We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“and a half. Overall great vacation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
3 Ways To Win!
Ranked #19 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
East Central Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“and a half. Overall great vacation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I would say that you have to try really hard to have a terrible vacation experience. It is generally what you make it. Our stay, January 13th through the 19th was great. The property is fairly compact with nice facilities overall. Anywhere you go there will be maintenance issues due to general use. This resort was no different, but we did not have any affect us directly. During our stay my observation was that the clientele at this resort was mainly middle aged. If you are looking for a 24/7 party, it probably isn't here. Also, evening dress seemed to be not as casual as at other resorts we have been to.

Room - nice sized. Bed is very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The decor could use updating as some of the furniture and wall hangings show quite a bit of wear. Bathroom is not extremely private (see photo) but is very large and well appointed. Lighting in the rooms leaves a lot to be desired. Even with all lights on I still felt it was dark. I did have problems regulating the air conditioning, but managed to keep the room comfortable by turning it off and opening the patio door when it was too cool. We really enjoyed the patio and the stocked refrigerator. The maid service in the morning and turn-down service at night ensured that the room was always fully stocked with beverages (plenty of bottled water) and towels.

Pool Area & Beach - The pool deck area was always clean and we never had problems finding a chair to lounge in. The service out here was also great. The beach was actually better than I had expected. There is a fairly large section that was damaged during a hurricane, but what was there was nice.

Restaurants & Food - We are not picky eaters, so really had no problem finding something to eat. I enjoy trying different things and really thought everything we had was fairly good. Of course, due to personal taste, some was better than other. We ate at all of the restaurants and enjoyed the food at every one of them. We were a bit disappointed with the time that dinner took at Oceana and the Seaside Grill (almost three hours), but the food was good. Our favorite restaurant was Himitsu (reservations required for the hibachi grill). The breakfast buffet was very good (try the french toast).

Staff - always friendly and helpful. I tipped liberally because I feel more comfortable doing that, but I don't know that it really improved service. The entertainment staff is very good at what they do. The guys are all super friendly and easy to talk to. There were shows every night that were well attended and enjoyed. I was a little surprised to not see the general manager at all during the stay.

I would definitely recommend this property to others and would return. The good points far outweigh any bad points that could be found.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you would like to come back. It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time in the pool area as well as the food.

Our resort is always looking for improvement and we really appreciate your comments about the room's updating and the suggestion for the bathroom as well as the ones for the lighting.

We would be happy to host you again, in that case, please, do not hesitate to contact us at info.secrc@secretsresorts.com

Best Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,437
    1,193
    397
    181
    90
See reviews for
206
3,472
52
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Loved, loved, loved everything about this resort. From the first class service, the beautiful decor, the beautiful ocean view (room 507), the homey feel, and the FABULOUS food... I can't imagine a better place to have spent our 10 year anniversary. We met new friends, and rekindled our relationship. Fun activites, private beach dinners, beautiful beach walks, premium drinks delivered to your beach cabana, shopping trips poolside... I don't know what else to say but, BOOK IT! We booked thru cheapcarribean.com and were very happy with their attention to detail, the customer service, and we felt very safe and taken care of at the airport and with our transfer as well. WE WILL RETURN!

Room Tip: Room 507 was perfect! Excellent view, close to elevator. Dont miss the calamari poolside. And DO NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience.

We were delighted to read that you spent such a great time in our resort. We would be very happy to host you once again at Secrets Capri.

Should you require anything, please, contact us at info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Yet again, Secrets resorts does not disappoint! We just returned from 8 days and had the best time. The service is superior from the bartenders to the hostess, waiter service. A shout out to those who litterly never let our drinks go empty....Pool Bar..Juan, Quetzal, Brisco, Beach service...Eliseo, Orlando. Alberto, waiter in Riveria and Portofino, you were great! Rita your smile and pleasant personality is unbelievable. Alicea in Riveria, you are so happy and greet us like you have known us forever. Had a terrific time at the Super Bowl party, you certainly went out of your way to entertain everyone. IGNORE the negative reviews! The beach isn't the best, but we walked the beach everyday! In short........we had another great stay at Secrets resorts!

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the ground floor rooms 105-110, they are excellent rooms! We stayed in 105...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear valued customer,

We really appreciate you shared your experience with us.

It's a priority for us to make your holiday in our resort as perfect as possible, and in your case it seems that we achieved our goal and that motivates us to continue on that way.

You can be sure that every staff's member is very happy to learn that they made your stay so good.

We would be very happy to host you again. Should you require any information, please, do not hesitate to contact us at info.secrc@secretsresorts.com

Best Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Secrets Capri from 1/28-2/2 and had a wonderful time. The staff were fantastic, always helpful, cheerful, and wanting to make our trip special. I think everyone, including the Amstar tour guide to Tulum, thanked us over and over for coming to Mexico. The entire staff worked so hard, and it was impressive seeing how clean they kept the hotel and the pride they took in their hotel. We enjoyed deep sea fishing, tour of Tulum ruins, events in the hotel... Elvis, Fire show, Tequila tasting, etc... The pool was great, drinks divine, and the room was wonderful (we had a main floor ocean front view). We also heard the beach was awful..... I felt it was fine, yes you could see there was erosion going on, but we walked along it fine, we did not go in as it was not safe with the undertow... We had a wonderful time, loved all the staff and the food at the main restaurants very good, although we did think maybe they could have stepped it up in the others.

