We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BRIC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BRIC Hotel to your Saves list
BRIC Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Awesome hotel in Playa! Staff was great, very helpful and very friendly. Hotel was beautiful! Beach was close! All the shops in Playa were right around the corner. Close to great food and entertainment. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    96
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
143
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Bric is a cozy hotel just a bit off the path of la avenida cinco. The pool was refreshing after a long day walking around. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. More important, the AC and fan rocked! Thanks Bric for a wonderful stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

very good and 'cosy' hotel well located
great team, very kind.
Swimming pool is a bit too small.
could have paternship with one of the local beach clubs (coupons)

It was an overall very pleasant experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I went on a quick 5 day diving trip to playa and wanted to stay locally in town near a dive shop. I don't believe I could have been luckier. Really clean, breakfast included every morning, two blocks from the beach, half block from 5th ave., and right across the dive shop. Think I found the perfect place to stay on downtown Playa.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have been living in Playa for several months and booked The Bric for my parents stay while they were visiting for 10 days. Initially they were only going to stay at the hotel for 4 nights but ended up extending after such a great experience.

The hotel is located just off of the famous 5th Ave, a 5 minute walk to one of the best beaches in Playa (Mamitas) as well as close to my favorite restaurant, La Fragata. Although the hotel is steps from 5th Ave, you wouldn't know if from how quiet it is. As soon as you enter the grounds, it is very quiet and relaxing.

I did not stay at the hotel but spent quite a lot of time there with my parents, especially by the pool which was such a fantastic escape from the heat. The most important things about the rooms are that they are super clean, the beds are soooo comfortable and the ac works great! Its was also nice that they have refrigerators in the rooms so you can stock up on snacks and drinks to have in your room or by the pool.

I cant say enough great things about the staff, especially Gustavo. Seriously, The Bric won the lottery when they hired him. I have traveled the world and never met a more genuine, caring, friendly and honest employee in any hotel. If you need anything he delivers, with a smile!

My parents are already looking forward to their return to Playa and have said they will be staying at The Bric for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor. Being able to walk outside and have breakfast outside your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Second stay at the Bric Hotel in Playa del Carmen for 6 days in March. Service was excellent, rooms were clean. Breakfast was as always great. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. The Bric is a small cozy, quiet little oasis, just off 5th Ave. Rooms here are inexpensive. The breakfast included is a hot freshly prepared breakfast enough to keep one going for the day. The grounds are kept meticulously clean. The hotel is close to 5th Ave. in the north end but still quiet. We really enjoyed our stay (again) and would recommend to anybody looking for a modest style of accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Great staff, nice room, Maria makes a delicious breakfast. We were very happy with our stay. Small, quiet and only a block off 5th Avenue and about 4 blocks to the beach. Many great places to eat, if you like sushi try the Sushi Club. The Pirate is small, local and had great fresh fish. La Tarraya on the beach close to the Pier to Cozumel served the best fish around. The best civiche was on the beach at The Pelican. If you want the best dive shop, check out Dive Life across the street from the Bric. Thank you Bric!

Room Tip: We had room 25 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BRIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRIC Hotel

Address: 28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BRIC Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BRIC hotel, formerly known as Prisma Caribe, offers 14 charming hotel rooms in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico, each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning and full services including concierge, WiFi Internet and pool.Situated in the heart of Playa del Carmen on 28th street, only steps to the World famous 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach Club. Enjoy the luxury of staying in the heart of Playa del Carmen, experience the excellence of service pledge from our staff all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BRIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Prisma Caribe Hotel
BRIC Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BRIC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.