We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how Coffee should be !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee Stop

Coffee Stop
Calle 10 North | Between Av. 10 and Av. 15, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
984 803 4365
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Bagels, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Description: We're a small independent coffee shop selling Mexican coffee. The beans are from Chiapas and toasted and blended here in Playa. We have light food to accompany your hot or cold coffees and teas. From filled bagels and croissants to light salads and delicious cakes and cookies. Sanctuary just a block and half from the busy 5th Avenue and right in the centre of town. You can pop in for your coffee fix and a chat or grab one and run. We have a delivery service too if you need us! Free wi-fi and a smile. Hope to see you soon!
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is how Coffee should be !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well what can I say about this Coffee House. other than it is great.

Paul the owner is very curtious and he is down to earth, he explained about his shop and the other hidden gems in Playa, His coffee is Faboulous it is a Mexican Grown coffee and it is rosted in Playa Del Carmen , so it is never over 3 or 4 days old. He brought out some beans for us to taste and eat and the ywe oh so fresh that they were like chips I could have ate them all. I recommend this place hands down and it blows STARBUCKS AWAY !!!!!! Real Coffee at a Real Coffee house !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    141
    10
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and local area expert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Paul who owns and works the counter is great. His knowledge of coffee and preparation can give the brand of "Starbucks" a few lessons in how to make good coffee. Though off the craziness of La Avenida Quinta, which is a blessing in itself, provides you with the time to appreciate the phrase "wake up and smell the coffee". His knowledge of the local area is also vast, especially when it comes to the places to eat that are "not on the beaten path" of La Avenida Quinta". Many of the places/restaurants he suggests are shops like his, small, quaint, good food and well priced.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice guy, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Paul is a great guy, he took a lot of time to tell us about the nice places in town. Coffee was good as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paul is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I were in Playa del Carmen for a week, and we came to The Coffee Stop 4 times. That should tell you something. I'm not a big coffee drinker, but my wife is, and she loved the coffee. My only tip food-wise is this: if you are there when they have chocolate cake... GET IT. Seriously some of the best chocolate cake I've ever eaten.

The owner, Paul, is what makes this place great. On our first trip, we expressed dissatisfaction with our resort's food. Paul recommended a whole list of places to eat. By the time we left town, we'd eaten at all of them, and every single one was delicious. Paul knows his food!

So basically, come for the coffee, stay for the conversation. Great little place!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went on tripadvisor to find somewhere to have coffee in Playa del Carmen besides Starbucks. My boyfriend and I were very happy with Coffee Stop. The coffee was smooth, fresh, and delicious. I loved that it was purchased locally. The owner, Paul was incredibly social and so helpful in making sure we got the most out of our experience while on vacation. He even told us about other coffee shops to visit since we are early risers and he doesn't open until 8am. We liked him so much, we made a point to wait until he opened for our first cup of coffee. Sometimes we even went back for a cold one in the afternoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Stop also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coffee Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee Stop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.