We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Maya
Save Saved
You added Playa Maya to your Saves list
Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 200 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Consistent excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The previous 4 or 5 reviewers all stayed at Playa Maya around the same time we were there, it seems, and everything they said has been true for a very long time! This was our 8th stay there, 4 for 2 weeks and 4 for 3 weeks, so with 20 weeks spent there now, I can advise you that much hasn't changed in 8 years, and the things that have were small and evolutionary, addressing the most-often voiced complaints.

What is there to like about Playa Maya? First, and foremost, the staff! Many of them are long-time employees and you can't beat the feeling of landing on the beach at the foot of 8th street to be greeted by a round of handshakes and hugs as they grab the bags. Watching them day after day, they truly seem to be one big happy family. They eat lunch together in the afternoons and the restautrant is often filled with laughter. Long-time employees are the essence of consistent delivery.

Along with that, the rooms are generous, the housekeeping is top notch, the food is amongst the best in Playa del Carmen, there is always a beach chair waiting for you, the service never stops and you are right around the corner from all that Playa del Carmen has to offer. And, just enough around the corner to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep while the disco's boom a few blocks away.

There are a few things some won't like:
only beach access, so kick off your shoes on 8th Street
built-in StairMaster (it's 58 steps from the beach to the third floor, but I happen to like that)
dipping pool, so no Olympic practice available

With another 3-week stay concluded and next year's already booked, what more is there to say.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    93
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
81
244
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We just returned from our 1st trip to Playa del Carmen and can't say enough about our stay at Playa Maya. The location is great and the hotel is safe, very clean and well maintained. Bathrooms are modern with good water pressure and the AC works well. We had a flat screen TV in the two rooms we stayed in. We had to change rooms mid-week due to availability and for us, the jacuzzi room with no view turned out to be our favorite. (The other room we stayed in was Studio A near the pool which has a queen bed and trundle as well as a table for 4 and kitchen area which is probably perfect for a family or someone who doesnt want stairs ) the jacuzzzi room was oversized, the king-size bed was comfortable and the bathroom and shower were pretty large.After a day in the sun, we enjoyed having our own private garden room open to the sky but shaded by trees. It gave us privacy and a place to sit outside our room which was perfect if one of us was sleeping etc. We were also able to sit outside when it rained. There is always a place available to lounge on the beach and the staff is nearby to assist if you need anything whether it's an umbrella, a drink or lunch.They don't push - they just keep an eye on things and appear when you need help. Breakfast on the beach is included and delicious. Lunch couldn't be beat either so why go elsewhere -- we never left the beach during the day. The staff is excellent and helped with anything we needed. When we first arrived, they simply appeared to carry our luggage across the beach to the hotel since Calle 8 deadends at the beach. Although this not a fancy luxury resort hotel, you will have everything you need and more. The refigerator was stocked with some drinks for our enjoyment and a large bottle of water was delivered daily. It is a testament to Playa Maya that most guests were repeat customers and the staff mentioned their goal was to make sure we relaxed and enjoyed our stay so we would come back -- they've got it right IMO. The hotel is one block from all the action on 5th Ave and we enjoyed walking and people watching each night after trying different restaurants. For transportation, we relied on Cancun Shuttle as recommended by the hotel and had no problems - we did call to confirm a meeting spot when they picked us up at the end of our stay since there is no car access to the hotel and we didn't want any problems getting to the airport. It worked out perfectly. We will definitely return to Playa Maya and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: If you like privacy and can forgo a view, the jacuzzi room is great. The stairs are manageable if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here over New Year in a family interconnecting room for 7 nights.It was lovely and clean with very friendly staff.Close to Calle 5 but very quiet once you step off the main street.We came from Australia to enjoy this and we certainly did.Look foreward to staying at Playa Maya again one day.Oh did I mention the weather was beautiful and also all the off the beaten track restaurants we found as we wandered off the main area.Fabulous holiday had by all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazeppa, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

10) One block from 5th Avenue...close to the action yet quiet at night.
You are no more than a few blocks from the best restaurants and shopping.
9) Friendly security guard on duty by the only entrance all night
...with nothing to do all night -- the whole area feels safer than an airport
8) Small and intimate -- feels like you are coming home after having dinner in Playa.
7) Did I mention the only entrance is from the beach -- how quaint is that?
6) Most of the guests are return visitors -- what does that tell you about the place?
5) Great beach and beach chairs (padded chaise lounges)
The beach HAS washed out quite a bit from 2011, but still plenty of room
4) Spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained
The staff are constantly cleaning, painting, scrubbing, sweeping.
The property in immaculate and they still find things to do
3) Wonderful breakfasts (included) under the palapas on the beach at 8:00 AM
2) Great lunch menu served on tables under the palapas, or on your beach chairs
Lift one finger and the waiters and cabana boys are right there.
1) Fantastic staff -- the waiters, cooks, housekeepers, desk staff, and cabana boys are the friendliest, happiest, and most appreciative we've found anywhere...and the same staff are here year after year -- what does that tell you about this being a great place to stay and to work.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

After many years of vacations on the (quite beautiful) resorts that dot the Riviera Maya, we decided to break out this year and vacation on our own terms. A lucky reservation cancellation landed us a room (two different rooms, actually - we changed rooms midweek by choice) at the Playa Maya during the week of February 17. Who knew that we had secured a reservation at what is undoubtedly one of the finest (and very likely the finest small) hotel in Playa del Carmen?!!

