We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Maya
Save
You added Playa Maya to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER UP TO $500 OFF!
Ranked #19 of 204 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The best way to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We loved our stay at Playa Maya. This is a hotel where people care about their jobs and strive to do well. And they are wonderful. Let me share some additional information.
This is a quaint hotel located in the middle of the beach between the gran Porto all inclusive, and the pier. There is a very small pool, but if you are a "pool person" do not come here. This is a hotel for beach travelers.
The rooms are very clean, a small refrigerator, safe, closet, shower, tv, view. Large and comfy beds.
There are two bars a couple of doors down on either side so if a light sleeper you may hear some noise. I did, but it wasn't a problem and there were many older travelers here so it's not a nightclub atmosphere just on saturday night you may hear something. More like really mellow, to each their own, be polite and not a big party type. We met great people.
Food is excellent too many great restaurants around, but I recommend ceviche, guacamole, grouper fresh fish filet.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite is in lower level and is very private with no view. We stayed in standard balcony love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank citygirlcountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Playa Maya is a brilliant little hotel. we came back for the second time recently, and if anything, it was even better than before. It is right on the beach - any closer to the water it would have to be a submarine. breakfast is great, the staff are lovely, the beers are cold.
its only 100 m walk to anenida quinta, the main drag in playa del carmen. And although the bar/restaurant closes early (no dinner), this keeps the place quiet, and a 50 m walk along the beach gets you to Fusion, a fabulous beach bar with outstanding food, so you get the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: deluxe balcony give you a brilliant view of the caribbean, and a sunrise worth getting up for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The food here is great - we ate lunch here 3 times over our 6 day trip. I highly recommend the fish tacos and their fresh pico de gallo and hot sauce. The staff members were all super friendly as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hake0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is our third time returning to Playa Maya and we love this hotel. Not only is the location fabulous (it's in a central location in Playa Del Carmen directly on the beach) but it's the staff that make this place special. From the time that you arrive until the time that you leave you're treated like family. The beach crew, the waiters, the front desk staff and the housekeeping crew all go the extra yard for your benefit. For the twenty one days that we've stayed there over the past three years we've not had a single bad experience associated with the hotel or the staff. Quite the contrary, every day brings a new and pleasant surprise that will bring us back the following year. A few of the faces change over time, but whoever is making the personnel decisions knows what they're doing. The regulars remember you and make sure that your preferences are satisfied. Special acknowledgements to Maria, Julianna, Pablo, Sergio, Jesus and Lucio (sorry if we forgot some of the other names). Some "don't miss items" on the lunch menu: Fish Tacos and the Seafood Ceviche (beware the spicy green sauce, HOT!). The margaritas are pretty good also. We just got back Monday and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We don't spend a lot of time in the room so the balcony isn't that important. If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BeachDLT-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I am a single 53 yr. old woman that traveled to Playa del Carmen last August and stayed at the Playa Maya Hotel. This was my 3rd stay at the hotel but my first stay alone and I will definitely return summer of 2012! I felt 100% safe traveling and staying alone in Mexico and at this hotel. The staff is unbelievably friendly and professional. The food is wonderful and the drinks great! I stayed in a standard room and it was kept immaculate by the maid that came everyday, leaving cute towel art on the spare bed. I would go down every morning and have the complementary breakfast either on my lounge chair or under the palapa. The complementary breakfast was a full breakfast, not toast and coffee but you could have that too if that's all you want. I would meet up with a group in the evenings and we would go to dinner etc. Every night when I came back to the hotel, the guard would be right there by the gate and after the first night he recognized me and remembered what room number I was in so that made me feel like they were really keeping a close eye on things! Looking forward to making reservations for summer 2012 as soon as I decide when I want to travel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HonestTraveler1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is our second visit and we were just as happy as the first time around. Playa Maya is a small hotel where the staff truly do their best to make your stay perfect. Everyone is very friendly, the service is top notch. The hotel itself is clean and the food is awesome! The location of the hotel is basically right around the corner form all the action on 5th avenue so you can either enjoy a quiet evening on the beach or walk up the road and get lost in all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stacbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Playa Maya is situated on the beach right ahead of 5th Ave so perfect for beach time during the day and walking along 5th at night. The beach is perfectly clear of boats and there is an open swimming area which is great because I don't like the roped off swim areas. El Taj which is a luxury condo hotel just one hotel over, has a roped off area for boats so the people staying there don't really have direct access to the water. The rooms at Playa Maya are simple, clean and pretty big. Breakfast is included and there is a mini pool which is pretty much for hanging out with a drink. Staff is friendly and they offer cheap laundry service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AgieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#34 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#44 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#45 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#22 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condominiums Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condom...
#6 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
#12 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing