We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class in Playa del Carmen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imprevist

Imprevist
1 Avenida Norte Entre Calle 14 Norte y 16 Norte Bis, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
9841687025-26
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Imprevist is a Catalan word which means the “Unexpected“. Dining here is experiencing these wonderful dishes that leaves you surprisingly unexpected everytime. The restaurant is situated in a quaint magical street in the Heart of a Playa del Carmen that will make the night, a night to wish would never end. After several years of experience and learning from European chefs; Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is well known for his incredible combination of Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine. Preparing dishes of unique flavor, creating art with in each presentation. He personally hand select the products focusing on the menu to provide a wide variety so that everyone can enjoy their meal, from vegetarian options to oriental, excellent seabass or steak ending with the delight of a chocolate fondant berry sorbet. “Cooking is an art, and for me it is the only art that stimulates all senses. The moment when you take your first bite, all your senses comes together to experience a delightful aroma, flavor and textures of food” - Chef Juan Diego Solombrino.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A touch of class in Playa del Carmen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had a lovely meal here, at a romantic little candlelit table for two on the terrasse (alone unfortunately but lovely nonetheless!).

I had red curry with fish, a glass of white wine and a fondant au chocolat. It was all delicious and the service very good.

It's off the beaten track on the quieter 1st avenue, opposite a rather chic and pretty candle shop, so you feel miles away from the mariachi bands on 5th avenue.

I'd actually tried to go to Ohlala and it was fully booked, but the chap recommended this place and I was not disappointed.

I'd definitely go back if I returned to Playa, as there were plenty of other tempting options on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for dining with us while on your holiday in Playa. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience with us. This is important to the owner and the staffs who constantly works very hard to give the best service and serve the best meals in town. One of the greatest amenities dining with us, is the quiet street of 1st Avenida. This is a place for you, if you are looking for something different away from the buzzling 5th Avenida.

We hope to share us to your friends, family and hope to see you again soon. Thank you!

Best,
Roz
PR/Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    117
    28
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place has great food & service. The atmosphere is small & inviting. Lots of choices on the menu so we all selected something different & every dish was wonderful. The tuna tartare with citrus foam is amazing. Top quality. We will be back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant just off main strip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Located just parallel to 5th avenue near to Gran Porto Real. The food here was superb with very good service a bit pricey especially the wine but well worth it. Would thoroughly recommend a visit to anyone staying in Playa Del Carmen.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
272 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“excellent serendipity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stumbled on Imprevist and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Service was very friendly yet professional.Guatemalan chef-owner did saints in London and .HK before opening in PDC a few years ago. MENU REFLECTS HIS WORLDLY EXPERIENCE IN THE KITCHEN. STARTED WITH DUCK FILLED WANTON, then we moved on to the salmon roulad e, and lobster risotto. Dessert was chefs twist on sticky coffee pudding. Nice affordable Chilean Sauvignon blanc . Dinner was$100 with wine,tax,tip. Seats only 24 in a very romantic atmosphere which makes reservations a must. Also open for breakfast/brunch at very affordable price

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests!

Thank you for stopping by and coming in to try our food here at Imprevist. We are glad to hear that your experience was excellent. The staffs at Imprevist are very hard working and wants to provide the best of everything. We are the only restaurant in Playa that serves Breakfast/Brunch 7 days a week.

We hope to see you again on your next visit. Thank you!

Best,
Roz
PR/Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 8 that were very quickly accommodated for dinner. The atmosphere was very welcoming and we were all offered a complimentary cocktail on arrival and an appetizer whilst we looked over the menu. The food was incredible. Highly recommend the lobster risotto! Definitely equivalent to some of the fine dining restaurants around the world.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests!

Thank you so much for bringing your amazing Big Group to dine with us while on your vacation in Playa del Carmen. We are happy to hear that our dishes are equivalent to some of the best restaurants in the world. We will continue to strive to make the best dishes and give the best service in Playa del Carmen. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks you!

Best,
Roz
PR/Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imprevist also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Imprevist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imprevist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.