We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BRIC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BRIC Hotel to your Saves list
BRIC Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Sainte-Adele, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

perfect location. Clean room . good breakfast included . a small oasis. We loved it.
We were greeted with a friendly staff and our room was ready . We liked the corner room , very private with a nice little terrace. It was very quiet , yet 2 minutes from the 5th .
We will stay there again on another trip. It is a budget hotel with good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BricRental, Owner at BRIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
So great of you to leave such a nice review! Thank you again for staying with us at The BRIC Hotel and we do hope that we see you again on your next visit to Playa del Carmen!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    96
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
143
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in the hotel because of a groupon I bought. It was a lovely little hotel, the rooms were cute and simple, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was okay. The massages outside were amazing! This hotel is in the perfect place to get to everything and the beach is very close by! I loved being so close to all of the night life in Playa!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BricRental, Owner at BRIC Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your trip. The Groupon effort was a huge success and we are running two specials this year in 2013, so stay tuned and hopefully we can accommodate you once more at the BRIC hotel.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel here in Playa del Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Having read a number of reviews of the Bric Hotel, I am left totally baffled at the extreme variations of opinion. I have read heaps of praise relating to the breakfast. Never in my 30 years of travel have I had such an abysmal offering for breakfast. There were 4 in my party and not once in our 8 day stay were we able to all eat bacon at the same time; there simply wasn't enough cooked. One morning there was no fruit, no breakfast tea bags and then no maple syrup (fairly key when having pancakes). Never once was there a bagel or croissant in sight despite pictures of it on the website when we booked up. Despite this we found the reception staff extremely friendly and very helpful. Although perfectly located for the beach, the pool is permanently in the shade.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BricRental, Owner at BRIC Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Confused.Com

I am sincerely apologetic for your experience with our Free breakfast service!

As you mentioned in your comment, you will see endless complimentary reviews about our included breakfast service and most of that stems from the fact that everything we serve is provided to us fresh on a daily basis including the natural yoghurt, orange juice, bacon and croissants!

Unfortunately during the peak seasons some of our vendors are short on supply such as fresh fruits, etc and we prefer to serve only the freshest and local of products. On occasion such as this, when Playa del Carmen is full with patrons we really scramble to fulfill our reputation of providing our standard breakfast, and as such, there are times when we have to substitute fresh croissants for bagels or baked bread.

I apologize again for any inconvenience that our free breakfast service has caused you and hope that it does not deter you from any future visit to the BRIC Hotel! We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and a great breakfast and promise that next time you visit I will personally squeeze fresh orange juice for you and your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel holds a very special place in my heart. My fiancé and I came to Playa Del Carmen for a very good friend’s wedding. I was so overwhelmed by how beautiful the property was that I ended up proposing to my fiancé on a rainy afternoon outside room 24! The staff is very friendly and made us feel very welcome. But the ladies in the kitchen made our trip to the hotel feel more like home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Bric offers a good lodging alternative for a good price in Playa del Carmen.
Rooms were comfortable and clean, and the hotel is in a good location, close to Quinta Avenida and the beach, but not quite ON quinta avenida, which can get very noisy and crowded at night.
Our only complain was that electricity and water was cut off on the second day (just when I was taking a shower) without a warning from the administration.
Aside from that incidente, I would recommend this hotel for someone looking for a basic hotel in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pachuca, Hidalgo, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was my first time in Playa del Carmen, and being one block away from all the fun and main atratctions of the city (5th Avenue) and three blocks away from the beach, was amazing!! considering the price from other options with the excelent location and service that the staff provides, its a great option for any purpose of visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Just leaving for airport back to the states. Wife and I had great visit. Hotel is in perfect location and wonderful value. Staff is friendly and has spot on recommendations for meals. Breakfast in morning doesn't vary but filling and freshly prepared. Only gripe would be bed. We had room #22. King bed was two twins pushed together. Mattress springs pretty apparent when laying down. Other than that - great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BRIC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRIC Hotel

Address: 28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BRIC Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BRIC hotel, formerly known as Prisma Caribe, offers 14 charming hotel rooms in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico, each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning and full services including concierge, WiFi Internet and pool.Situated in the heart of Playa del Carmen on 28th street, only steps to the World famous 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach Club. Enjoy the luxury of staying in the heart of Playa del Carmen, experience the excellence of service pledge from our staff all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BRIC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Prisma Caribe Hotel
BRIC Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BRIC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.