We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and friendly-great for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #18 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hanover, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful and friendly-great for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

my husband and I just celebrated our 20th-10/20/11-10/23/11 and wanted somewhere without kids- we have been to the Riviera Maya before and loved it but stayed at a family resort. Everyone couldn't have been nicer! The staff was great. Our favorite place to eat dinner was the Oceana-great steak and seafood. The room was huge and a nice view of the water. The only down side was that our room was opposite the stairs/elevator and it was loud when everyone was coming back late from the entertainment. Beach is on the small side but without children-it was just fine-no problem finding chairs on beach-just by pool. I have nothing bad or disappointing to say about the weekend. When you get to airport-just walk straight thru everyone until you reach outside-we were shown to our "shuttle" by a helpful staff member but had to listen to a "talk and buy" talk first-once outside-you can locate your tour guide by what they are wearing.

Room Tip: we were not able to get upgraded-the hotel was sold out when we got there-had ocean view but roof wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,761
    1,306
    431
    188
    94
See reviews for
250
3,787
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

secrets capri is a smaller version of secrets maroma. i acutally like it better. its charming, staff are wonderful and speak english. everyone is pleasant and personable. ive been to excellence playa mujeres also and i still like capri better. food is excellent, huge pool and a lovely beach. constant serving of drinks on beach and by pool. my every request was fulfilled here. (and if u know me, i have many). work with your concierage (not sure of spelling lol) and take care of that person. the will see u r pampered. mine was socorro. jose luis (manager) was WONDERFUL. i love him. 5th floor oceanfront/view breathtaking. its undescribeable here and i plan to vacation at secrets capri often :o)

Room Tip: ocean front/view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This resort is smaller than a lot of others. It is very nice and pretty. Quite tame as well. It's not that we didn't enjoy the resort but rather the price compared to other resorts. There are several other resorts in the area we have stayed at that are just as nice if not nicer for a lot less. But if money is not the object....you will enjoy this quiant resort. The beach was very very nice. Plenty of nice chairs and huts, umbrellas etc. everywhere. Food was wonderful and the drinks also nice. On Monday night Football they set up a large screen outside with munchies....wings, chips, etc and beer/liquor bar in the area. Nice touch for football fans! It is nice to have kids but it is nicer to get an adult break where there are none. This being an all adult only resort.Not much to do but enjoy each other so this is you if you want some peace and quiet. The Steakhouse had great steaks the first night there......the second time we went for steaks they were grainy and lots of gristle. SO that is a hit or miss....but heck...you can go to the other restaurants! lol
Good luck and have a blast! SECRETS owns Dreams Riviera and it is a lot newer, nicer and much less! Just consider that one instead unless they lower the price.

Room Tip: They wont upgrade you unless you pay more. We tried the tricks....didn't work ! lol BUT you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell,NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We recently returned from our 25th Anniversary Trip to Secrets Capri in Riviera Maya, Mexico. It was a wonderful trip! We booked through Apple vacations and our travel agent and were very happy we did! Our room was upgraded upon check in to a more scenic, ocean view and bigger than we expected. There was a chilling bottle of champage waiting for us when we got to our room along with a Happy Anniversary banner placed on our door and a red rose and chocolates place on our king size bed! Even though the first few days we had rain, there was plenty of things to do and have fun. The food was great, the service was exceptional and there was plenty of great choices for tours through Apple Vacations to please everyone. This is a beautiful resort. We will definitely be back, especially since we won the Newlywed Game and won 3 free days for next year!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod Mass.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We returned last evening from Secrets Capri. Beautiful Hotel, exceptional staff. We went with the Apple Vacations Square Deal, promised a beautiful hotel and we were not let down. We arrived during a tropical depression that lasted 4 days, the hotel did the best they could to keep everyone dry ,happy and amused. The food was good, always something for everyone. The evening entertainment was great, very talented crew. The only negative comment I have about the property is the down stairs lobby waterfall smelled a bit like septic. We would most definitely go back again........ 5 stars !

Room Tip: get a room closer to the beach, but remember there will be noise until 11 pm !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Went 9/22 - 9/25 just to get away - Secrets Capri was perfect. Upgraded to get two double beds (double beds are principally in the ocean front rooms which are at a premium rate) but was worth it to have a top floor room with a balcony overlooking the H20. Huge room, huge beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate shower and toilet stall. They even replaced the mattresses while we were there - I'm a light sleeper and I slept like a rock each night. 1st all inclusive - will definitely do this again. While I'm not a drinker, being able to order whatever, whenever was very liberating. The resort was the perfect size and we could easily walk to wherever we wanted. The pool was always clean and is a very good size - didn't feel overly crowded and always had a palapa. The beach also very nice - not a lot of sea grass, clear warm water, and not crowded at all - just what the doctor ordered. Did water aerobics 2 days, went to the AMAZING spa, and even salsa'd! Entertainment folks were fun but not pushy. Met other nice people from everywhere - while we saw lots of couples, there were other groups of women and guys who came to unwind. Loved the Italian restaurant and the breakfast buffet the best - excellent food and service. Planning to go back as I did exactly what I wanted - a whole bunch of nothing but relax!

Room Tip: When looking at the ocean, rooms to the left are quieter. Top floor oceanfront has 2 double beds, ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Excellent resort. Top quality food. Impeccable service. Would return to the any of the 3 Secrets Resorts in Cancun

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.