We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo #9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The beach is terrific, the staff are amazing and the beach you meet are so friendly. Thanks to 'Mayor Dan' for his humour. Carlos and David were fantastic and the volleyball action was spirited. We hadn't been in four years and the improvement to the menu at the Fisherman grill was great. i definitely received my monies worth on the all inclusive day! :) Gracias!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    243
    62
    48
    62
See reviews for
223
193
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you are not in physically in good condition (able to climb stairs) this place is not for you. We arrived early (10:30) and were promised a room that I wouldn't have to do three flights of stairs or at least an elevator. Our room was not ready until 4 p.m. That part was fine. The pool area is beautiful and made the afternoon go fast. We ended up on the third floor, no elevator, so it was 36 steps up and 36 steps down at least twice a day. I ended up with muscle problems in my legs that caused them to turn all black and blue from the knee up. Chalk it up as an experience. I enjoyed doing things with David and Carlos. They were both so helpful. Carlos was in charge of a Texas Holdem game, that I played with four others that were really good at it. Carlos was helpful and made the game fun! Would have had another session but not enough players. He lead the bean toss, gofl putting game. He also assisted in the fruit/veg carving class. Then there was the tequila class. He was kind and considerate when people came late into the class. On Wednesday he took over the water exercise class when David had a day off. Carlos and David work very well together the short time I saw them. I know every one talks about Luis, who I got to meet, everyone of us has our own personalities, given time Carlos will be the same. Does he need a little polishing? That's up to you, I enjoyed it all, other than the stair climbing. I was a guest with my daughter and son-in-law that have been coming there for years. They were both a bit disappointed about room requests too. If you plan to go to Fisherman's with your parents or in-laws that are some what handicapped, it would be nice if they could promise you something before you go. A beautiful place! The staff was very friendly and did their job?

Room Tip: If you are not in physically in good condition (able to climb stairs) this place is not for you. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind and detailed review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with our entertainment staff and will be sure to pass your comments along to them.
We regret to hear there was a problem with your room request on the first floor however we will continue to strive in order to fulfill all special requests.
We reiterate our gratitude for the time it took to write your review and hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff was great. For example Carlos delivered the Tequila "training " session to 3 people with the same professional effort as to a large group. The bartenders make special efforts to please.

Sergio the cook will make whatever you want for breakfasts. Breakfast on the terrace, overlooking the ocean is something to which I looked forward every day.

Location is excellent ... right on the beach ... our room was 10 feet from the sand!

There is a hot water problem ... lack of it. Everybody takes showers at the same time.
This is a management problem not staff problem. The owners need to upgrade the system.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of your kind comments and will be sure to share them with our staff. All staff members mentioned on this forum receive a special recognition during our monthly celebration of quality service.
We value feedback and take it as an opportunity to improve our service, you can rest assured your suggestion has been reviewed with our management.
We hope to welcome you back soon so you can enjoy another memorable vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Warm and friendly staff. Our room maid, Maria Ines Sanchez, was attentive and personable, and did a fantastic job each day making our stay more than comfortable, clean and welcoming. Beach was immaculate. Wifi worked in room and in pool area to keep me connected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments, we are very proud of our staff and will be sure to share your nice comments with Ines.
All staff members mentioned on this forum receive a special participation during our monthly celebration of quality service.
We do hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff here is amazing...except for Carlos. Marcial at the door, Rosario, Sergio the cook, Inez the maid...all are superb. The accomodations are always excellent.

I do have one complaint, though. The vast majority of the guests are retired Americans and Canadians. It's a quiet, close knit group who enjoy many activities together. In the past Luis was in charge of activities. He was excellent at talking with the guests and putting together activities for everyone, especially Texas Hold Em in the afternoon. Carlos on the other hand would promise to have THE but would be sure to schedule other activities (such as Name that Disney Tune) for the two families with kids. Then he would tell the older folks he was busy. Bad deal! These guys waited all day while Carlos was doing nothing, then start something at 3:00 when he promised the players a game at 3:30. I know that can't replace Luis but this guy is a disaster!

Again, the food, accomodation, and staff at Fisherman's are beyond fantastic. Hopefully the managers will do something about the Carlos situation and the resort will be as great at it was last year.

Room Tip: The spa needs to be updated- only one working treadmill and the hot tub has only worked one of the 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review, we are happy to know you are repeat guest and overall had another memorable vacation.
We will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff and rest assured your recommendations for the activities program have been taken into consideration. We do hope to see you soon so you can see the changes made for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, al
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed here for a few years now and thoroughly enjoy Fishermen's. The location is excellent. Service is always good and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are adquate and comfortable.

Food is the low point. We head to the grocery store and stock up on snacks, and quick and easy food for lunch. Breakfast is fine but dinners are not so good. Since it is very easy to get to town for dinner that's usually best. Playa-Del-Carmen is a lovely town and it is safe.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same. This is a rather small/medium size resort. The view from each room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your lovely review, we are happy to know you are a repeat guest who enjoys the privileged location that houses Fishermen’s Village.
We will be sure to share your comments with our staff who continuously strive to make every guest’s vacation a memorable experience.
Please be sure to follow us on facebook for updated destination and resort information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Carlos does a first rate job of the tequila demonstration and many other activities. He makes it fun while transferring a ton of information. The many other staff, some of whom have been with Fishermen's for years, are also outstanding. So pleasant, courteous, and genuinely happy to help you.

You won't find a better location right on the beach unless you want to mingle with thousands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad to read you had a great time at Sunset Fishermen.
Next time you come to visit, remember to try our new gastronomic offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo #9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#87 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.