We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lunata

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lunata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lunata
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 5 between Calle 6 and 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #32 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Really good rooms and service but overpriced.
It has a great location very cloIse to the beach but for the price it should have been on the beach.
Continental Breakfast was average but as I said, great rooms

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    67
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
100
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kew Gardens, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here December 2013 for one night because our flight was cancelled leaving from New York, so we needed an extra night. Did I hit jackpot or what when I arrived, Erica , front desk girl, absolutely sweet and accommodating, she made sure we got a room on the first floor like my husband had requested. They let us check in before time, they serve continental breakfast in the yard. The colors, details and paintings of this hotel transport you to an Hacienda , typical Mexican style. Gorgeous to say the least. The rooms are beautiful, only 10 rooms, no numbers but names, Ofelia, Ariel, we stayed at Cordelia. Every detail in this place is wonderful. I will come back for more days if the future allows it. The guy that helped us with our bags, took our bags all the way to the ADO bus station for us to take the airport bus. Saved us that walk with 4 bags. No a bad gesture, no bad faces, very polite and nice people all around. We really lucked out with this pretty little gem. Great location on Quinta Avenida ( 5th Avenue ) Thanks for everything Erica and Fabiola !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

What a great little hotel. There are only 10 rooms, each with a name and not a number. We checked out two; one overlooking the busy avenue and the other overlooking the enclosed back yard. Both were quite large. We picked the latter as it had a charming balcony overlooking the back yard. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. The room comes with breakfast in the backyard - very charming. The hotel is a block or so from the beach in the center of the busy 5th avenue. Despite all the hustle and bustle on 5th ave the room was quiet and peaceful. It is a great place to stay, surrounded by a large number of restaurants and close to the beach. The TV is crappy but I consider that a good thing. There is no bar or fitness room but these are unnecessary in this location.

Room Tip: We loved the Calypso room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is situated conveniently in the middle of 5 avenue where everything is happening. There is a live music restaurant next door that makes the rooms facing the street loud but they have good sound isolation glass doors and is really not that bothering. The staff and facilities are great. We had the pleasure to meet Erica who is a receptionist there. She helped us with every decision we made regarding where to eat, drink, excursions, beaches, etc and every experience was amazing. The breakfast choice is very limited so plan for breakfast outside.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgeron, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

68 years old, I dream to visit Yucatan thince my youth. I did it and found in Lunata Hotel a charming place to live the nights of this dream. It is also close to the beach and , an excellent club to dive, on the 10th street: Phocéa.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 5th avenue, too Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Love it, since the moment you walk in you feel welcome, the staff is great, helpful and happy, something is lost in many hotels, a smile on the staff,. here they just want to help you in aniway possible, the price is good, the room spottless, and has a warming charm, i just love it, definely will be back there over and over, breakfast is great too. so definely is a 100% amazing.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, but ask for the ones upstairs, less noise equals better sleep-
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Playa's biggest appeal after the beach is 5th ave. Excellent shopping and lots of cantinas and restaurants by day and on Calle 12 the LOUD party scene. Tucked in along 5th at about 5th street is Hotel Lunata, just 12 lovely rooms. Beautiful comfortable clean and romantic. each room is named for a celestial body. If want a quieter room ask for the interior court yard. Look for the large Orange cat that visits each afternoon to lounge on a sofa in the open air lobby. No elevator and lots of steps may be an issue for some but it adds to the charm.
Have dinner just across the avenue at Mediterrino in the Garden, fantastic family owned. Continental breakfast is quite light so if you require a hearty breakfast there are places near by. A romantic place in a wonderful beach community.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lunata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lunata

Address: Avenida 5 between Calle 6 and 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lunata 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lunata a real oasis of elegance, hospitality and service - on a truly world class level, particularly given its small size. Hotel Lunata is a charming hacienda-style hotel located on Fifth Avenue's ,the heart and soul of Playa Del Carmen, just steps away from the Mexican Caribbean's pristine white sand beaches. Centrally located, Hotel Lunata is easy walking distance from everything Playa del Carmen has to offer, including beaches, international restaurants, upscale boutiques, unique artisan shops, Mayan ruins, and bars with live music that ranges from mariachis to reggae. The hotel is a special place reserved for guests that appreciate fine living. Architect Angel Islas has successfully blended traditional Mexican architecture with modern day comforts to create a hotel perfect for the discriminating traveler. The creative use of natural light, river stones, hand painted talavera tiles, and hardwood beams captures the traditional charm of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lunata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunata Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Lunata Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Lunata Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lunata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.