We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #21 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Halifax
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nothing was ever a problem. The response from all the staff was "My Pleasure".
Food - Fantastic - definitely do the Italian.
No wrist bands and no towel cards. Ice Cream and Fruit Cabobs every day around the pool
Am going to return again.

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy the service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,157
    1,115
    374
    176
    85
See reviews for
181
3216
50
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This past weekend we were at Secrets Capri and had a wonderful time!

Secrets Capri is a medium size hotel that looks like a typical yellow “Hacienda” of the Mexican town Izamal.

I´ve read some recent reviews talking about the beach, saying it´s not as nice as it was before; and although it is true the hotel has had some challenges with the weather that eroded the beach, we asked some people, and they assured they are working on the beach issue. Even if it´s not their fault, obviously they care about it. So, I wouldn´t worry about this, because I´m sure it will be solved very soon. We didn´t swim in the ocean, but we enjoyed the beach and the view of the beautiful Caribbean Ocean. The overall impression of the resort and its service has been so excellent that we did not miss swimming in the ocean. We would definitely come back.

The pool is very relaxing, with available floaties to lie down and sun oneself, take a nap or read a book.

We saw a coati (an animal related to the raccoon, native to Mexico and other parts of Latin America) by the pool! It was caught red-handed when eating a little piece of bread off the floor very discreetly. Very nice to have wild life around.

The hotel is very near from Playa del Carmen, so in case you want to see the area, it is very easy to reach.

We rented a car and went to the archeological site of Cobá (one hour from Tulum) and then, in our way back to the hotel, we swam in the beautiful “Gran Cenote” (near Tulum), so we thought Secrets Capri is perfectly located, near great places.

This hotel has a very large and nice cafeteria called “Coco Café” where you can enjoy a coffee, a cake or a panino.

We liked very much the food at Portofino, and for the second night we made a reservation for the Himitsu Tepanyaki grill. Don´t miss it, I´ve gone to many Japanese restaurants and Gerardo blows your mind with the show when he cooks, he is truly very talented!

Special thanks to: Rolando (Chief concierge) for the personalized service, Columba (Chef in Portofino), Gerardo (Chef at Himitsu grill), the Chef that goes around the pool offering fruit, ice cream and guacamole (very nice touch).

These fellows give an outstanding service:

Victor (Waiter at Portofino). He knows exactly how to manage his work station and how to serve clients in a 5 star restaurant. Impeccable service.

Orlando (Waiter by the pool). He goes above and beyond, this is his vocation, being in front of people, providing a service. We were very impressed. Secrets Capri: Don´t let him go! We hope to come back and be able to see him again, he made our time by the pool very pleasant. It is so nice to see people like Orlando, caring so much. He was a Wow Factor!

We had a very nice time at Secrets Capri. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

we had a tremendous time at this resort. Chiefly because the staff were so charming and helpful and the food was very different in the various restaurants and of consistently high quality and presentation.
Would definitely choose it again for winter sunshine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I'll start with the positive. Lovely resort. VERY nice staff. Pool area bar alot of fun the people were friendly. Good entertainment. The food that other people raved about, I just didn't see it or taste it. Cilantro seem to be the only spice they had and they had alot. As a whole I do not think the resort is a 6 gold apple. The resort had some very different smells. Can't put my finger on what it was. The turtle pond was nasty. Again they tried hard but not worth what they charge. What you read about the beach is very true it's gone washed away with stumps, rocks, sandbags, I don't know how it can be fixed.. Beds are very comfy nice rooms. They want to turn down your bed at 5:30-6 when your cleaning up from being at the pool all day. This happened every night.

Room Tip: Our Tropical View was the top of a roof and top of a palm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Resort is kept very clean and service was some of the best we've had in Mexico.
Room: Deluxe ocean view with king bed was soft but comfortable. Balcony large enough to enjoy sitting/reading with 2 chairs and small table. Bathroom all marble with separate shower and whirlpool.
Pool area: enough lounge chairs for everyone, swim up bar and service that kept coming. Actually cleaned up the "dead" drink glasses, plates, etc. promptly so that the area felt fresh all day.
Beach: Lots of erosion and nothing to walk on. Large stumps, sticks, etc. They have nice lounging area on beach but this is not for you if sand is where you spend the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from Secrets Capri yesterday and totally enjoyed the staff, service, food, rooms and entertainment! I cannot say enough good about the wonderful staff and facilities. However, the beach was simply non-existent!!! Since a recent storm in December (as we were told) the beach disappeared!! just stumps of palm trees in the sand. The sidewalk just in front of the oceanfront buildings calapsed due to the erosion. We would not return.

Room Tip: Great resort if you don't want a beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I come from Nottingham in the UK and this was our first holiday to Mexico. We were not sure what to expect, what a great surprise.
The Hotel and Staff were absolutely superb, the service was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff at this Hotel, they were all willing to help when we needed something, from the gardening staff and Chambermaids to the Head Concierge, they all wanted to made our stay exceptional, and they succeeded.
The Hotel is an ‘all inclusive’ resort so everything on site was included. The choice of food in the restaurants was top notch with a good choice and cooked perfectly. The hotel is clearly very proud of their ‘restaurant quality food’ and it is justly deserved, the food prepared by their chefs is at the highest levels. All the drinks provided at the bars are branded, with a great choice of all spirits a very international selection. I am a scotch drinker and I was not disappointed with the selection of single malts and blended.
We did not try the 'spa' facilities so I will not comment, but I understand from other customers that they were first class.
We highly recommend this Hotel, and if we go back to Cancun we will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool area ... great choice ... not noisy good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.