We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asiana Restaurant

Asiana Restaurant
Constituyentes Avenue and 1st Avenue, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
+52 984-877-2986
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice during our stay at the royal.both visits were excellent.i had the thai lamb rare and it was the best lamb i ve ever had.big thanks must go to eduardo our waiter.great guy with the best service ive recieved anywhere

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    44
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very Impressive!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We vowed never to eat in the same restaurant more than once during out 2 week trip to Play del Carmen; however, this place was so good that we ate here twice!
Whilst we love Mexican food, we fancied something Asian, and this restaurant (attached to the Royal Hotel) was only a short stroll from our Condo, so we thought we would give it a try.
Upon reading the menu, I was concerned that it seemed a bit of a mish-mash of cuisine styles, with no clear direction – a bit of Thai, Indian, Japanese and Western items. Undeterred, we proceeded to enter the restaurant.
It is a lovely light, airy place with an open kitchen and nice décor. The restaurant staff were all professional, friendly and efficient. All good so far, but this would all mean nothing if the food was awful. Luckily not only not awful, but it was actually delightful!!
During our two visits, we ate a number of different dishes including; Cruspy Squid Noodles, Lobster / Steak, Thai Lamb, Prawn Curry, Pork Curry Noodles, Sushi, Thai Beef Salad, Beef Satay and Duck. All were fantastically fresh, flavoursome and well presented. (special mention to the lobster - Excellent!!!)

It felt like a fine dining experience, but without the price tag or rigid dress code. Some of the very best food we ate whilst in Mexico!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Food was surprisingly authentic Chinese and Japanese in Mexico. Service was great as usual @The royal playa del carmen. Nice atmosphere. Clean and orderly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Thai Lamb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This was some of the best lamb I have ever had. Felix was such a hospitable waiter. Another server named Chris found some cash that fell from my pocket and returned it.

Such a great dining experience.

Thank you Asiana!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We ate there several times. The sushi was always fresh and tasty! The service was excellent! We ordered the rainbow roll and unagi for starters and the duck for dinner. Both were wonderful !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asiana Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Asiana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asiana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.