We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo #9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2005

Having read all the negative comments my wife and I were astounded at the friendliness of the staff, the amenities, the overall cleanliness and the ambience of the property. The meal plan food was typical buffet quality however it was overcome by the variety of food and service of the staff. As to the timeshare sales staff they are by no means as agressive as say the Mayan Palace, Velas or a host of others we have experienced over the past ten years as timeshare owners. I would definately recommend this resort to couples, singles and to families with children and we plan to return next year. The two bedroom units are large and moderate in quality and the studio units in the two new buildings even have a small kitchen area. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    236
    62
    46
    61
See reviews for
216
189
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2005

We bought timeshare at Fishermen's a year ago. Since I am working for my money, any amount of money is a lot of money to me. We went through a very stressful period initially after we purchased - wondering if it was the right thing to do and worrying whether the money could have been better spent somewhere else.

We went to visit this year in the last week of April and I am happy to report that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - from the minute that we booked in until the last day that we had to leave. The staff went out of their way to make sure every need was met. Luis did not only host an excellent welcome party, but he also kept young and old involved in activities ranging from how-to-make-mixed-drinks to stretching (for the older folks) and playing water games where he got ALL the kids involved. Alex and Angel were great in the bars and made excellent mixed drinks. Jesus at the front desk was always helpful and polite. I do not know if this was just our luck, but even the guests got along very well (Andy from Oklahoma will talk to anyone I guess). As soon as the kids started playing, even the parents loosend up. It was a truly relaxing atmosphere in which you could relax, listen to the ocean and enjoy the laughter of children.

Thank you to all at Fishermen's, we had a great stay. Next year we hope to visit for 2 weeks and we cannot wait...

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

We purchased a timeshare from these folks last year on vacation to the riviera maya. Yes it was a high pressure sales pitch and after we returned to the states we were concerned about the investment we had made and after reading some of the reviews on this site we were even more concerned. I think the bad reviews written were mostly from people that expect to get something for nothing. This was our first year as owners and we were quite pleased with the resort. Our room was in the new tower and our room was every bit as nice as we expected. The food was good and plentiful. It is unfortunate about the beach but mother nature will rebuild it over time. The resort is small and quiet in the evenings. Jacuzzis by the spa are nice although we did not try the one in our room. it is only a quick ride or walk to downtown playa del carmen which is a nice little place. the view of the ocean is wonderful as you are right on the beach. Monica, our personal representative was very helpful for all of our needs. Even when we had to return to the states due to an emergency they allowed us to use the phone free of charge to change our reservations on the plane and also insured we had transportation to the airport without any hassle at all. the only thing we did not like was the timeshare salespeople. they are everywhere and will even try to sell an owner new "updates" but once we made it clear that we would answer no to all their requests we were not bothered with it again. Our room was directly below their sales office and as a result we had to listen to their sales meetings in the early morning, lots of clapping and women in heels walking above us but we were able to ignore it. We will return for another vacation here and will continue to say "no" to the salespeople. Nice place.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2005

Visited Cozumel and was talked into touring Fishermens, not realizing it was a time share presentation until we were on our way there. Very smooth presentation. 90min turned into hours of them wearing you down. Ashamed to admit to a purchase, but we did. Once home having buyer's remorse. Mexico has a 5 day period to get out of the contract, however the people at Fishermens are not forthcoming with the information as to how to go about doing this. e-mails and faxs have been sent to them, but of course with no reply from them. The resort is small and very pretty. The entire area is worth seeing and staying there. Would do it again without the time share presentation! Hopefully getting out of this won't be the hassle that I'm anticipating because that will really spoil the memory of the trip and make me reconsider visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Severn, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

This was our first visit as members. We were a little concerned - had we made the right decision in purchasing this time share? We have come away with a sense of relief . . . our visit was great. We love the location - so close to Play Del Carmen. We did not purchase the meal plan and were quite happy with our decision. The few meals that we did purchase at the resort were good but we would likely have tired of them after 1 week. There were a few repairs that were needed to our room (leaky sink, doors did not lock properly, tv not the best) but overall were very happy with our accomodations. The staff were great and are incredibly hard workers. Unfortunatley the beach has suffered from Hurrican Ivan but hopefully they will be able to build it back up again.

Looking forward to next year!!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2005

I just returned from spending one week at Sunset Fishermans Village. After looking at all the bad reviews on this site I was more than hesitant. Well its pretty amazing what people come up with, because this place was great. Yes, there are time share people there who try and rope you in. We had no problem at all with them, we just said the simple word "no" the first day and were never bothered again. We had a group of 14 people including a lot of kids and we all had a great time. My only complaint - check in was a slow boring process where they try to get you to do a time share talk - however they gave us food and drinks the whole time and it was only about noon and check in isnt until 3pm anyway, so its hard to complain. The food was good - its wasnt great, it wasnt fantastic, but it was good, plenty to keep you filled and plenty of variety. They have a separate "fancy" restaurant also which serves really good food if you want that also. Drinks - they have dos equis (XX) on tap for beer - light and dark. That is the only beer. If you get it in the bar they will serve it in a glass, if by the pool it will be in a plastic cup. Bloody marys - terrible. Margaritas, pina coladas, daquiries - all great. and you can drink as much as you want. Bar closes at 10:30pm. Beach - it exists, though the entire area has major beach erosion problems. This place sits right on the ocean, even in the ocean. Its beautiful, its small, intimate, a great place. 10 minute 1/2 mile walk to town. Employees - some good, some not so good as it can be anywhere. A couple of the bartenders were very very nice and friendly. It helps if you tip $1-5 a day if you want. Boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, kayaks, and bikes were all free to check out. You can snorkel right off the beach at the aritificial sand bag reefs about 100 yards out.
I just wanted to set the record straight that this is a really nice place and dont listen to all the negative reviews. Its not a 5 star high class place, but I think for most people its close. If you like a small place on the beach, close to town with pretty good food and drinks and a nice pool and beach then you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2005

DO NOT EVER GO INTO THIS RESORT. If you read any brouchuresfrom you get from your travel agent, that warn you against going to any of these time share at your hotel. Just say "No thanks". I didn't do that and ended up going through the tour. First of all after you take the tour, they ask for your credit card. Yes, I gave them my credit card. If you sound at least intereted, they automatically charge your card. You don't know that. They keep your card until you demand for it back. It took me 45 minutes after I demanded for my card back before I did get it back. When you either say no you don't want the timeshare or you cancel your timeshare, in the time allotted for you to do that. You never receive a credit slip which is promised to you over and over again with "Trust Me. I'll get it for you". The next you know it's about a month later and you have the Legal Department from Sunset Fisherman calling you in the US at your home and threating that you will go to collections unless you agree to some term. Once again, when you present the fact the contract has been cancelled but no written documentation, because you can never get it, the legal department laughs in your face, and lets you know that you have just been scammed and ------. You can never get a copy of you canceled contract even though the business office admits that it's been canceled. When you ask the legal department why you can't get a copy of you canceled contract the answer is "I don't know." Once again a verbal acknowledgement is made of your canceled contract, but that means nothing. You continue to get threats from the legal department. DON'T GET SCAMMED. Stay away, and enjoy your trip and never be deceived by all the promises that are presented to you. STAY AWAY!!!!

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo #9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#88 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.