We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Lupita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Lupita to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Lupita
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda. Xaman-Ha, Manzana 20, Lote 1, Condominio Playacar | Lote Hotelero No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at RIU Lupita in September 2012, for a week. It was all included...and I mean it!
The Hotel was a bit different from the ones we were used to, but we liked it a lot. It's not close to the beach (which is wonderful by the way) but we had a free bus from time to time, during all day! Also, we had a restaurant&bar near the beach, all included again!
The mini bar in the room was always filled with various beverages, with no extra costs! I am saying this because this year I've been to a RIU in Spain, all included, and the mini bar was...empty! Not even a bottle of water! Very different services, I must say...
So, I recomend RIU Lupita because of all the above, and also because they have free internet at the lobby, for an hour/day. ;) It's acceptable, I guess. Loved it, and can't wait to go back someday! :)

Room Tip: Higher rooms are more quiet, I guess. And the bathroom window it's not turned to the street, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    608
    252
    107
    60
See reviews for
305
677
48
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a great two weeks stay with 5 family members at the Riu Lupita booking with Thomson's this August 2013
Yes it needs some refurbishment but that didn't spoil our holiday in fact in some ways it added to the charm and character of the complex
The staff were friendly and helpful and although there weren't many other English speaking holiday makers there we were always made to feel included in the entertainment by the English translations of what was happening.
We loved the size of the complex as we hate the huge impersonal hotels with thousands of guests!
We always got a sun bed by the quiet pool without having to save it with a towel!
We could sit anywhere in the open planned restaurant, where there was a great choice of food and the staff were very efficient and hard working.
If you want a nice relaxing place to go then I recommend you check it out especially after the refurb at the end of this season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

just got back from a 2 week holiday at lupita , the staff were great couldnt do enough for us.
very good choice of food everyday , complex is shutting down for 6 weeks in end of september a refurb so should be even better when i next visit.
thanks to all at lupita for looking after us and making our holiday one to remember.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked the Riu Lupita last year through Thomson at a very good price.

We were welcomed at reception with drinks, the rooms are a bit dated but you can tell this from the photos. It's a 3*, not 5*. You have your own mini bar which you can dig into as much as you like for no extra fee.

This was our first time all inclusive so we were a bit apprehensive about the food but we had nothing to worry about as the food was great, so much choice. We didn't get round to trying the A La Carte because we enjoyed the buffet so much, especially the breakfasts!

The large pool area with the sun loungers in the water attracts families and small children so we preferred to use the smaller pool by Pacha nightclub, this was great for a quiet read in the hammock.

The beach is about 10-15 minute ride on the complimentary bus. We went to the beach at some point everyday, we even saw a wedding. You are allowed to use all facilities in the Riu Yucatan, I didn't think their food was much different but there's no deny it's a better location than the Riu Lupita.

I would definitely recommend the speed boat excursion in Cancun, it was affordable and a brilliant day out.

Staff were lovely, the waiter who served us every night was so nice, he even let us take a bottle of wine back to our room. The entertainment was OK, never been big on those kind of things so didn't take much notice to it.

If I could find a good deal again for this hotel, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent food (a different theme cuisine every night with a standard selection of safe bets for those not into sushi, pasta or whatever), very friendly crew and a great place to return to after a day at the beach, in town or from a Maya tour. Long live air conditioning and a dip in the pool!
The beach club is a highlight on sticky hot days like we had. Chill out in the shade of the palm trees, have a swim in the beautiful sea and just lay back and enjoy the fresh breeze while sipping on a cocktail or a refreshing beer. There's always fresh fruit, salads and Mexican winners like fresh guacamole, but also French fries, different kinds of meat and fish. The shuttle bus goes every 30 minutes until after 18.00, including a stop in town.
Our room was very nice, a single floor so luckily no guests above us. Might be different in one of the more flat-like buildings. Free wifi only available in the lobby for an hour a day, though we had some trouble logging on we didn't miss it (in town are places with free wifi as well).
We booked this place as part of a last-minute superdeal so we basically stayed here for almost free for a full week. Experiences might be different if you pay full price! All in all a great recommendation.

Room Tip: Aks for a single floor room, higher floors might be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Keep your hard earned cash and go elsewhere. The only saving Grace was the beach. Well known holiday camp popular in the 60's spring's to mind. Told by a member of staff "Cheap and cheerful, what more do you want". A bit more for my money thank you. Beach food was better than the main hotel, and if your face didn't' fit service not good

Room Tip: Don't get them by the relax pool. Nightclub there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food was very good but I wish they had better à la carte. The servie was also very good but I wish they provided better information about where to get kayaks, snorkel gears, etc at the beach. The staff was very entertaining and the drinks were yummy ( especially the Banana Mamas ). The rooms were clean and the location was good. Overall, I was satisfied and would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Lupita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Lupita

Address: Avda. Xaman-Ha, Manzana 20, Lote 1, Condominio Playacar | Lote Hotelero No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#85 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Lupita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 2 km / 1.2 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Main building and 1 and 3-story bungalows * Surrounded by 25,000 m2 / 29,900 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 3.5 Km / 2.1 Miles from the beach (complimentary transportation) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2.5 Km / 1.5 Miles from various shops * 50 km / 31 miles from Cancun Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Lupita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Lupita Resort
Riu Lupita Mayan Riviera
Riu Lupita Mexico
Hotel Riu Lupita Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Lupita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.