We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Coco Bay - Pleasant and Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Coco Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef Coco Beach to your Saves list
The Reef Coco Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lote 1 Mza.7 de la Region 6, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico (Formerly Grand Coco Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Super Spa Deal
Ranked #123 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Grand Coco Bay - Pleasant and Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were at GCB last January. Our 12th trip to the area, 3rd to Playa Del Carmen.
This resort is great for its category - it is a 3.5 star, and doesn't claim to be a 5 star, so certain expectations that some reviewers do not find are unreasonable, especially for the price.
The Pros are far outnumber the Cons at Grand Coco Bay, even compared to many 5*.
Lobby is not grand, it is small but very comfortable and very clean, with nice bar area, plenty of seating and internet. 15 minute walk, or 3 minute, $4 cab ride to Fifth Avenue.
Buildings are dated and simple, but in a good, clean shape.
Rooms are smaller but very clean, have balconies, got everything we need, easy quick access to pool, beach and restaurants. We don't find having a huge room on a vacation a huge asset - convenience of access to amenities is far more important for us. We are there to sleep, wash and change, that's all.
For a 3.5 star buffet, food quality is excellent. Beats most 5* megaresorts. The views from the buffet restaurant beats most resorts - you are literally by the sand. Snack bar at the pool is a hit with our kids, sandwiches are outstanding - they have a variety, just ask. The 2 restaurants are very good, the service and quality. So they don't have 12 restaurants, but it is a small resort and service is more personal.
Beach area is narrow, but very clean and swimming is outstanding due to calm water and moderate depth. There are boats by the beach, they are at least few hundred feet away and no bother to us. This beach has the clearest water in Playa.
Pool is clean and nice. We didn’t spend anytime there – we prefer beach – but others were enjoying it and swim-up bar was popular.
One major con – the loungers need to be replaced or repaired. For the most part, they are filthy and falling apart. If management is reading this, please take note – many folks complain about it.
Overall, it is a great smaller resort with a lot to offer. If you are looking for a huge 5* where all you do is walk from place to place, this may be a disappointment. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: If you need adjoining access rooms, ask when checking in - they have them and will accomodate. Lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Appreciated Mosaic,

We really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our Resort.

Thank you for recommending Grand Coco Bay. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime.

Best regards
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    869
    353
    204
    170
See reviews for
467
772
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

WE Vacationed APRIL 10-17 2012. WE LOVED IT.
after reading reviews before we left i was very curious and a little scared. BUT after going i've determined that some people you just can't make happy OR they have very bad luck!!
Check IN WAS A BREEZE, BARTENDERS AND SERVERS WERE ALL GREAT!! GABRIELLA WAS OUR FAVORITE...SHE WORKED BREAKFAST and lunch. the maid and room service were good. EVERYTHING WAS JUST PLAIN EASY...WHAT A VACATION SHOULD BE...RELAXING!!!!

IF i had to pick something that needs improving it would be the water pressure IN THE SHOWER. My traveling companions found THE BEDS TO BE TOO HARD...i liked the beds.



My personal highlight of the week was holding a monkey!!!
Everyday at the hotel there's a different animal you can hold and be photographed with. PARROTS, IGUANAS, TOUCAN, MONKEY....AWESOME!

Room Tip: OUR ROOM WAS #2438. IT WAS GREAT!! king bed, good ac, 4th floor, ocean view by chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear M1,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your friends at Grand Coco Bay. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities, even more we are happy to know that we exceed your expectations, being this one our constant goal.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Coco Bay.

Kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just vacationed here with 4 other couples, all in their late 20's and early 30's. We've all done our share of all-inclusive resorts; sandals, dreams, riu. This resort was really lacking in many areas. Our king size room reminded me of a broom closet. The bed was extremely hard and the pillows were unbearable. The shower had almost no water pressure and the water was luke warm at best. The television never worked properly and the remote control which the front desk checks out to you never worked!

Workout facility is really lacking. Old weights and no treadmills. Only cardio equipment is an old bike. Bring headphones and a cross-fit workout.

The resort only has 2 reservation restaurants. Both had decent meals/desserts.

The resort is the furthest away from 5th Ave. so a taxi ride is 5 - 6 bucks. We walked to town on the street and the beach and never had a problem.

