We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Maya
Save Saved
You added Playa Maya to your Saves list
Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Second time even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at Playa Maya from 3/12-3/22/2012. This was our second stay and was even more perfect than the first.

The original room we wanted was not available for the first few days, so we said we would just stay in the standard room-no problem. Upon arrival, we had been upgraded to the jacuzzi room. What a fantastic surprise!

Our room was always so clean---our cleaning person was in and out before we even noticed and the room always was spotless.

The waitstaff was wonderful and we are still thinking about those shrimp tacos. :)

One thing I want to talk about is how incredible the front desk staff has been to us. Always trying to teach us a little Spanish and going out of their way to always help.

We are returning the same time next year and staying at Playa Maya again!!! Thank you to Steve & all of the staff at Playa Maya!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    93
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
82
244
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Playa Maya Hotel on the beach in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico the end of Jan. 2012. It was our fist stay there and it will not be our last! The rooms were clean and nice, almost all with ocean views!! The staff was extremely nice, all of them always talked to you whenever they saw you, even if it was in another part of town. The food was excellent!! We recommend the coconut shrimp!!! If you are planning on a stay in Playa Del Carmen, please think about this Hotel, well worth cost. The only thing, it is not all inclusive. You get your room, breakfast every morning, and a beach chair every day, but otherwise you have to fend for yourself, but that is not all bad. There are many excellent restuarants in Playa Del Carmen and many are reasonable as long as your set on eating on 5th Avenue. Get off the beaten path and you will far well. Have a great time~!!!
Teresa & Chris

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

When we decided to try to squeeze in a short trip to Mexico this year, there was only one choice for us. Our hearts nearly broke when we were told at first that we wouldn't be able to stay here, but Steve worked with us even though we could only stay 4 nights which is under the minimum for this time of year. He made an exception since we were repeat customers. That is the kind of service you can expect from everyone at Playa Maya.

When we got there, our room wasn't quite ready, so we went to the beach for lunch. We sat down, our waiter came over, and said, "I remember you. You stayed here two years ago!" Unbelievable!!

This time we stayed in the jacuzzi garden. I loved the garden area, and the whirlpool tub was very relaxing after an exhausting day on the beach! The room was beautiful, quiet, and clean beyond belief. My husband loved the room too, but he admits he missed the superior balcony we had last time because he loves to sit on the balcony and watch the waves at night.

Every part of our stay was fabulous...the room, the food, the drinks, and most of all the people. They really do go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. It was very reassuring to return to our room after strolling 5th Avenue in the evening to have a security guard checking your room key to be sure you belonged there.

I can't really say anything else that hasn't already been said about this place. I do know that we won't stay anywhere else when we come to PDC. You have got to give this place a try!

Room Tip: Both the Jacuzzi Garden and the Superior Balcony are great rooms...just depends if you want ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The previous 4 or 5 reviewers all stayed at Playa Maya around the same time we were there, it seems, and everything they said has been true for a very long time! This was our 8th stay there, 4 for 2 weeks and 4 for 3 weeks, so with 20 weeks spent there now, I can advise you that much hasn't changed in 8 years, and the things that have were small and evolutionary, addressing the most-often voiced complaints.

What is there to like about Playa Maya? First, and foremost, the staff! Many of them are long-time employees and you can't beat the feeling of landing on the beach at the foot of 8th street to be greeted by a round of handshakes and hugs as they grab the bags. Watching them day after day, they truly seem to be one big happy family. They eat lunch together in the afternoons and the restautrant is often filled with laughter. Long-time employees are the essence of consistent delivery.

Along with that, the rooms are generous, the housekeeping is top notch, the food is amongst the best in Playa del Carmen, there is always a beach chair waiting for you, the service never stops and you are right around the corner from all that Playa del Carmen has to offer. And, just enough around the corner to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep while the disco's boom a few blocks away.

