We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hol in adult only 1st time in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Maya Royale to your Saves list
Ocean Maya Royale
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #39 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing hol in adult only 1st time in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Amazing holiday the staff, room and restaurants were all excellent. Beautiful setting, the pools are well thought out with a lively one and a chill out one, Cocktails so good and Oli the bar man who made them is so friendly and good he always has a smile and chat. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,949
    1,269
    396
    197
    133
See reviews for
368
2,353
30
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (972)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I recently visited the Ocean Maya Royale with my mother for a 5 day vacation, and everything about our experience was amazing. This resort is gated, which my mother and I loved. We could tell the hotel had been recently renovated, and the grounds were kept very VERY nice! Seriously - the food, customer service, location, amenities, rooms, and beaches were perfect. There was plenty of space to relax without feeling like you were in a crowded location, but the property wasn't so big either. You could walk anywhere on the resort within 5-7 minutes. There are plenty of food and drink options. Almost everyone at the resort speaks fluent English. And there is entertainment every night of the week, it was the perfect package for a great price!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are really happy to read that you and your mother had such a wonderful vacation with us. We are also very pleased to read that you both liked the seting up of the Hotel and all the ameninities. Thank you so much for the complements.

We hope to see you both soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to the OMR! and to our suprise it was better then the first!... cleaner, a NEW RESTAURANT, tastier food and drinks, new lounge chairs and the friendliest staff ever! The check in is easy...I think Jessica helped us! ....Alisandra and Lily in the Privilege area were OUTSTANDING! We loved being served breakfast by Alberto! Chef Nick is the best! The matade from The Blue Moon (I forget his name...sorry!) makes the best Caribbean green Martinis! and makes us feel so welcome! Also the bartenders in the lobby are awesome! (Lily & Alberto remembered us from the year before!)
ANYWAYS ON TO THE EXCITING NEWS....When we come back in April 2015 we're bringing our family & friends and getting married on the beach! I feel confident telling everyone this place is AWESOME and be prepared to have the time of your life!
Can't wait to go back on April 10th, 2015 for the third time!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Just got back from our vacation at The Ocean Maya Royale all-inclusive Resort. Great vacation place to stay at I would recommend it to anyone. Great food, Great people, Great staff, you are treated like Royalty there!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We would also like to thank you for all the good comments about the Hotel. We are very pleased to know that you have had a great time with us.

We hope to see you back soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My husband and I just spent three wonderful nights at Ocean Maya Royale. This resort is a gem, and we will be returning. We couldn't find a single thing that didn't suit us. It is a smaller resort, but still offers quiet areas to relax, and areas where there is more of a party going on. It is no more than a 5 minute walk from end of the resort to the other, so room placement isn't an issue unless you really want ocean view.

We tried three of the four a la carte restaurants and each one offered inventive dishes, well prepared, and great service. Staff members across the board really impressed us. Every single person I saw working there had a smile and a greeting for for me. All of them work so hard to make sure that your stay with them is a good one. Special thanks to Denise at check in, Karolina at the Privilege beach, Alejandro who was our Tepanyaki chef, and Michelle, the resort's assistant manager. And to all the other staff, congratulations on a job well done!

We choose to upgrade to Privilege, and were very glad we did. We loved the Privilege beach club area!

We are both looking forward to returning soon to Ocean Maya Royale!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to read that you had such a great get away with us. We really apreciate the comments you have made of the staff; they are very hard working people but very happy and proud of being part of the Ocean Family.

We hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service from all staff. The food was great, the people were fabulous! Awesome bartenders (Ollie was the best!) If you are looking for an adults only all inclusive vacation, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We do also thank you for all the great things you have said about the Hotel, the staff and the food; we are very pleased that we have fulfil all your expectations on this first trip to Mexico.

We hope to see you back soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was fabulous all of the staff was amazing! Oli our favorite bartender took care of us all week, and Fernanda and Ajavel ensured we had the most fun ever, dancing and singing and doing daily activities! This was my boyfriend and mine first vacation together and it was everything we hoped for and so much more! We met so many new friends and loved all the dinner places especially the japaness steakhouse where Alfredo gave us the best grill show each night that we went! We will definitely visit Ocean Maya Royale again!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Maya Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Maya Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.