Definately pay the money and go to the CoCo Bongo show! Worth every penny!!!! You can book with a rep at the resort by the pool.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Tjsoup,

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback regarding your stay at Grand Coco Bay. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

All the points that you mentioned has been brought to the attention of the involved departments. We will seriously consider your observations.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and it was good! It was a bit boring in the evenings but we always found something to do:)The activity people were great at entertaining during the day!! Miriam and Lesley were great with our kids!!!Food was good but by the 7 th day we were ready for a change-we did eat out in Playa Del Carmen one night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Megell,

We really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor. All our staff is happy to know that you and your family had a good vacation at Grand Coco Bay, it is our constant goal to satisfy all of our clients expectations.

We look forward you to return and visit us again thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Coco Bay.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

When we arrived at Grand Coco Bay, there was a bell boy there ready to help us right away (brought us champagne and brought our luggage to our room, general information at front desk, etc.). Carlos, Angel, Cristian, Eduardo and the girls (the pool staff) were awesome, hilarious, always had you in a great mood and held amazing entertainment shows and fun activities. The food was very good and the restaurant staff was excellent and extremely nice, especially Miguel, Omar, Jose, Luis and many more. Both specialty restaurants had astounding food and service. The pools and jacuzzis were great and always clean. The beach was beautiful and the ocean was gorgeous. The Barrakuda dive center had great rentals and deals and service was awesome.The spa employees (Augustine and Bety) were amazing. We will definitely go back to Grand Coco Bay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Appreciated Charfisher,

It’s really important to let you know that all our guest opinions help us to improve all our services; Thank you for letting us know how your stay was at Grand Coco Bay, We look forward to see you soon in Mexico.

Regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were a group of 17 last week , adults and kids aged 6-15. Everyone had a great time!
We’ve been to PDC many times , we were so pleased with the small resort at Coco Bay vs. some big resorts we stayed in the past.

The beach was just fine, maybe a few more chairs would be nice around the beach and pool area but we were always able to find some kind of spot around 8am. And this was during Easter Break week, very busy but never felt super crowded.
Beach was calm and clear and beautiful!!!! The boats did not bother us at all, I liked the narrow beach, this meant 20 steps to the warm beautiful ocean.

Resort was spotless, food was good, snack bar was awesome! Always a table for everyone in the buffet for breakfast, ,lunch & dinner. We ate at the Mexican restaurant our last night and enjoyed that, seemed fairly easy to make dinner reservations in the A La Cartes.

We are not picky eaters, and let me say, we had a vegetarian and vegan in our group and they always found something to eat, said it was amazing. Drinks were good, bartenders are very friendly.
Pool was nice, enough activity happening throughout the day by the pool and beach.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable, mini fridge stocked, warm water and good pressure in shower. TV could have a few more English channels, but not much time spent there watching TV anyway.
The noise from the disco was very loud and annoying a couple of nights, that was my only complaint and thankfully this was not every night.

Service very good, staff were so friendly. The front desk staff were also very nice and accommodating, moving a couple of rooms around so families could be together with adjoining rooms.

We did a few trips; a snorkel tour from the resort; took a taxi one day to cenotes; my hubby and son did a scuba dive trip. Of course we loved our outings to Playa Del Carmen a few times, safe walk or taxi to 5th Avenue for shopping , fun nightlife and a few good dinners. Nice to have the option to walk along the long stretch of beach into town, took us about 20 minutes.

The weather was super, take lots of sunscreen !

My reviews are usually quite long and detailed but this time all I want to say is that if you want to relax and have a nice time with no extra-frills , Coco Bay will suit your needs just fine.
We would return.

Room Tip: Ttry to get room opposite the Disco as some nights are very noisy with club music til 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Hwtj ;

We thank you, for your review published in trip advisor, We are happy to know you found all the services and quality experiences you were looking for, it will be a pleasure to welcome you any time as a repetitive guest at Grand Coco Bay!

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The snack Bar and entertainment staff were amazing. Our room was 2262 and we were right across from a night club that played music very loud. The place was clean and staff friendly! I would go there again.

Room Tip: It is surronded by night clubs that play music loud and go to around 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear 974Bradd974,

Thank you for let us know how your stay was at Grand Coco Bay, it will be a pleasure to welcome you soon at the resort.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Address: Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lote 1 Mza.7 de la Region 6, Playa del Carmen 77710 , Mexico (Formerly Grand Coco Bay)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Nestled on a lengthy stretch of beach, just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling van, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Coco Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.