We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo #9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great hotel for its price point. Clean and well maintained. Comfortable amenities. Pleasant and helpful staff. Very professional. Particularly liked Elizeth the Front Desk manager. Great attitude and very helpful. Knowledgeable and accommodating. Great job Elizeth! I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments and for considering Sunset Fishermen a Great place.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    249
    67
    48
    62
See reviews for
231
196
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deptford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was most of our groups first trip to Mexico, and my first trip to Playa del Carmen. The purpose of our visit was to just get away for a week; a mix of relaxation and fun. I used RCI to book the resort and though many reviews were complaints gave an uneasy feeling, we kept an open mind. Our initial check-in was a bit rough, but that was due to it being the employees first day on the job. Come to find out that throughout the stay that employee, Alberto, and his supervisor, Elizeth, would be EXTREMELY helpful in answering any questions or tending to any of the needs that they could of myself and our group. Always greeted with a smile and warm welcome and by the end of the trip they felt like friends more than staff! The rest of the front desk staff, even the night manager Edgar, all did their best to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. Edgar was a fun guy to hang out with when the place shut down, always felt bad when the party had to stop for the guests.
The hotel says WiFi in lobby, but I was getting signal in the middle of the water off the beach and in certain spots in our room (2nd floor) as well.
The beach, view, and resort itself were all superb. Beach and resort were never overly crowded or loud, and provided a great mix of relaxation and fun. The room we stayed in (2 bedroom suite) was absolutely stunning, and always clean. The only real complaint was the water pressure for the hot water. However, as the trip went on I learned a trick in our room for providing almost full pressure with warm water by turning the hot all the way up, and barely adding cold.
The bar and restaurant staff were great! Very friendly! We spent a lot of time getting to know Ricardo, Marco, Felipe, and Jose. Marco was always looking out for our group when it came to dinner time and did his best to make sure we were never without a drink at dinner, while Felipe did the same with our food. Ricardo and Jose were both excellent bar tenders. They had us drinking more, doing more shots, and partying more at the resort than we thought we would. My only complaint about the bar is that it closes too early (10:30pm); an additional hour would be perfect!
The food was good, a bit salty, and few minor issues here and there, but overall we were satisfied. Breakfast was always excellent, the omletes were amazing!
Another thing I will add is that every time we left the resort we stopped to chat with Marcial, the doorman, and every time we came back he greeted us with a super warm welcome and always asked how our day was, what we were up to, and was just overall an extremely nice person.

Overall I will say we very much enjoyed this resort, so much that we are talking about going back in two years and even bringing our kids! Which is another thing I will say, the resort is extremely child friendly! Try not to let the reviews push you too much. Just go for it!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen and for considering us an amazing resort with an amazing staff.
We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and are already making plans to come back with your kids in two year.
It will be our pleasure to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It's been two years since our last visit to this facility. Every year we have visited, there has been some major issue upon our arrival. This year it was no different, in fact, it was the worst. Four families were unhappy with their situation. For us, it seemed as though registration didn't put us in the system so the folks here were surprised at our arrival. What followed is quite lengthy and not worth going into here but what I've observed is the sad physical decline of a wonderfully located property. ... in fact, we had no water for showers during the first few days. Apparently a pump had broken ... it was fixed, but the water pressure wasn't the same as when we first came here in 2002. The folks that work here (excluding management), are outstanding, as are the concierges. To fix the pool and the other problems will mean closing most if not all of the resort and of course, they won't do it. We have also noticed what we perceive to be a reduction in staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Negatives: Not enough staff at dinner time. Reservations are needed for dinner. In the evening, the hotel runs out of hot water.

Positives: A very clean beach, helpful staff, beautiful & large rooms. Great air conditioning. Games and shows by staff and outsiders. Everyone is so nice. My husband and I have been to this resort 4 times in the last four years. We've tried many other resorts in Cancun and Playa Del Carmen, but we keep going back to the Sunset Fisherman because it's always the best. This year we tried the Playacar Allegro for a week and then went to the Sunset Fisherman the following week. Sunset Fisherman was by FAR the better resort. It's smaller, but sooooo much better in so many ways!!!!!

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room at this resort! They are all very good!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments.
We are glad to learn you always love to visit Sunset Fishermen and you had a nice stay during your last visit.
We also appreciate the opportunity areas mentioned, our guests' satisfaction is our main concern so your feedback enables us to review our standards and procedures in order to assure the quality in service you have always received.
Come back soon, remember you home away from home is waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very Nice and beautiful, clean and well kept hotel, amazing location, pleasant surroundings, good attentive service, served very good tasting and looking food, fun activities around the pool and on the beach,

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to learn you had a wonderful time while vacation at Sunset Fishermen and enjoyed our amenities.
Come back soon, remember you home away from home will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have been here before and always like the beach here better than other beaches in the area. The sand is so fine and easy to walk on with out stepping on rocks. This was the so called slow season so it was not too crowded but just enough people to meet and make new friends. The breakfast had very good choices and the dinners were outstanding, very high quality food. The director of sports, Andy did a great job of keeping everyone entertained with games. There was a great show in the loby to greet every one to the resort. Durring this show there were games with prizes to win and a very good food presentation to snack on. All the help were very helpfull and always available. Jackie was our greeter and was always so kind and helpful with any information we needed. As I am an eary riser, if I need more info early in the morning, I headed to the front office and met Edgar who was always eager to help with the information I needed like where to go visit, as we had our own car. This resort is a good one mile walk to the main entrance to town and a great setting of old ruins on the way that one should visit. We were with another couple and had a two bedroom suite that was very well cleaned. Our suite was on the ground floor and just a few steps to the beach. The pool and spa were so relaxing.
We will be back again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Excellent service, clean rooms, great food and Drinks. We had the all inclusive and were able to take out kayaks and a catamaran for free. Entertainment mngr, Andy played tons of games with us and my 7 year old son found a few friends for the week. Fountains & pools were all working. We worked out in the gym and got massages. Thanks to Alejandro, Ivan, Freddy, Adan, Jose, Marcos, Anselmo, Carmen, Nanci, Andy, Carmelo, Felipe, Jesus A few others and the lifeguard/catamaran captain Abselon for an unforgettable vacation! ¡Muy amable! See all of you guys next year!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments and for considering Sunset Fishermen a Paradise. We appreciate your nice comment specially about our staff and we thank you on their behalf.
It will be our pleasure to be your host next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Bed Breakfastico
Bed Breakfastico
#13 of 146 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#117 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 2,662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excel Sense Hostel Boutique
Excel Sense Hostel Boutique
#5 of 141 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#75 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 2,594 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Luxury House
B&B Luxury House
#7 of 146 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#21 of 141 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo #9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#86 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.