We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Trip and Counting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Maya
Save
You added Playa Maya to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Third Trip and Counting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I thought , after our third stay at Playa Maya, that I would find someplace else I liked better by virtue of location, etc. Well, I talked to several people and looked around a lot over the last three years and no one could tell me anything to make me think there is a better place for me. This is absolutely the biggest bang for the buck if you want a great location AND beachfront. We now plan on making our once a year trip into a twice a year trip. What I miss most upon returning home is the wonderful (included) breakfast every morning under the palapa, toes in the sand, listening to the waves. Following breakfast we enjoyed the complementary (and comfy) beach loungers with and without an umbrella while watching the beautiful Caribbean and people strolling by. One of the strengths of this place is the staff. The same wonderful people are there to serve you year after year. The service is always friendly, professional and efficient. Our room (301) was similar to other rooms we've had there. It was spacious, spotless and has everything you need. There is ample cabinet and drawer space for storage. Even our luggage was tucked-away and out of sight. There are 80ish cable channels on the wall-mounted flat screen TV. Most are in Spanish but several have English sub-titles and a few are in English. There's a mini-fridge for beer, water, etc. The room safe gave us some piece of mind, but really this a very safe place. There is only one way in and out and there is always someone there to see who is coming in and going out. We took a day trip and came back 10 hour later to discover we had not completely closed our room door. NOTHING was missing. Thanks to all the staff for another great vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    97
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
88
260
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent one week at the hotel and we had a fantastic time: you access the hotel from the beach and it is just perfectly located in playa (we couldn't find a better spot in playa). The staff is so friendly, helpful and they would really make sure you have a good time. Breakfast is good too... And specially nice to have it in front of the sea. I would highly recommand it if you want to have a good time in Mexico !!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just came back from an 8 night stay in the Family Suite. Rooms were great, both balconies with ocean view and nice to have shade over the balcony, otherwise you can't sit out in the blazing sun. Rooms were immaculately clean, spacious, light and airy. AC worked great and bathroom was nice size. Food was consistently great. I had fish tacos everyday for lunch...YUM! Nice breakfast everymorning and the staff would set up our table so that we all directly faced the ocean...they would do this each time we would have breakfast and lunch...they were amazing. Others stated that the location is in the middle of the most crowded beach but it was great becuase we practically sat about 10 feet from the water all day. I can imagine that in high season its much more crowded but in June it was perfect. You can't really swim right in front because its rocky, you have to walk over a bit, but not far. I liked this because we always had a clear water view rather than a bunch of people in the water. When we had a problem with the car rental and they did not show up on time, Dr. Charly offered us his truck for the whole day for free! The car eventually came but we sure did recognize his generosity and caring.

We are planning on returning to Playa next year and would stay nowhere else. We absolutely loved our trip and would highly recommend Playa Maya to anyone who wants a small boutique hotel experience rather than a resort one. It's small, simple and familial experience. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: High floors have great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I like many others chose this hotel due to the many great reviews on tripadvisor and I and my family were not dissapointed. We stayed in the economy suite which consists of two connecting rooms which were most accomodating. The staff was great including front desk girls Yulianna and Maria and the waiters Juan and Jesus were great and had great tips on where to visit and how to get there. Overall the hotel was perfect and I truly thank Mr Ryberg for keeping such a great staff at the hotel. The location was perfect with many restaurants and bars/ clubs to visit close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

On the positive side it was friendly, clean, and affordable. The food was good.

The worst aspect was location. The hotel is situated in the middle of the most crowded beach area of the entire city. It is not accessible by street. The restaurant takes up most of the beachfront, so all beach foot traffic passes right in front of your lounge chair. In this busy area, workers from each hotel try all day to flag down passing people to sit in their section. At night we could hear some level of music/noise in our 3rd floor room until about midnight.

Other negative factors were the sparse rooms. Our A/C went out and we had to move. One of the bathroom window panes was missing, making the bathroom hot and humid. A brief phone call to nearby Cancun cost us $15 US. Overall the hotel was fine, but if you prefer more quiet and elbow room while at the beach, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We chose Playa Maya based on the many positive Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a superior balcony room on the second floor and the room was very large with everything you needed. The A/C, although a bit loud, was very efficient and the mini-fridge was quiet and kept things very cold, including my ice pad for my bothersome knee, which needs icing at various times……oh, and kept the beer nice and cold! The access to bottled water throughout the hotel was very convenient, along with the free daily bottle, too. My wife is very picky regarding cleanliness, so when she checks into any hotel, she has sanitary wipes that she uses to double clean the counters and closet shelves and she could not find any dirt, sand or dust anywhere and this is at a beach hotel! The floors were moped daily and were also amazingly clean. Juan, who handled our room was amazing with his detailed cleanliness along with making sure we had everything we needed – thank you Juan!

The restaurant had very good food right on the beach. The breakfasts were very adequate and the lunches were amazing – the best coconut shrimp we ever had along with excellent Mojitos! Luciano always took extra special care for us and when he was not around, Juan and Jesus did a great job, too. I do not remember the name of the person who handled the beach chairs and umbrellas, but he was always quick to help us out. If I had to find anything on the negative side with Playa Maya, it would be that they invite people who pass by to use the limited beach chairs if they purchase something. One time, we were taking an enjoyable peaceful nap and one of the staff flagged down a large family walking by with kids to sit and they placed them next to us. They brought all of their own food, but ordered a couple buckets of beer, shortly thereafter, we left due to all of the noise. Also on another occasion, we came back from shopping and saw only two chairs open on the beach and we asked a staff member to save it for us because we needed to go back to the room and change. We returned in less than 10 minutes and found that they gave those seats to a couple who were walking by. Now, I understand that the extra revenues help keep the room and food costs down, so it is a fair compromise and on most days, everything turned out okay.

The staff is what helps make Playa Maya very special. At the front desk, Pablo, Juliana and Maria were very helpful with advice and fun to chat with. They always had smiles on their faces and superb attitudes. Pablo even helped carry our heavy luggage up to our room and helped with some transportation conformations. I can’t say enough about how first rate the entire staff is! Thank you Stephen, for putting together such a great staff and also, all of your email correspondences.

Playa Maya is in an excellent location, not far from the ferry docks to Cozumel and one block from the main drag, but located in a unique location that avoids all of the noise. When we return to PDC, it will be partly due to this great little place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chciago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

As always the staff of the Playa Maya exceeded every expectation we had. My husband had just had surgery 4 days prior to our arrival & I was kind of worried how comfortable he could possibly be being at a hotel & not in his own home. Well once again they were beyond accommodating, many pillows to make his sleeps much more comfortable. And as usual, we arrived to a beautifully decorated bed (for our anniversary)! Once again to us it is like our 2nd home, same room (always impeccably clean), same staff (thank god for that cause they are the best in Playa), and the best food & Mango Margaritas! The beach is awesome the chairs are comfortable and you wont find better in all of Playa Del Carmen! Thanks again to Stephen & everyone at the Playa Maya for making our vacation the Best Ever (again)! Mike & Phyllis

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya, a boutique hotel opened in mid-2002, is located right on the beach in Playa del Carmen and just a block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity here. Secluded location makes it a very tranquil property, providing the perfect base for exploring the nightlife of Playa and the wonders of the Mexican Caribbean, including a wealth of scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing activities, archaeological ruins of the ancient Maya at Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza, the eco-parks Tres Rios, Xcaret and Xel-Ha, and Cozumel island and the facilities and attractions of Cancun, under an hour away by ferry and by car, respectively. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.