We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a great place for the $” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Maya Royale to your Saves list
Ocean Maya Royale
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Overall, a great place for the $”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2006

This would be a four star hotel if not for a few minor areas .... check in is at 3:00, not a minute before. If you pack a small bag, tho, w/suits, etc., you can leave your luggage in a locked room, change in the banos, and hit the beach. When checking out (noon), and your flight is later, you are allowed to keep your towels, wrist bands, etc. and put your luggage in the same room and keep on using the facilities, which is nice.
Request a room in a villa near the walkways - the rooms on the perimeter are the rooms near the "creek" and have the sewer smell around them.
The food is okay; the restaurant near the pool always has hamburgers for lunch along w/hot dogs, some chicken and the like.
The breakfast buffet is great - why there are no spoons, tho, remains a mystery.
Rooms are as pictured - spacious, sunny, big patio/balcony. No in-room coffee. Grounds are very nice - well maintained and very pretty. Pool and hot tub are quite nice. Beach is pretty nice, too.
This resort is right next to a Secrets ... Secrets Capri, I think it is.
Not alot around - the walk along the beach (after Secrets) is mostly empty w/a couple of new resorts going in. Not near the Playacar area - cabs into town are $12 but there is also a shuttle bus for a few bucks per person and, in fact, a couple of them (certain times only) are free.
Overall, a very nice place. I was pleasantly surprised after having read some of the postings here.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,155
    1,378
    440
    204
    137
See reviews for
386
2,599
30
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,085)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Barrens, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

Just got back.
Don't stay in rooms 21-26, strong sewer smell.
The place was nice, clean, friendly.
Food was good.
Can only eat and drink so much in 1 day.
No phones or internet in rooms.
Disco is closed for renovations.
Chichen-Itza tour was great, Romando was an awesome tour guide..
Make friends with Baldaszar the bartender in the main lobby, ask him for strong drinks, he'll use the good rum if tipped well.
Fishing trips cancelled due to 30mph sustained winds.
Xcaret was a good tour as well.
Don't pay more than 50% of quoted prices when shopping, this was told to us by tour guide.
Nextel works, set up for international direct connect.
Will probably return again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

Well I was VERY nervous about the already booked vacation to Club El Mandarin after reading some of the reviews, but the resort was great! This was my second time staying at an all-inclusive resort in Mexico and it was my favorite! The trip was smooth, price was great, (I'd HIGHLY recommend going through applevacations [..]... They had transportation to and from the airport, an Apple representive at the hotel, excursion deals, etc.) the staff was very friendly, and the food was diverse and good.
There was plenty of entertainment, good drinks, and clean rooms and grounds. The nice three course meal resturant upstairs had slower service than us Americans are used to, but remember, this is a vacation and they are on "Mexican time", so relax and enjoy a glass of wine. There was only one working phone (bc of the hurricane damage) but they had international phone cards for sale at the desk and three small shops in the resort.
I am a college student who went with my mom and we both had an amazing time. There were mostly couples there, some families, and even though it was my college Spring Break, there were only 3 or 4 Spring Breaker gorups there. We will for sure go back to H10 Club El Mandarin. Also, check out Tulum (a half a day trip to the Mayan Ruins, and 5th Street in Playa Del Carmen for shopping!)

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at the Club El Mandarin (3/6/06 - 3/10/06). We love the Mayan Riviera and have been quite often, however we never stay at the same place twice.
Club El Mandarin was okay - nothing spectacular but no real complaints either. I thought they were a little understaffed. Dining in the buffet, the servers only cleaned the tables. If you wanted anything at all, you had to get it yourself. The food was okay - but nothing outstanding. Even in the gourmet restaurant, it was just okay. It wasn't really gourmet. At night when we would sit in the lobby and have a few drinks and meet other guests, there was no bar staff walking around taking drink orders - we had to go to the bar and get our own. I also didn't understand why we had a mini fridge in the room, if it was only stocked with water. Other places provided sodas and even beer. I'm not complaining about the El Mandarin. We had a wonderful time, but these are little things that we missed. It's all in what you're looking for in a vacation and what you want to pay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

We stayed at the resort for 10 days, 3/2 - 3/11. The resort itself was pretty well kept up and clean. The ground area was very beautiful, but the building air units were an ugly sight. We were with a group of 10 people. The others in my group all complained of bugs in their room, but I did not have that problem. I felt the staff worked hard and were very nice for the most part. I did however feel that they had a shortage of help. The buffet area needed more help cleaning as did the bar tenders. The pool area needs work on the cement. There was broken slabs everywhere and uneven payment which was hard to walk on and I saw quite alot of people falling, including myself. There were not enough chairs around the pool, but plenty in the sand on the beach. The food in the buffet was actually OK. There was always a variety and you could always find something to eat. The beach was very nice and big, it however was not that clear because of the hurriacanes. My groups biggest complaint was the fact that there was nothing to do at night. Once you ate dinner thay had a band playing, but it was the same thing every night. The shows started at 9:30 and were pretty lame and not worth watching. There was no towns nearby to walk to and visit. Of course if you like to drink all night you were all set. There was an awful sewage smell every day too which was sometimes bothersome. For the most part it was good, but we have decided we would not go back. It is hard to not have a good time in Mexico, but compared to other resorts you could do better.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

The Club el Mandarin was awesome! We found fault with nothing. The food, rooms, beach, staff, drinks everything was great. Everyone there is so welcoming that it feels just like home! This resort is great for people of all age ranges. The Entertainment staff do an awesome job at keeping everyone entertained! The night shows were fun just keep in mind that they are put on by ametuers not broadway stars :)
Go to the club el mandarin you will have an amazing time!
In response to some complaints....
-there was NEVER a shortage of beach chairs
-alcohol was not watered down
-food was great
-never smelt seuage
-staff(bar, front desk, security etc) were all very nice and always smiled!
-always had hot water and our room was always cleaned!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

Just returned from 2 weeks at Manderin.Hotel was great overall.Coiuld use more staff in restaurant,as service very slow.Lots of new lounges on beach,which by the way was well groomed each day.Roberto & Rudy were great help with the tours (they work out of the towel shack).Cabs to Playa $12.each way,but you can usually share with other persons.Entertainment so-so.Shows start too late.Grounds were gorgeous,& well maintained.A little bit of repair work still going on from the hurricain,but nothing to worry about.Go with open mind and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Maya Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.