We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice I could have made” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Maya
Save
You added Playa Maya to your Saves list
Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best choice I could have made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

My husband and I came to Playa for a week in August. I spent a lot of time reading these boards to try and decide where to stay and what to do. Everyone seemed to really like Playa Maya. It also seemed that there was a lot of repeat business and I love that.

You can't beat the price of Playa Maya...considering $160 was for the best Ocean View rooms that is fantastic. I emailed Steve and he gave us an amazing room on the 3rd floor. (302). It was exactly like the pictures online. The room was spacious and clean with complimentary welcome drinks in the fridge. When we arrived it was early and the room wasn't quite ready yet so we went outside to eat. Now I had read a lot about the food everywhere and I knew that while I was there I would be trying the coconut shrimp and the fish tacos. On day 1 I chose the Coconut Shrimp with a Dos Equiis and my husband had the chicken tacos. The food was amazing! The service was also top notch. Very attentive and friendly.

Throughout the week we sporadically spent time in the beach chairs at Playa Maya and ate lunch or a snack there 4 times. I never had a bad meal. The fish tacos were everything I hoped they were and I really love their Pico De Gallo--so fresh.

The staff was so helpful to us and we got to meet Steve who was really nice and had a lot of great information. I would absolutely stay here again.

I just want to address a couple things people complain about...
The bed.....we loved it. I do not think it is hard at all...makes me wonder if those people are used to super crazy soft beds? We both thought it was great.

The beach in front...yes there are some rocks right in the front..actually great for when you are staring at the ocean...noone is right in front of you! All you had to do was walk about 50-60 feet in either direction and there is completely clear water. My husband did a lot of snorkeling out front and he saw all kinds of stuff including a baby octopus!

I love this place! My ONLY complaint....that the restaurant is not open late enough ! (I will add photos later)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    93
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
85
246
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
queensland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

This was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. I was completely misguided by management,. There are so many better options in this gorgeous part of the world.Make sure you do the research, look at Mosquito Beach or Mosquito Blue better priced and far superior product.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaMaya, Stephen Ryberg, Public Relations Manager at Playa Maya, responded to this review, October 4, 2009
We are happy to respond to these points here on TA just as we have frequently responded to you, the guests, about them directly. There seem to us to be 2 key points to consider.

The first is that we did not mislead you, rather you decided to book the rooms you were later dissatisfied with despite our warnings that those rooms did not fit with your stated preferences. You indicated in your initial request that you might be particularly sensitive to noise issues, and so we immediately suggested you take what was the last arrangement still available for the holiday period in question that would fit with that. You rejected that suggestion (and that's fine!), but we reported that we could in that case only offer you arrangements that might in fact be susceptible to noise, especially for those sensitive to it, given their proximity to our reception area. You later indicated you wanted to proceed with the booking of those arrangements, we reminded you a second time of this concern, but you still indicated you wanted to continue, despite that. In the end a property cannot really just outright refuse to rent available arrangements to a guest in such a situation who insists on going ahead. The unfortunate outcome was your dissatisfaction, just as we predicted it might be.

The second point is simply that, in the end, we refunded you some 425 USD (as you yourself have since verified with us), effectively agreeing to split the difference with you on your eventual on-site cancellation and just eat such a loss, despite both the situation described above and the written terms you agreed to for the booking, and even given that it was a high-demand holiday period when our chances to have rented those arrangements to others were quite good.

The noise issues themselves we of course tried to address but could not get very far with, between the changing nature of your commentary about them (first other guests, then phones, then mechanical noises) and the lack of other input about any such noise issues from other guests we interviewed on site at the time (some of whom were in rooms just as close to reception, and others who were in rooms even closer to it). Furthermore we offered you any alternatives we could on site, but you refused them.

Once again, we are sorry that these issues arose for you, and can only imagine that your stay (here or elsewhere) would have been more comfortable had you not decided to book arrangements we advised you against, in light of your specifically stated preferences. We are at least happy that in the end, we were able to refund you the substantial amount noted above, despite the aforementioned details of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

whilst the location is terrific, the most disappointing hotel stay I have ever had - the noise from reception phone ringing prevented sleep on night 1, then after a full day of correspondence via email with management (on site staff can't help guests with complaints) the room we were moved to had a mechanical noise kicking in every 10 minutes - seriously do not succumb to the pictures on line of an ideal peaceful haven, its the opposite - the only other positive is the lovely staff, they are just not empowered by hotel owner/manager

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaMaya, Public Relations Manager at Playa Maya, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
We are happy to respond to these points here on TA just as we have frequently responded to you, the guests, about them directly. There seem to us to be 2 key points to consider, but neither of which you mention in your review, unfortunately.

The first is that you decided to book the rooms you were later dissatisfied with despite our warnings that those rooms did not fit with your stated preferences. You indicated in your initial request that you might be particularly sensitive to noise issues, and so we immediately suggested you take what was the last arrangement still available for the holiday period in question that would fit with that. You rejected that suggestion (and that's fine!), but we reported that we could in that case only offer you arrangements that might in fact be susceptible to noise, especially for those sensitive to it, given their proximity to our reception area. You later indicated you wanted to proceed with the booking of those arrangements, we reminded you a second time of this concern, but you still indicated you wanted to continue, despite that. In the end a property cannot really just outright refuse to rent available arrangements to a guest in such a situation who insists on going ahead. But the unfortunate outcome was your dissatisfaction, just as we predicted it might be.

The second point is simply that, in the end, we refunded you some 425 USD (as you yourself have since verified with us), effectively agreeing to split the difference with you on your eventual on-site cancellation and just eat such a loss, despite both the situation described above and the written terms you agreed to for the booking, and even given that it was a high-demand holiday period when our chances to have rented those arrangements to others were quite good.

