resorts as well as having many resteraunts to give you much variety. The staff is very helpful and will do everything in their power satisfy your needs. There is constant entertainment or activities to avoid boredom.

With all that said, Secrets Capri works well within my expectation for a resort of this chain. Though it would be a very small step down from Secrets Moroma (the best for me so far), it is a nice resort worth the price. A couple bullet pros & cons:

PROS

>Sports bar is awesome. Normally this is a combination club / Bar (not sports bar). The Capri sport bar has many TV's. We were here during 1st round of March Madness and they played many of the games for us crazy fans (always next year Tarheels ). They played Hockey games at night for us Hockey fans (and many Canadian visitors).
>The smaller grounds were nice as everything is a quick walk away. Though I usually like more space it worked well when you needed something.
>Entertainment staff is awesome. I am sure that having to make every event full of energy is tough, but these guys made every activity and event fun. They did a great job.
>Free Wifi everywhere, including the pool. That's very nice to have.

CON:

>Though a nice resort, I grade it. 3.8 on a 4 scale only because of the handful of areas in great need of repair. This is particularly anywhere there were AC units. Clearly they have issues with drainage of the condensation water that stains or bubbles the ceilings.
>Beach area is Ok. If you are expecting a huge beach area, this is not your place. I am a pool guy, so it doesn't matter that the beach was not huge to me. There is plenty of space to enjoy the beach as many guest did.
>because of the size of the pool area and beach, the lounge seats are a premium. The lounges with Umbrellas are a rare item. Most people would claim the lounges with Umbrellas at 7am and head back to the room. Most resorts would have rules against that but not here. If you like some shade in the pool area or beach, be prepared to wake up early to claim a spot.

I would recommend Secrets to anyone and Capri to anyone who has not experience a luxury resort. Overall, we had a great time and would go again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at Secrets Capri over the 4th of July week. The resort had activities related to the 4th including hotdog eating contests and bands. The food choices were good, we usually ate breakfast at the buffet restaurant and we tried all of the other choices except for the Japanese. The Italian restaurant had very good food, but it could get hot inside. We would definitely recommend this resort and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have to say we all found this resort hotel seriously disappointing, most especially due to it's lack of beach combined with some serious service problems. The hotel itself is nice, clean and our room was great.
In the majority of the restaurants the food was fine. Particularly good was the Italian, Portofino I think. The food there was always good although it's a bit dark and dungeon like in setting but the service there was good. The Asian fusion was terrible we had to leave before we'd even finished our full meal as it was so smokey and the food certainly was no treat. The Beach front restaurants were the best ones and most surprisingly the main restaurant in the hotel where breakfast is served had a good evening buffet. Breakfast however was a service disaster area. Plenty of staff but no management able to direct so that tables were left uncleared and unset while a long queue of guests waited. This happened every day so it wasn't a one off mistake. We waited one day for 15 minutes for a table with many empty tables and then when we were seated another long wait for crockery we eventually started to set the table ourselves. In some ways it added to the entertainment of the day wondering what disaster would be served up or to be more accurate not served at breakfast!
Frankly I'd never ever want to stay here again nor would any of our group.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear valued customer,

First of all we would like to thank you for your time to post a review. This is very important for us to identify our opportunity areas and take the proper corrective actions, this way we can keep the highest standards in service and facilities which distinguish our resort.

We regret to know that we didn´t met your expectations on several areas, however we would like to receive a second opportunity to host you again and change this first perception, we would love to keep your preference of our resorts. Rest assured we have taken immediate actions to correct every report you have mentioned on your review.

Should you need further assistance please don´t hesitate to contact us it would be a pleasure to assist you.


Warm Regards,

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.