There are a few things some won't like:
only beach access, so kick off your shoes on 8th Street
built-in StairMaster (it's 58 steps from the beach to the third floor, but I happen to like that)
dipping pool, so no Olympic practice available

With another 3-week stay concluded and next year's already booked, what more is there to say.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We just returned from our 1st trip to Playa del Carmen and can't say enough about our stay at Playa Maya. The location is great and the hotel is safe, very clean and well maintained. Bathrooms are modern with good water pressure and the AC works well. We had a flat screen TV in the two rooms we stayed in. We had to change rooms mid-week due to availability and for us, the jacuzzi room with no view turned out to be our favorite. (The other room we stayed in was Studio A near the pool which has a queen bed and trundle as well as a table for 4 and kitchen area which is probably perfect for a family or someone who doesnt want stairs ) the jacuzzzi room was oversized, the king-size bed was comfortable and the bathroom and shower were pretty large.After a day in the sun, we enjoyed having our own private garden room open to the sky but shaded by trees. It gave us privacy and a place to sit outside our room which was perfect if one of us was sleeping etc. We were also able to sit outside when it rained. There is always a place available to lounge on the beach and the staff is nearby to assist if you need anything whether it's an umbrella, a drink or lunch.They don't push - they just keep an eye on things and appear when you need help. Breakfast on the beach is included and delicious. Lunch couldn't be beat either so why go elsewhere -- we never left the beach during the day. The staff is excellent and helped with anything we needed. When we first arrived, they simply appeared to carry our luggage across the beach to the hotel since Calle 8 deadends at the beach. Although this not a fancy luxury resort hotel, you will have everything you need and more. The refigerator was stocked with some drinks for our enjoyment and a large bottle of water was delivered daily. It is a testament to Playa Maya that most guests were repeat customers and the staff mentioned their goal was to make sure we relaxed and enjoyed our stay so we would come back -- they've got it right IMO. The hotel is one block from all the action on 5th Ave and we enjoyed walking and people watching each night after trying different restaurants. For transportation, we relied on Cancun Shuttle as recommended by the hotel and had no problems - we did call to confirm a meeting spot when they picked us up at the end of our stay since there is no car access to the hotel and we didn't want any problems getting to the airport. It worked out perfectly. We will definitely return to Playa Maya and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: If you like privacy and can forgo a view, the jacuzzi room is great. The stairs are manageable if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here over New Year in a family interconnecting room for 7 nights.It was lovely and clean with very friendly staff.Close to Calle 5 but very quiet once you step off the main street.We came from Australia to enjoy this and we certainly did.Look foreward to staying at Playa Maya again one day.Oh did I mention the weather was beautiful and also all the off the beaten track restaurants we found as we wandered off the main area.Fabulous holiday had by all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazeppa, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

10) One block from 5th Avenue...close to the action yet quiet at night.
You are no more than a few blocks from the best restaurants and shopping.
9) Friendly security guard on duty by the only entrance all night
...with nothing to do all night -- the whole area feels safer than an airport
8) Small and intimate -- feels like you are coming home after having dinner in Playa.
7) Did I mention the only entrance is from the beach -- how quaint is that?
6) Most of the guests are return visitors -- what does that tell you about the place?
5) Great beach and beach chairs (padded chaise lounges)
The beach HAS washed out quite a bit from 2011, but still plenty of room
4) Spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained
The staff are constantly cleaning, painting, scrubbing, sweeping.
The property in immaculate and they still find things to do
3) Wonderful breakfasts (included) under the palapas on the beach at 8:00 AM
2) Great lunch menu served on tables under the palapas, or on your beach chairs
Lift one finger and the waiters and cabana boys are right there.
1) Fantastic staff -- the waiters, cooks, housekeepers, desk staff, and cabana boys are the friendliest, happiest, and most appreciative we've found anywhere...and the same staff are here year after year -- what does that tell you about this being a great place to stay and to work.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya, a boutique hotel opened in mid-2002, is located right on the beach in Playa del Carmen and just a block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity here. Secluded location makes it a very tranquil property, providing the perfect base for exploring the nightlife of Playa and the wonders of the Mexican Caribbean, including a wealth of scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing activities, archaeological ruins of the ancient Maya at Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza, the eco-parks Tres Rios, Xcaret and Xel-Ha, and Cozumel island and the facilities and attractions of Cancun, under an hour away by ferry and by car, respectively. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.