Other details we can add to those 2 key points:
• We corresponded with you via email because you initiated that and seemed to prefer it. We simply complied with your apparent preference, in that regard.
• Our staff on site is most certainly empowered to help guests -- they for example showed and explained to you offers of alternate arrangements, including the one you mention having selected (we didn't just "move you" there) -- however you seemed to feel that you needed to correspond with me directly, rather than with them. So again here we were complying with your preferences.
• The noise issues themselves we of course tried to address but could not get very far with, between the changing nature of your commentary about them (first other guests, then phones, then mechanical noises) and the lack of other input about any such noise issues from other guests we interviewed on site at the time (some of whom were in rooms just as close to reception, and others who were in rooms even closer to it).

Once again, we are sorry that these other issues arose for you, and can only imagine that your stay (here or elsewhere) would have been more comfortable had you not decided to book arrangements we advised you against, in light of your specifically stated preferences. We are at least happy that you found the location and staff to be terrific and lovely, respectively, and that in the end, we were able to refund you the substantial amount noted above, despite the aforementioned details of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

This trip report is long overdue - we stayed at Playa Maya in April 08 and again in August 09. The reservation and booking process was simple and helpful - owner (?) Stephen Ryberg offered prompt replies and was very accommodating. We were thrilled to see Ada and Pablo working the desk again after a year, and they remembered us as well. It says a lot about a hotel that they have such staff loyalty. The rooms are immaculate and all have character and style. I found the beds and pillows to be very comfortable. It's fantastic that they offer a full breakfast, cooked deliciously to order, included in the reasonable room rate. And you can't beat the view from the dining area. The mojitos and fish tacos are also delicious. I also think this hotel has a great location - convenient to either ADO bus station and the ferry, but also close to Quinta and lots of good places to eat and people watch. The best part is that even close to everything, the hotel is very quiet at night. Great small hotel with lots of amenities!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We completely and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely property and hope to come back on our next trip to PDC. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Playa Maya to anyone. The room was perfect and we couldn't believe how beautiful the view was from our unexpectedly upgraded room, absolutely amazing!

Our vacation was everything we had hoped for and more. Playa Maya’s staff were friendly and accommodating, always handy when we needed something but never hovering or intrusive. The property itself is very charming, and one of the most well kept and cleanest hotels we've seen in a long time. The included breakfast was more than continental; I’d say it was a full breakfast with juice, coffee and choice of entrée. Food at the restaurant on the beach is terrific…coconut shrimp are a must try! After breakfast most mornings we simply walked the 10 short steps to the beach chairs and umbrella set up by the staff for us. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful. I cannot honestly think of anything negative to comment on at except we thought it would be nice if the bar area were open in the late evening, as he would have enjoyed a quiet drink there once in a while rather than venturing up to Fifth Avenue.

As for activities, we did absolutely nothing on this trip...it was perfect! We've been to the area several times in the past and have done plenty of tours and such...this trip was for relaxation and I have to say it was a very successful trip thanks to Playa Maya! Our biggest excursion was a walk to El Fagon for tacos one day, very good by the way. We also tried Babe's Noodle Bar and, while the frozen drinks were very good, we did not enjoy the food at all. We had dinner one night at 100% Natural where the food was good but service a bit slow. I have a feeling our food was ready but not served promptly as it was not hot when it arrived. Mosquitos were plentiful in the garden area at 100% Natural especially since we went after dark and after there had been some rain. Certainly can't fault the restaurant for that, just mentioning because and we were sorry we hadn't brought insect repellent. Our favorite restaurant, as usual, is Carboncitos. We have always enjoyed the food there and the dining room has A/C..a definite plus in August!

This was definitely one of the most pleasant relaxing vacations we've enjoyed in a long time. I'm sure we'll be thinking of those days quite often when the cold winds are blowing and the snow starts falling!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I would recommend Playa Maya to anyone visiting Riviera Maya. I learned several years ago how much more interesting it is to stay in a small hotel in Playa del Carmen rather than a generic all inclusive resort but my kids (21, 19, 13) were not convinced. That is until we crossed the short distance of beach and entered Playa Maya. They loved it from that moment on. The hotel itself is clean and very nice. The staff are great and the beach is the place to be. The included breakfast selections are ample and all of the food is very good.The location relative to 5th avenue, the ferry area, 12th (where the bars are), etc can't be beat. The other amazing thing is that it is quiet! That is hard to accomplish that close to 5th Ave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Once again we stayed at Playa Maya, our third time this year, and found the hotel and staff to be every bit what we are looking for when we come to Playa del Carmen. We love the fact that you have to walk in the sand to get to the hotel (they will help you with your bags), and once there, the staff is so accomodating and helpful and so much fun, too. Every room is different, and each has its pluses, depending on what you're looking for. Once we stayed on the third floor and enjoyed a great view of the ocean. The last time we stayed in a bungalow by the pool that has a kitchen. We never used the kitchen however, because the food at Playa Maya is so good for breakfast and lunch. Can't beat it for the price in terms of a small hotel on the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya, a boutique hotel opened in mid-2002, is located right on the beach in Playa del Carmen and just a block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity here. Secluded location makes it a very tranquil property, providing the perfect base for exploring the nightlife of Playa and the wonders of the Mexican Caribbean, including a wealth of scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing activities, archaeological ruins of the ancient Maya at Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza, the eco-parks Tres Rios, Xcaret and Xel-Ha, and Cozumel island and the facilities and attractions of Cancun, under an hour away by ferry and by car, respectively. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.