We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Coral Riviera Maya

Grand Coral Riviera Maya
Carretera Federal 307, Km. 294, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 109 6020
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Coral Golf Club is a Nick Price’s golfer-friendly creation where everyone will enjoy playing this 18 hole, par 71 course which is 7,043 yards long. It offers a modern club House and exclusive Beach Club.The Green fee includes: Round trip transportation, golf cart, 2 bottles of water, golf tees, divot repair tool, fresh towels, dressing room whit lockers and safe deposit box.*transportation included for two or more players• NAME: GRAND CORAL GOLF RIVIERA MAYA• OPENING: FEBRUARY 2011• COURSE DESIGNER: NICK PRICE• HOLES: 18 • PAR: 71• CHAMPIONSHIP COURSE• TYPE OF GRASS: PASPALUM, SEE ISLE 1 ON TEES, FAIRWAYS, ROUGHS & PASPALUM PLATINUM ON GREENS.• CARTS: HDK• RENTAL CLUBS: PING G 20
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This course was in good shape except for the greens--they were punched so it made them very slow. Be prepared to lose some balls, it is a tight course.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand C, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Coral Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Player:
Thank you so much for giving us another comment on trip asvidor. We really hope can to service you again, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    71
    12
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forsyth, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Greens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Awesome golf excursion here - well maintained course! Stayed nearby at Ocean Maya Royale and resort offered free shuttle to Grand Coral for golf outing. Played 18 holes - good time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabri G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Coral Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment; all the comments are always welcome. We want to say Thank you for visiting us. Please, do not hesitate to contact us anytime you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Playable, Challenging and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This Nick Price design is challenging, demanding yet fun and get-able for avid to accomplished golfers. The Grand Coral is cut out of the Mayan Jungle, very near the coast and enjoys a refreshing coastal wind, which makes the course more challenging. The course is punctuated with generous landing areas and areas surrounding the greens for wayward approach shots. From the back tees there are a handful of easier holes, a few very hard golf holes, and many just plain fun holes. This is one of the more playable courses in Mexico.

Tee to green the course was in top shape, is immaculately maintained, though the greens were plugged and top dressed just before my visit, which prevent me from rating this course as excellent.

What makes this course different, and to me better than many other courses in the area, is the generous landing areas around the greens, which penalize wayward shots, but not with an automatic lost ball.

I will definitely play this course again, Nick Price designed a fun and challenging golf course on a beautiful property.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand C, Manager at Grand Coral Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your very nice comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your golf experience and rated us so highly! Our greens are typically some of the best in the region, so it is unfortunate that your visit coincided with our yearly aerification program.
Please come back and visit us again in the near future!

Glenn Doyle / PGA, Director of Operations
Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice layout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a very nice golf course with a lot of character. Lots of doglegs and bunkering. Greens are good. The course is only a couple of years old, so it is not as mature as say Mayakoba, but it is still very well maintained. At $120 for a morning tee time, it was a bargain compared to some of the other courses in the area. An all inclusive option is offered for $165. Have played it three times while on vacation in 2012 and 2013.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand C, Manager at Grand Coral Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Vince,

Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear you are regular guests at Grand Coral and thank you for visiting us frequently. Yes, we are the best priced golf course in the Riviera Maya, and do pride ourselves on the quality of our new course.
We hope to see you again soon!

Glenn Doyle / PGA, Director of Operations
Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time golfing in mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

beautiful, well kept, good rental equipment, limited pro shop, good staff, not cheap. probably best to go pretty early in the morning, since the mid day sun is brutal. But if you dont mind the sun, the twilight golf is pretty good, since the course is almost deserted at that time

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand C, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Coral Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear player
Thank you so much for giving us another comment on trip advisor. We really hope can to service you again, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Coral Riviera Maya also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
 

Been to Grand Coral Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Coral Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.