We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it - good for insomniacs who love loud eurotrash” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Costa del Mar
Calle 1 Norte Entre 10 Y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it - good for insomniacs who love loud eurotrash”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights $100 per night which we thought was fabulous considering the water view. In fairness, were warned that the front room would be noisy because of the Blue Parrot nightclub, but thought it'd be fine anyway as we would be out those nights ourselves. In honesty, our warning was an understatement, and it did not matter which room we were put in, the noise from the club was much worse than we realised it would be. This hotel should really be $60 per night at the absolute most in comparing other hotels around with the same facilities but without the noise.
We found much nicer hotels a couple blocks down, cheaper and on the same block as the water. I really recommend not staying anywhere within 2 blocks north or south of the nightclub.
Other than the nightclub noise, this is very basic lodging. Kind of a shitte hole really. No Wifi either. Shop around first theres plenty way better options.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    21
    12
    20
See reviews for
12
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosillo, Sonora
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Since this hotel is right on the party scene the noise wont let you fall asleep unless you go to bed at 7 am. The rooms are quite dirty and poorly kept. It all depends on whether you mind the noise and the dirt. Good option if you are to stay for one or two nights and plan on going out late. The staff was friendly. Don't even think of putting a finger inside the pool because you might catch something.

Room Tip: Loud music from the clubs anywhere you stay till 7am or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, the hotel outside looks pretty, small, colorful and few steps from the beach and from the 5a Av, this is TheParty Place to Be, if you are planning to go to sleep after 4am, because it's located almost next door to the biggest party places in town, If your are looking for a cheap hotel and sleep during the day time this is the hotel for you!
Besides that, rooms are old and dirty, our room was dirty and smelly, we even had to chase a cockroach inside the room and around the bed when they gave us the room !!
And same as most of the reviews I read before.. they didn't have our reservation, until a few screams and calls they "found" It !!
Not Good ... It's worth what you pay for. I Do Not recommend iT!

Room Tip: there aren't any good rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst "hotel" I've ever seen!
We were supposed to stay here for two weeks but allready the first meget we checked in to a hotel next door! The room wasn't cleaned, there were fungus in the shower and also a glass of water with mold in it! I actually cried when we arrived. We would probably get chlamydia or something worse if we used the bed sheets. We changed hotel the next day, no matter what we had to pay!
To rate this "hotel" with the character 1 is actually too generious!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The biggest problem we had is that it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep because of the really loud music. I understand that it's expected due to its location (very close to clubs) but they could've mention it in their site or something. The music stopped around 6am everyday. To make things worse, there were some repairs been made in the hotel and they were also very loud, around 9am. I couldn't get some decent sleep during our stay. I had to take naps during the afternoons.

Second complain is that the TV was small and almost all channels had static, so you couldn't watch almost anything.

If you're a traveler that plan to stay up all night in clubs and want something cheap, then it might suit you. For us, it was terrible, because we wanted to relax and have fun.

Room Tip: Don't come to this hotel if you plan to get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Been there in march, the website was very deceiving and the place looked pretty on the Internet...I was surprised that agoda recommended that! As soon as I entered the room we were hit and almost killed by the stinking smell coming from the toilet! We were exhausted but the shower was soo filty and he towels were stained with blood-like stains... We couldn't even wash our teeth because the water coming from the tap was dark brown, the bedding Watson disgu stung that we slept in our own clothes and had to put some clothes under our heads... The was no management on site and we were welcome by a very drunk and dodgy person who just pick our keys and took us to this awful place in the middle of the street. The hotel was very noisy and could only recommend it to teen pack packers who don't mind sleeping rough or on the floor. Indeed sleeping on the beach have been the best bet! We run away the next day and ended our holiday in wonderful Kimbe just few blocks away! Do not go there!!!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were in Mexico already, we did not have a room for the last 4 days of our trip. We used one of the popular websites, and chose this one. Booking was no problem. We chose this for the beach location, and one of our group had not been to Playa before and wanted the whole 'experience'. We arrived about 8:30 pm. The driveway in is very narrow for the jeep. We unloaded our luggage into the 2 rooms closest to the road. Opened the door and immediately we were hit with the stench of mildew. The bedding was unfit for the Salvation Army, the room was not clean. The women of our group were appalled at this. If I had known, we would never have booked this place. This hotel is not for anyone but the spring break kids. People who have no preference to cleanliness, and comfort. We did not stay. We ended up at a lovely resort instead for the final days of our trip. If they invested in this property, it could be a gem. We can only imagine how nice it once was, perhaps 20 years ago. Pass this one by.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa del Mar

Address: Calle 1 Norte Entre 10 Y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Costa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Del Mar Hotel
Costa Del Mar Playa Carmen
Hotel Costa Del Mar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.