We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Nights!
Ranked #24 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was my 6th trip to Mexico, but my first visit to a Secrets resort. As my husband and I were celebrating our first anniversary, we were looking for some privacy, romance and a few fun excursions. The Secrets Capri did not disppoint! It's an older property but well-maintained, with a busy crew always keeping the grounds and rooms looking sharp. We particularly enjoyed the amazing breakfast buffet, drinks and snacks served by Lucas at the pool (uno mas agua mexicanos? si!), and the specialty dinner restaurants were simply incredible. The Secrets serves the best food that I've had at an all-inclusive resort, and that's saying quite a bit. A simple rib-eye taco or a plate of chips with salsa and fresh guacamole was a culinary delight, and I was always the "girl who hated guacamole" before this trip!

The staff is friendly and fun, they always have a smile and a 'hola' for you, and they are always happy to help if you need anything - whether it's a bottle of water or a spanish lesson. :) We had a truly lovely time and would recommend this resort to anyone - the wonderful staff make your vacation experience remarkable.

Room Tip: Our "ocean-view" room didn't have a particularly good view of the ocean; it was more o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,089
    1,099
    371
    174
    85
See reviews for
179
3148
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

just got back from 2 wks stay at the secrets resort and had the best honeymoon ever all the staff where so friendly and always willing to help you in what they could would highly recommend this resort and cant wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I usually stay at a RIU Palace when I travel to Mexico but a friend recommended this resort so we decided to give it a try. It is much smaller than any of the RIU resorts but it is still very nice. I have to say the buffet is about average but the main dinner restaurants were each 5 stars. The rest of the resort is a bit aged but still kept up very nicely. The Hot Tub is barely warmer than the pool so not much for relaxing in. Entertainment was all above average and the young man who plays 2 times a week in the evenings at the lobby bar is very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Well, we are back to reality after spending 9 days at your beautiful resort! Our third trip to Capri and you did not disappoint! Your staff, food, service were all wonderful....again! We will miss Rita's omelets, drinks in the lobby served by Laura and Virginia, cervezas served by Noe and Lucas at the pool, Arturo bringing us special snacks each day with a smiling face and everyone at the Spa for their wonderful service! And Mario for his photography on the beach....we will treasure the moments he captured. Can't wait to go again!

We had an ocean front room and we have also had a junior suite with ocean view. The rooms are very comfortable and roomy. They are very diligent about keeping your frig stocked and have turn down service with little surprises when you turn in for the night. If there is something you need....you ask and it is done with pleasure.

The entertainment has consistently improved each time we go. Every night there was great entertainment in the lobby bar followed by a special event outside or in the ballroom followed by music, karaoke or talent in the Desires Bar.

Regarding the beach....over the years, the hurricanes have done their job. They have lost a lot of the beach but there is still room to enjoy and if you enjoy walking the beach, there is a long stretch of beach to take a long walk one way and going the other way we found a fresh water inlet. Beautiful clear water!! We loved how they added covered beach beds on the beach. We sat on the beach as well as the pool area. One side of the pool is the "happenin" side of the pool, while the other is the quiet side for floating and nap time.

We keep going back because it feels like home. We are comfortable and happy. The staff is amazing and the service too. The fact that so many staff remain working at Capri over the years tells you something.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We absolutely could not have asked for a better honeymoon ever! Upon arrival we were offered an upgrade to the ocean view room but decided to pass until we saw our room. The room we were given was just above the lobby and got very loud at night with people at the Rendezvous bar below. We decided to get the upgrade for $80/night and it was well worth it! Our room was a walk out to the beach on the North side of the hotel. It was quiet and incredibly relaxing, definitely the right move!
The hotel staff were just amazing. We couldn't get over how friendly everyone was. There were plenty of activities for people that wanted to participate (me) and no pressure if you didn't (my wife).
The food was also incredible. We tried every restaurant and they more than met expectations.
If we were to travel back to Playa, we would definitely consider Secrets Capri.

Room Tip: Upgrade to oceanfront room. Hammocks on the first level are awesome, private, and relaxing. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is our 2nd time to Secrets Capri within the year, and it won't be our last! Love the location - 30 min. from Cancun Airport and 15-20 min. to Playa Del Carmen shopping area.

What we love about this resort is it truly has the flavor of Mexico with it's design. It's not too large, but not small. The staff believe it or not remembered us from our last visit. To say it's comfortable is an understatement.

The average age group we saw this trip was 30's-60's. If you are looking to party all nite this is not the place. It is more romantic and subdued. The resort itself is very clean and beautiful.

The staff are so attentive, friendly and accomodating. The entertainment team (Sophe & Marianna) work so hard to keep everyone engaged. A little something for everyone.

Our favorite waiter was Ramon in the steakhouse. He greated us by name, and aimed to please. Thanks Ramon.

The staff around the pool do all they can for you from getting drinks, passing out cool towel, fresh fruit and sometimes ice cream. They all were equally good. My only complaint, people hogging the blue mats by their chairs. This needs to be monitored better by the pool consierge.

Our room as before was comfortable and beautiful view - no complaints. Loved the little extras as animals made from towels, champaign, a rose left one night etc.

The maintenance staff - I honestly have never seen such hard working individuals with always a kind "hola" when passing. These folks along with all the folks at the resort work 6 days a week.

Although this is all inclusive, we always bring extra $$$ for tipping..... why??? Because these folks deserve it.

After 9 days we hated to return, but now look forward to our next visit.

Unless you are very picky, high maintenance and expect to get drunk until sunrise, do not read the negative comments. I have to admit last year I was leary when reading them before my first visit. I was glad I have an open mind and realized, to take negative comments in stride. Look at what the negatrive comments were about, and usually nothing of substance or that mattered to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Last week myself and 2 friends spent a lovely week at Secrets Capri.

As all inclusives go, this one was very good. The food was good. The A la carte restaurants were great, my favorite being the Japanese Restaurant. The Italian was great too. The resort was well maintained and comfortable. Our room was fine. Little annoyances like a terrible smell sometimes (the same smell that was overpowering in the nightclub one night....) and the room not having facecloths one day, kleenex was empty and not replenished one day, toilet paper not refilled one day, a bathmat missing the next.... but nothing that would ruin a vacation.


The beach was ok. Walking out to get to the waves was weird, there were sticks that stuck out and the ground was slimey and spongy for a few feel but then back to sand about 10 feet into the ocean.

A word about the staff here. They are amazing. The wait staff were very good about bringing drinks and food around the pool or at the beach area. My favorite pool waiter was Lucas. At the breakfast buffet, Alicia, Benito and Eduardo were always smiling and ready to bring us what we needed. (Which was always a Mimosa!)

The entertainment staff at this resort earn their money. They are professional and engaging and we just loved them. Marianna is a star and I have a very special place in my heart for Jesus who always made me feel like I was the only person he was working to please. :) Amazing job, guys. Also, if you are going to this resort, please don't miss the Sensuality Show. You will be impressed. Carlos - you are an amazing dancer! I also quite enjoyed the Rock Show and was impressed with the Secrets Band.

Thank you to Monica at concierge who made my friends birthday more special and thank you to the staff at the front desk who quickly worked to solve a room issue that we had on the first day.

Don't hesitate to book with Secrets. They are a class act.

Thanks and I will see you wonderful people again, I assure you.

Claire :)

PS this is not really a party resort, just mostly couples. Single folk like me were scarce. If you are recently divorced and seeing happy couples all around you make you bitter, you may want to try another place lol

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.