My husband and I have agreed that the week we spent in Playa del Carmen was the best vacation that we have had in the 15 years we have been together - and our stay at the Playa Maya absolutely played a major part in our experience.

A staff that caters to their guests generally defines the quality of a hotel stay, and there are simply not enough superlatives to describe all of the staff that served our every want and need while we stayed. They are generous with their time and attention, and cheerful and gregarious with their interactions with their guests. If you stay, you will immediately recognize the following: "FrontDesk" Pedro, Julianna, Maria, "Bar Pedro," Rasael, Carla, Carlos, the "Juans"... The cleaning staff is marvelously efficient; the beach crew is every bit attentive as everyone else.

This is a small hotel, and it felt like home. We stayed in the Jacuzzi Garden room and in a Deluxe Balcony with Hammock room - and the accommodations were completely satisfying. We feel quite sure that we could have stayed in any of the rooms at the hotel and have been equally pleased. We met many wonderful people on the beach, hopefully linking to long-term relationships. As others have noted, the breakfast that is part of the lodging fee is more than sufficient. Both breakfast and lunch menus are extensive - and the food is great! And the drinks that they serve up are no "resort" watered-down beverages, either.

We also tip our hat to Stephen Ryeberg who has put together such a wonderful staff - and who was also so attentive to all of the emails I sent, answering all of my questions and making suggestions in an amazingly quick response-time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The staff are really friendly and helpful. This is our first time at playa Maya and definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our first time going non-AI in this area, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed for 11 nights in February 2012. Playa Maya is in a fantastic location, and it had a nice home-away-from-home feel to it. Noise was never a problem. I was worried about this, given the central location. I am a light sleeper, and I could hear some bass from Fusion during the night, but it was not enough to keep me awake. We were right close to all the action on 5th Ave and never had to walk far to find a great restaurant, or even just to pick up a mid-day gelato. There was a security guard who would ask for our room number each evening when we returned to the hotel from dinner. Cleanliness was excellent. The staff were all very pleasant. At the beach, Juan, Jesus and Lucio were attentive and pleasant at all times. Juan would even notice when I was trying to adjust my lounger, and would come and lend a hand! At the same time, they were never intrusive. We visited Mamita’s beach club and Wicky’s, but we liked the staff best at Playa Maya, and found the loungers more comfortable too. Food was very reasonably priced, in my opinion. Beer was $20 pesos (cheaper than water). Cocktails varied, but were very large and ones I tried were in the $60 to $70 pesos range. Some of the items we enjoyed included mango margaritas, pina coladas, coconut shrimp, chicken tacos, nachos, guac and chips with fresh pico de gallo, chicken strips and fries (for our daughter). Hamburgers were average. There is a small pool, which was never busy. I personally prefer the beach, but our daughter also liked the pool. It is 4 feet deep at the deepest end, so enough for her to swim in a bit. There was also a sitting area above the pool. There was usually someone at the front desk, and they were all willing to help with any questions we had; Pablo even walked with us to the store where we bought a phone card that didn’t work, to help us get a refund. Each morning there was a pot of coffee at the front desk and a bowl of packaged granola bars and/or cookies for guests to take. There are umbrellas for guest use too – something we found out after buying one for $15 US!

Throughout the booking process, and my many questions! Stephen was very quick at responding.

We stayed in room 304, a “Superior Ocean View” for most of our visit, and then in room 105, a “Jacuzzi Garden” room. I will give a bit of a comparison of the rooms:

Superior Ocean View had a small balcony with two chairs and a nice ocean view. We made use of the small coffee pot and mini fridge, which was always stocked with water. There was plenty of space in the room. The bathroom was nice – a bit small, but with a large shower – never a problem with water temperature, though the pressure was poor (we often find this in Mexico). Air conditioning was excellent. I would definitely stay in this room type again. The view was just like the photos on the website.

Jacuzzi Garden was large and lovely. The outdoor area is very nice, completely private with a fabulous large Jacuzzi tub surrounded by white curtains and a little bistro table and chairs. This would be a wonderful honeymoon suite. Due to the privacy of the room, however, you cannot see outside at all. For our purposes, we preferred the Ocean View room overall, because we liked having the ocean view.

What we liked the most, overall:
1) The beautiful beach!! And we never had a problem getting loungers, even if we slept in.
2) The delicious breakfast! My favourite choice was waffles with bacon, fresh tropical fruit, juice and coffee. We loved having our toes in the sand and watching the waves while having a leisurely breakfast.
3) The staff, including Stephen during the booking process.

The only negative I can think of is that beach towels were not available until about 9:30 or 10 a.m., so if you are an early riser this may be a nuisance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya, a boutique hotel opened in mid-2002, is located right on the beach in Playa del Carmen and just a block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity here. Secluded location makes it a very tranquil property, providing the perfect base for exploring the nightlife of Playa and the wonders of the Mexican Caribbean, including a wealth of scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing activities, archaeological ruins of the ancient Maya at Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza, the eco-parks Tres Rios, Xcaret and Xel-Ha, and Cozumel island and the facilities and attractions of Cancun, under an hour away by ferry and by car, respectively. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.