We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Maya
Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The best way to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We loved our stay at Playa Maya. This is a hotel where people care about their jobs and strive to do well. And they are wonderful. Let me share some additional information.
This is a quaint hotel located in the middle of the beach between the gran Porto all inclusive, and the pier. There is a very small pool, but if you are a "pool person" do not come here. This is a hotel for beach travelers.
The rooms are very clean, a small refrigerator, safe, closet, shower, tv, view. Large and comfy beds.
There are two bars a couple of doors down on either side so if a light sleeper you may hear some noise. I did, but it wasn't a problem and there were many older travelers here so it's not a nightclub atmosphere just on saturday night you may hear something. More like really mellow, to each their own, be polite and not a big party type. We met great people.
Food is excellent too many great restaurants around, but I recommend ceviche, guacamole, grouper fresh fish filet.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite is in lower level and is very private with no view. We stayed in standard balcony love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    90
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
80
238
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Playa Maya is a brilliant little hotel. we came back for the second time recently, and if anything, it was even better than before. It is right on the beach - any closer to the water it would have to be a submarine. breakfast is great, the staff are lovely, the beers are cold.
its only 100 m walk to anenida quinta, the main drag in playa del carmen. And although the bar/restaurant closes early (no dinner), this keeps the place quiet, and a 50 m walk along the beach gets you to Fusion, a fabulous beach bar with outstanding food, so you get the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: deluxe balcony give you a brilliant view of the caribbean, and a sunrise worth getting up for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The food here is great - we ate lunch here 3 times over our 6 day trip. I highly recommend the fish tacos and their fresh pico de gallo and hot sauce. The staff members were all super friendly as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is our third time returning to Playa Maya and we love this hotel. Not only is the location fabulous (it's in a central location in Playa Del Carmen directly on the beach) but it's the staff that make this place special. From the time that you arrive until the time that you leave you're treated like family. The beach crew, the waiters, the front desk staff and the housekeeping crew all go the extra yard for your benefit. For the twenty one days that we've stayed there over the past three years we've not had a single bad experience associated with the hotel or the staff. Quite the contrary, every day brings a new and pleasant surprise that will bring us back the following year. A few of the faces change over time, but whoever is making the personnel decisions knows what they're doing. The regulars remember you and make sure that your preferences are satisfied. Special acknowledgements to Maria, Julianna, Pablo, Sergio, Jesus and Lucio (sorry if we forgot some of the other names). Some "don't miss items" on the lunch menu: Fish Tacos and the Seafood Ceviche (beware the spicy green sauce, HOT!). The margaritas are pretty good also. We just got back Monday and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We don't spend a lot of time in the room so the balcony isn't that important. If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I am a single 53 yr. old woman that traveled to Playa del Carmen last August and stayed at the Playa Maya Hotel. This was my 3rd stay at the hotel but my first stay alone and I will definitely return summer of 2012! I felt 100% safe traveling and staying alone in Mexico and at this hotel. The staff is unbelievably friendly and professional. The food is wonderful and the drinks great! I stayed in a standard room and it was kept immaculate by the maid that came everyday, leaving cute towel art on the spare bed. I would go down every morning and have the complementary breakfast either on my lounge chair or under the palapa. The complementary breakfast was a full breakfast, not toast and coffee but you could have that too if that's all you want. I would meet up with a group in the evenings and we would go to dinner etc. Every night when I came back to the hotel, the guard would be right there by the gate and after the first night he recognized me and remembered what room number I was in so that made me feel like they were really keeping a close eye on things! Looking forward to making reservations for summer 2012 as soon as I decide when I want to travel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is our second visit and we were just as happy as the first time around. Playa Maya is a small hotel where the staff truly do their best to make your stay perfect. Everyone is very friendly, the service is top notch. The hotel itself is clean and the food is awesome! The location of the hotel is basically right around the corner form all the action on 5th avenue so you can either enjoy a quiet evening on the beach or walk up the road and get lost in all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Playa Maya is situated on the beach right ahead of 5th Ave so perfect for beach time during the day and walking along 5th at night. The beach is perfectly clear of boats and there is an open swimming area which is great because I don't like the roped off swim areas. El Taj which is a luxury condo hotel just one hotel over, has a roped off area for boats so the people staying there don't really have direct access to the water. The rooms at Playa Maya are simple, clean and pretty big. Breakfast is included and there is a mini pool which is pretty much for hanging out with a drink. Staff is friendly and they offer cheap laundry service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#9 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Romantic, Resta...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#13 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Acanto Boutique Hotel
#7 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Luxury, R...
Show More
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
10.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Restaurant, Bea...
Show More
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 8,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: Playa del Carmen, Q Roo 77710, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya, a boutique hotel opened in mid-2002, is located right on the beach in Playa del Carmen and just a block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity here. Secluded location makes it a very tranquil property, providing the perfect base for exploring the nightlife of Playa and the wonders of the Mexican Caribbean, including a wealth of scuba diving, snorkeling and fishing activities, archaeological ruins of the ancient Maya at Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza, the eco-parks Tres Rios, Xcaret and Xel-Ha, and Cozumel island and the facilities and attractions of Cancun, under an hour away by ferry and by car, respectively. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Maya to your Saves list