We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lido Beach Club is incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colibri Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colibri Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Colibri Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave 1a Norte Entre Calle 10 Y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Colibri)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lido Beach Club is incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been coming to Playa for 20 plus years, staying a month at a time. I returned in June 2013 and spend all my days at Lido Beach. Today I walked as far as Playacar and Momitos Beach. I can honestly say there is no other Beach Club that comes near to Lido. The seating is comfortable and the chairs are not falling apart. If you want shade they have colourful umbrellas or little huts you can retreat to. The wait staff is amazing, anticipating your every need. Gabby is friendly, funny and extremely attentive to your needs. The prices are good and the drinks are not watered down. The food is fantastic. I can honestly say that you will not be disappointed and I will continue to come to Lido every year. The owners take pride in their business and I know they will never compromise their standard of service. Give it a try...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
14
52
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Bolson, Argentina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After living 25 years in Cozumel, i have never found a hotel in Playa that i will return too. Now coming on a small vacation i found Colibri Beach. This is the best place i to stay (if you do not mind the muffled sound of music). The rooms are spacious, decoration simple but loved the balconies with hammock, on the beach, the location is superb and yet quiet enough. The staff was friendly and felt family run. I even got a really good rate. The number 1 plus for me was the set ac to a very comfortable temperature, this is the first time i stay in a place really energy saving oriented, will definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs get the breeze and the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the "Colibri", Its a very nice place to stay, the room was very big, clean shower, nice porch with hammock, wifi, excellent location right on the beach, friendly staff. Nothing fancy, good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located right on the white Sand. Perfect location...no car needed
Loud music at night from the Blue Parrot...bring your ear plugs.
Love this place..always return. Nice wide open beach area walking distance to all the the local beaches and restaurants...just off 5th Avenue

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is located in a great part of the beach in playa del carmen and is also very close to the night life and main street. The backyard is idyllic with beautiful palm trees and a pleasant beach bar where you are served while lying on its mattresses. At the beach you can also get a very cheap professional massage while listening to the waves roar only feet from you. The staff is attentive, friendly and the ladies at the front desk is extra charming. The rooms are pretty standard, but are spacious and most have a small balcony with a hammock. Is there anything I can fault the colibri it must be that there is no possibility for an early breakfast on the beach, otherwise this is a fine budget hotel.

Room Tip: Room with ac and towards garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San pedro,Ambergris Caye Belize
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Blue Parrot which is down the beach by may e a 100 feet plays incredibly loud music and the room rattles and moves to the beat-the noise is unbelievable and I thought I could sleep anywhere under any conditions. I watched TV most of the night on a very nice flat screen tv,the bed was comfortable, and the a/c was superb. The location is great but sleep at some stage is relatively important. For the price in an A room is over the top (80usd)-

My advice unless you want to sleep during the day or after 6.00am is to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: impossible due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

LIDO Beach Club is a hidden gem on the whitesands of the Mayan Riviera. Colourful lime green beach beds and umbrellas welcome you to a memorable and pleasurable day. Anyone can walk off the beach and enjoy the day listening to music, sharing a cervasa or meal prepared on site. Yes you are expected to spend 100 pesos per person or $10.00 but it is well worth it. The staff are extremely courteous, helpful, friendly, laid back, not pushy yet very accomodating. You do not like feel like they are giving you the bums rush. The food is excellent, the prices are reasonable. You would not regret spending a day or more at the Lido Beach Club!
PS: I have also stayed at the Colibri Hotel which also runs Lido Beach Club. The owners are wonderful and exceptionally accomodating.

Room Tip: This is not a five star hotel but it is clean and excellent choice for people on a budget. Where el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colibri Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colibri Beach

Address: Ave 1a Norte Entre Calle 10 Y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Colibri)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colibri Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colibri is located on the Beachfront of Playa del Carmen, close to restaurants, banks, shops, tour sites, fifth avenue -- the most visited commercial street in Playa --, and Cancun International Airport. It was designed to provide all comforts and services expected by the travelers of today at affordable rates. Our friendly staff & manager shall give response to your requests and needs as fast as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colibri Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Colibri Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Colibri Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colibri Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.