We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Save Saved
You added Ocean Maya Royale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Airport Transfers
Ranked #42 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Victoria, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A restful getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

While one of the smaller resorts ( as it turns out ) - there was no shortage of fun, food choices and activities during our one week stay. Being smaller, we got to know the other guests and staff better - everyone was friendly !! The mix of guests was fun too - young and old all enjoying themselves. We met some Brits who were staying 3 weeks and it was their 3rd year there ! The entire staff are what make this place special - they want to make you happy. Would recommend to anyone. Close to Playa del Carmen and all its activities for those who want to venture out. Jorge, Urei and the maitre d in the Italian restaurant were standouts. Vicente is looking after our watch as we ran out of tip money - and he deserved a tip !

Room Tip: By the design of the resort - all rooms are quiet except for a few near the party pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,687
    1,152
    373
    193
    130
See reviews for
344
2066
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have recently returned from a lovely winter break at H10 Ocean Maya Royale. I would recommend this hotel as a good value for money break. Adults only, all inclusive; the hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. There is free wifi in the lobby for all which is a nice option. The grounds are maintained to an immaculate standard and there are lots of local wildlife popping up on a regular basis, coatis, raccoons, iguanas amongst others, which is lovely. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a regularly stocked fridge and you can get room service on the all inclusive if you fancy a lazy night in. We received a bottle of champagne in the room on arrival which was a welcome start to our holiday. There is a coffee shop which offers every variety you could think of which was another quite unique and pleasant option. There was a good choice of food in the buffet restaurant and I particularly liked the breakfasts, especially with the saxophonist playing in the background. The Japanese and italian restaurants were reasonably good. However, I personally found the Mexican restaurant to be really disappointing during the day so we didn't bother in the evening. I couldn't fault the service from nearly all the hotel staff who are really courteous and generally go out of their way, it really made our holiday. The weather was also excellent throughout which is a nice bonus.
The only criticisms that I could possibly have (however, these certainly didn't spoil our holiday) - The hotel is adults only but there are ridiculous Club 18-30 type drinking games around the main pool which isn't really in keeping with the rest of the mellow, relaxed atmosphere and the sophisticated standards that the hotel appears to be aiming for. So the pool is often full of bladdered yobs shouting and whooping all day until they are literally carried away. We spoke to a large number of other guests who brought up the same issue. Fortunately the beach area is quiet so can avoid it if you wish.
The other little annoyance was the two tier privilege system. Whilst I appreciate holiday makers like the option to pay extra for a room upgrade but the hotel is rated at five star, so why an extra level of VIP treatment that almost mocks the 'standard' guests? (Again a number of other guests brought up the same issue) I personally would have preferred that the hotel charge a little bit more and offer comfier loungers and wifi throughout the hotel than have the privilege sections. We were tempted to upgrade simply for the comfier loungers in the barricaded privilege beach area but it is pretty costly for not a lot extra in my opinion.
Notwithstanding the above, I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would certainly consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: 37 block is nice, close enough to the pool, italian and mexican, with a partial sea view but still q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a nice little resort for the money. It is small and that is why we chose it. No need to upgrade unless you just have to have top shelf liquor. Very clean and nice. The lunch buffet was the worst part of the stay. It was very random and not too tasty. But dinner was great. The Asian restaurant is delicious! The beach was good. Rocky but that's to be expected in that area. The wait staff all so nice and attentive.
The beds were a little lumpy but not terrible. Room was always nice and cool and clean and was pleasant visually.
I recommend this resort and would go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarryville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just returned from a week long stay at OMR with my fiance. We specifically chose this hotel because had stayed at Ocean Blue in Punta Cana earlier this year, and loved it, so we figured we would stay within the same hotel chain. The resort was beautiful, and of course the entertainment staff was great. The food definitely exceeded our expectations... especially the Japanese food, with a wonderful Hibachi and really good sushi.

But then there was the downside... the room. In general I was not a huge fan of it, partly because it doesn't have a real bathroom door, and partly because it was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever been on. But I could have easily lived with those things. The real problem was that our room smelled like a SEWER! There was a problem with the shower plumbing and sewer gases were venting up into our room. It came and went, but when it was present, it was really disgusting. We called or went to the front desk every day to complain, and all they would do was send someone to put some detergent into the shower drain, and the problem would come right back. I am not hard to please, but living in sewer smell is a bit too much, and the front desk staff really did not do much at all to help, despite our repeated pleas.

It's a shame we had those downsides, because otherwise it was a very nice hotel. It's pretty small, and adults only, so it was pretty quiet. If you're looking for a place where you can party on occasion, this might not be the best place, as it remains fairly low key - most people are in bed after the 9pm show. The entertainment staff was really top notch though, and they deserve a ton of credit. For the price we paid it would probably be hard to find a better deal... just make sure you get a good room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are really sorry to read that we did fail to solve your room problem while you were here, I can ensure you that this is not the kind of standard of service we are use to give, so we will be taking the necesary measurements to make sure this does not happen again. We thank you also for the good comments made about the Property and specially the entertaiment staff. We hope that despite this inconvenience you did have a great holiday.

We hope you come back to give us a second chance.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a week what can I say fantastic 110% in every way wildlife amazing, hotel amazing staff amazing thank you food was great a different restaurant every night choices amazing coffee shop great a must for total relaxing

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although we have been H10 Premium members since 2008,this was our first visit to the Ocean Maya Royale (Nov 13 to 17). While a smaller resort, it does have many attratcive features. The grounds (as many have said) are beautiful. The buildings were all refurbished in 2011, and were continually being painted during our stay. The rooms are immaculate, Some do require a bit of walking, BUT you are on vacation, and the scenery is superb. The best asset of the resort is the staff. All were pleasant, competent, and genuinely cpncerned about making our stay as enjoyable as possible. Notables include: Claudia Espinosa and Maria Lopez of customer service; Cristain, Brenda and Daniel at the Privilege lounge; Alberto, Alfredo at the buffet; Marko, Jorge and Jose at the Dolce Vita; and Daniel who made our "special" dinner, even more special. The saxaphone player (buffet mornings and plaza evenings), was great. AND...the resident entertainment staff were SUPER. Very enthusiastic and talented. This is one of the better resort entertainment groups we have seen. We loved all the performances. We felt the food was generally above average for all-inclusives, and excellent at the Italian restaurant. Thanks for a great 5 days.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the resort reduce your walking time, but those in the south east corner are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

It was awesome. Good beach. Nice staff. The beds were hard but you could ask for mattress toppers. We rode the bus to Playa del Carmen. Pay no mind to the ppl in the airport with thR blue shirts on. The apple ppl are outside. seems like the only thing apple did was transport to and from hotel to airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Maya Royale 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Maya Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.