Room Tip: We were in room 157 and thought it was a fantastic view, easy to walk out to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It's a real pleasure to read that you spent a great time in our resort. We are lucky to have a very motivated and dynamic staff who works hard to make your holiday unforgettable. The fact that you noticed it makes it even more valuable and encourage us to continue on that way.

We are happy to know that you appreciated the food and the beach. If you would like to visit us again it would be a pleasure to help you, in that case, please do not hesitate to contact us at info.secrc@secretsresorts.com

Best Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Once again, Secrets Capri was just the ticket for an amazing get-a-way vacation. Our 3rd visit to the same resort and it never gets old! While all of the staff were truly attentive and eager to serve, Humberto, one of the entertainment staff was a true stand-out. He made us feel included and welcome for any event we even wandered near and always found a moment to stop by our table or beach chair to ensure we were having a good time and see what he could do for us. In short he made us feel like we were the most important people there. We watched he and another entertainment team member, Santiago as well as other staff members - Carlos and Oscar around the pool - Efren and Juan - the best bartenders - take special care in delighting everyone who they came in contact with. We work hard for our playtime and Yes, we will be going back for a 4th time!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience.

You can be sure that it has been once again a pleasure to host you and it will always be. We are happy to know that you spent such a great time in our resort and that you appreciated all the efforts by made our staff, particularly Humberto and the entertainment staff as well as all the bartenders.

When you would like to come back, please, do not hesitate to contact us at info.secrc@secretsresorts.com

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from this hotel. The staff are mostly great.
We had requested that we have a room in a quiet area as we are light sleepers. The first room they put us in was right next to the 24/7 ice making machine which you could hear in the room; the next room had a malfunctioning generator next to it! Which part of quite didn't they understand? We had to downgrade our room to get one that suited our requirement.
The hotel is worn out. Areas of damp are everywhere, our clothes in the wardrobe even smelt and felt damp. Dirty seat covers in the restaurant serving the buffet.
There was an area by the pool, where we chose to sit where an area of concrete floor had broken up, and was left un repaired for the 2 weeks that we were there, whilst they re tiled an area under a waterfall not used by the public.
On one occasion we had to ask for the pool to be recleaned as when we went to get in, there was rubbish & a plaster floating by the waste pipe.
The bedroom walls are like tissue paper ( be warned) and you can hear everything that goes on in your neighbours rooms.Having a whirlpool bath we decided to use it only to find that the water ran out a green colour.Not very appealing.
This is NOT a resort to go to if you want a peaceful holiday, which was the aim of our break.There is no where around the pool area where you can sit that you cannot get away from the frightful music blasting out.The beach would be your only respite.
We have been to all inclusive hotels in the Caribbean many times before, but have never encountered such noise and disruption to other guests. One night we had to leave the Italian restaurant Portofino, because the noise level was appalling.
No senior staff were seen wandering around greeting guests, and checking if THEIR hotel was functioning well. This no care attitude is wrong, and where as if we had had a great holiday here we would have recommended it to friends & family, we can say without doubt, I would not tell anyone to visit this hotel. Shame.

Room Tip: Pot luck I am afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.

We are sad to read that you did not enjoyed your stay in our resort. You probably noticed that our staff works hard in order to make the holidays of our guests as perfect as possible and we are always disappointed when it is not the case.

Concerning the smell, our hotel is located in a mangrove in the Caribbean and sometimes the hit and the humidity can provoke bad smelling and different kind of problems but we are continually working on it.

It's concerned us that you didn't like your room. Sometimes in busy period like December and January it gets harder to keep a quite atmosphere in a resort that can host more than 500 people. However, our staff does its best to keep a relaxing atmosphere for you to be able to enjoy your holidays as well as they try to do everything to keep it clean and secure.

We are sorry that you wouldn't like to come back, but our resort is always looking for improvement and so, if you would like to give another chance to Secrets Capri, it would be a pleasure to host you once again. In that case, or if you need anything, please, do not hesitate to contact us at info.secrc@secretsresorts.com

Best Regards,
Manangement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

When I started reading reviews about the beach I was nervous about our trip and even tried to change to Meroma before arrival. We are beach people and travel for the beach as we have a pool and I certainly do not go to the carribean to sit at a pool. I am pleased to say, I am glad we were not able to change and spent our time at Capri! The beach is nice. Its not great, its not the beautiful beach we found in Jamaica last year, but its nice to sit in the sun. The chairs are pleantiful and the sand is clean and nice. The water itself is not great. I did not swim, but my husband and friends did. We did walk about a mile down the beach (to the left if looking at the water) and found a great spot to hang out a bit and swim. Clear water and no waves. The service of the people at this resort made out trip. What a great bunch of people and they made our trip one of the best vacations we have been on. Thank you to Eli, Daniel, Efron and Segio...you guys really are the best and the hotel should be thanking you with all kinds of rewards for making up for the lack of beach!!!

Room Tip: We were in 349-GREAT room!!! Away from the noise of the lobby/disco with a great view of the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to read that you were not disappointed about your stay at Secrets Capri and that you even had a great time in our resort.

We are happy to know that you appreciated all the efforts made by our staff for you to feel at home. They work very hard to keep the resort as well as the beach clean and secure and with a relaxing atmosphere.

We would feel honoured if you would like to visit us again, in that case, please, do not hesitate to contact us at info.secrc@secretsresorts.com

Best Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.