We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the middle of all the action!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Mariposa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada Mariposa to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Ave. 24th & 26Th | Col. Centro Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place in the middle of all the action!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love Playa Del Carmen! I have visited several times and have stayed at this hotel twice. The hotel is located on the busy 5th street and is about a 5 minute walk from Mamitas beach club, where you can pay $5 for an all day beach lounger (get there early). The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The street facing rooms can be a bit noisy at night if you are a light sleeper. However, my fiance and I are in our late 20's and we enjoyed the bustling street! Free breakfast is included at La Vagabunda restaurant. Take the ferry to Cozumel for a new adventure! Overall a great little boutique style hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    109
    37
    18
    23
See reviews for
45
141
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed for four days and it was fabulous . Loved the decor, the attention from the staff was great, excellent location. We are definitely returning and we have recommended the hotel to all our friends, family and coworkers. My only comment is the air conditioner. It seems like it was no cooling properly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Posada Mariposa is a great hotel. It´s location is right on Playa del Carmen’s northern 5th Avenue and close to Playa’s best beach.
This is a wonderful and cozy hotel.
The rooms are built around a central courtyard that is full of plants and has a beautiful atmosphere. The rooms are nice and clean, with all the necessary amenities.
They offer free beach towels, water and wi fi.

I have to say, thank you so much to the front desk people, Adolfo & Gisel.
A special thanks to Adolfo. He was amazing! He answered all our questions (we had a lot =) !! ) and recommended and showed us lots of places to go. It was really fun talking to him!
We´ll definitely come back next year (maybe even this year) and we´re hoping to se Adolfo in the reception again!

Stayed for 4weeks in room 37

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balbriggan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Located just right in the 5th Av in Playa del Carmen, this hotel is ok if you just want to go the beach every day. In my case, we had rented a car, so it was a pain in the ... each time I had to look for parking!!, even though it says in the facilities Free public parking is possible on site (reservation is not needed); on site could be more than 15 min away, between finding a place to park plus the walk.
The bedroom was fine, A/C, nice bed, bathroom, etc; it was clean.
WiFi internet didn't work !, I went down reception a few times to see what was the problem, but Adolfo(the receptionist) wouldn't know, even though he was helpful for everything else.
Average hotel from my point of view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariposaGroup, Operations manager at Hotel Posada Mariposa, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Estimated guest: the description of the hotel is not referring to parking, public parking concerns that do not require prior reservation but not owned by the hotel, being a tourist location in the center of the city, as in any other similar fate , parking is an adventure.
Our hotel is simple, small, but the greatness of the friendly personal service, always find in our facility as promised at the time of booking, the cercanis from the beach, the privileged location on the busiest street and famous tourist destination , lovely hotel friendly staff and good value for money, rooms with all basic services and a location like an oasis of tranquility, familiarity and attention.
we considered all recommendations especially wifi, has been monitored and there have been no failures, some personal computers usually do not allow certain connections, but the internal service regarding connections inhalambricas works 100% capacity
thank you very much for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I was a little afraid to stay at the quinta Ave because of the noise at these area, but from the first step inside these small jungle hotel, was peace, beauty,excellent warm people who will go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and make your stay like a true vacation! The room were I stayed was small,clean, with a huge bathroom with all the amenities to make your stay comfortable.But what I like the best was the quietness inside the hote you barely heard the noise from the Quinta Ave, theres sometimes a little noise only from others guess who return to their rooms talking but usually go to sleep at midnight. I got to said that didn't bother-me because I usually like to watch tv. I have to said thank you so much to the front desk people who were there for us everyday of our stay.Thank-you we will return for sure!Our room was 21 in the second floor our stay from 4/16/12 to 4/24/12

Room Tip: Good food at ave Constituyentes,Ado buses for day trips very cheap and room at posada are more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariposaGroup, Operations Manager at Hotel Posada Mariposa, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
The team of our hotel, is very pleased with your comment, is our goal to make our guests feel the peace and tranquility in our facilities, our promise is to feel our guests with a friendly familiarity, by combining the lively and colorful reality of 5th avenue with our tranquilidd spaces and nature only a few meters of each other. You'll always be welcome and we hope will be as soon as possible to continue to enjoy a real holiday of peace and kindness.
thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I only stayed for the weekend, my trip was fast, and needed a lot of help to organize it the best way possible. Dominique THE BEST HOTEL CLERK EVER helped to plan everything during my stay at Playa del Carmen, and in one day i got to visit a lot of very interesting places, if you get the chance to visit this hotel, ask for her, she will manage to give you the best guidance in your stay at this beautiful city, and hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Old time Playa Del Carmen and the New Playa come together at the sister hotels Posada Mariposa & Hacienda Mariposa. The warm, family feel of a true Mexican 'posada' is preserved with a lobby and rooms that wrap around open air gardens of lush palms and colorful bougainvillea. But just a step outside and you're instantly infused in the excitement and glitz of the renowned 'Quinta Avenida'.
These hotels are owned and managed by professionals who care about your experience and have upgraded their rooms to meet the 'boutique' experience without 'boutique' prices and without compromising a true feel of 'old Mexico'.
I stay at Posada Mariposa on my personal trips as well as booking rooms for our groups that are traveling in the area. The occasional noisy night (hey, it's Fifth Avenue) is well offset by the courteous, genuine service and great location of this top notch hotel.
It's my first choice for a place to stay in Playa Del Carmen!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariposaGroup, Operation anager at Hotel Posada Mariposa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
dear: Gail
is a great pleasure to know her important opinion, you already part of our history and you are the person most qualified to comment on our services, for several years we have been privileged to serve you and your groups of guests, you know from the Butterfly Group foundation, for this reason it is so important your comments and more meet your satisfaction regarding our work, every week we put to the test by providing our best service, stay for years between your preference and your company is for all our staff compliment of challenging personal attention.
I owe very much for your cooperation and loyalty our group, always open doors and hearts of our hotels.
thanks for visits every week, thanks for your support, thank you for trusting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Posada Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Mariposa

Address: 5 Ave. 24th & 26Th | Col. Centro Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#91 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada Mariposa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Mariposa is a cozy and charming boutique hotel known as the "Oasis" of Playa del Carmen for its beautiful and majestic garden, an environment of tranquility and relaxation in contact with pure nature mixed with the warm and personalized service that distinguishes us, all this to provide an ultimate experience feeling home away from home.Located on the very center of Playa del Carmen, right on the famous 5th Avenue and just a few steps from the Caribbean Sea, offering 18 Superior rooms, 4 Master Suites and one Deluxe Junior Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Posada Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Mariposa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Posada Mariposa Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Posada Mariposa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.