We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Freud

Save Saved
You added Hotel Posada Freud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Posada Freud
5a. Av. entre calle 8 y 10 Nte. | Center, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ossining, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I just returned from staying at Posada Freud for 7 days. For starters, I did read the reviews on the site before I still decided to go ahead and book my hotel. With that being said, the reviews did not lie. The place is right on 5th a little hard to find when you first get there but if you're coming from the ADO bus station STAY on 5th Ave and then walk 4 blocks ahead towards Calle 8 Norte the hotel will be located next to a jewelry store and across a Mexican Restaurant called Tropicale right after the Subway food store. Now the hotel was relatively cheap, maid service is provided 2xs a week unless you opt for more. I asked for an AC room - I got the AC and it worked perfectly. The bed was comfy and it had a little balcony area w/a hammock outside of the room. Here's what was ridiculous - I felt like the hotel tries to nickel and dime you for every little item; i.e. beach towels ($10 USD), safe deposit box ($30 USD), use of the kitchen, etc. I had packed my own beach towel and found creative ways to store my valuables w/o the use of the safe. The maid service not really sure why the tip envelope is provided as the 2xs she came in my room was already clean, bed made and no towels ever replaced, courtesy of MY cleaning daily before leaving. I did notice she wiped down the bathroom sink but that's about it. The cobwebs that were at eye level in the shower since my 1st day checked in were still in the same spot when I left 7 days later & I looked everyday. Bring PLENTY of mosquito repellant as every night I was under a constant mosquito attack to be woken up with bites to the eyelids, forehead, cheeks and arms. I must've killed 12-15 mosquitoes daily and they were still in the room even though I kept all the windows closed and locked at all times. Ants all over the floors too that get inside your suitcase. I expect there to be some kind of bugs since you are in the tropics but in all my years in traveling never have I been inundated with so many in 1 room at a time. Lastly, if you're a light sleeper, go elsewhere. The bar next door & the Santanera night club will keep you up all night long or you can just bring earplugs with you or turn both the tv & ac on to fall asleep. There's no phone in the room which is fine but if you need a wake up call, I would carry a travel alarm since the wake up calls are far from punctual!! You are about 2 blocks from the beach, there is no pool, and you can walk to the walmart and buy stuff there for relatively cheap by walking about 4 long blocks from the hotel traveling towards the Avenues into town. Overall, economical but not sure that I would return again.

Room Tip: Make sure if you need the AC you request a room w/AC otherwise you will have the ceiling fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadafr, Propietario at Hotel Posada Freud, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am sorry that your stay at Casa Freud was not fot your full satisfaction. Some time ago we switched from a usual hotel to a guesthouse with room service twice a week. The house offers greate security, entrance (gate) is closed all day long, no one can enter without the house keyes. Beach towels and safe box keys are for free, we ask only for a refundable deposite payment. The use of our kitchen is not included in the economic room rates, but each room with AC has a frige and a coffee maker available to be able to take breakfast and cold food inside your room, on the balcony or in the garden. Our penthouse has its own and private kitchen included. The replacement of room towels as well as fumigation can by ordered each day by maintenance service, which is available 24 hours a day. Please make use of it if it is necessary.
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    22
    7
    14
    9
See reviews for
7
61
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceano
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I only stayed here 2 nights, but it was a nice clean little place with a friendly staff. It's right on 5th Ave, easy yo get to everything. It's not fancy, and really has no amenities. But if you're needing something economical and clean, this is a good option. There is a noisy bar next door, but you're on vacation... go have a beer and listen to some music!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed here a few years ago but it was perfect when I did! It's right on quinta avenida and close to the beach. The staff was really nice and cute little bar in front was great to people watch and chat with others. The price was really cheap for what I got. Was worth way more and better than other places I've stayed. Would totally go back and love Playa!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here already a year ago, but this time was a little disappointing. First of all, the well known after hour club la Santanera is newly located in Calle 10 between 5th and 10th avenue. This means, almost next door to the Posada and therefore loud electronical music until 6 in the morning, almost every night. Secondly, the rooms were so humid that after one week we had mold on our clothes and shoes and everything felt humid all the time. What's more is that they just cleaned the rooms every third day which led to a always full toilet paper bin in the bathroom (bad smell) and to generally a lot of waste in the room. This place is definitely not relaxing during night and therefore just suitable for party people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a really nice and good value option for staying in the heart of Playa del Carmen. We received a warm welcome when we arrived - there is someone at reception for most of the day and night, which makes you feel very secure and looked after. The bed was really comfortable, and the room was cool (we did choose to have air con) and shady. Enjoyed hanging out on the balcony in the hammock watching over the garden. Yes, the bar next door is noisy in the evenings, but it stops at a reasonable hour, and it is very peaceful during the day. I'd definitely stay here again.

[One other comment: I wouldn't recommend the breakfast at the hotel's own beach club - there is a deal offered but its not great, the coffee was awful and we only got 4 slices of toast between two of us - nowhere near as good as the breakfast at the bar next door to the hotel, which is excellent value especially with the wifi. The beach club does have loungers for the use of guests if you buy some drinks though, and its got a nice atmosphere so its worth a visit at some point].

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed here several times and it has never disappointed . Love the music and bar next door , just adds to the fun . Staff is very friendly too . It is a bit loud at night so if you have little ones they would need to be good sleepers . Nice central location ez walk to beach

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This little hotel is a gem of a find. My boyfriend and I stayed in Room 14, a gorgeous room with tile floors, lovely bathroom, and ac/tv. (We didn't use either, but they're there!) It is on the ground floor and opens into they courtyard. There is a great hammock/swing and a little table outside for your use. There's also a full-size fridge/freezer for your use as well. If you want to use the kitchen, it's USD $15/week, but it has everything included, dishes, cookware, etc.

As mentioned, there is a live music bar next door, but my boyfriend and I didn't mind it-we got a free concert each night and you can see the performers from the balcony upstairs.

Word of warning- this place is SUPER HARD TO FIND and NO ONE has heard of it. It's on 5th avenue, between 8/10th street, but it doesn't have a sign. It's in between Bar Fah and a jewelry store. It has a little black gate going into a courtyard and is very hard to miss. We didn't see it at first and no one around had heard of it. Just look hard for its name (says Posada Freud above the gate) between Bar Fah and the jewelry store and you'll find it!

The staff is super friendly, they fixed our hot water when it stopped working, the maid made beautiful towel animals each time she cleaned, they provide filtered water for you, and can answer any questions you have about the area!

Room Tip: Look at the website to find pictures of the rooms! You can request specific ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Posada Freud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Freud

Address: 5a. Av. entre calle 8 y 10 Nte. | Center, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Freud (Hotel Posada Freud) is located on 5th Avenue, the most famous pedestrian zone of the Riviera Maya, between 8th and 10th Streets, in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The comfortable PENTHOUSE is perfect for big parties up to 12 people, the other ROOMS accommodate from 1 to 4 people. CASA FREUD is surrounded by countless discos, bars, restaurants, cafés, boutique and handicraft shops, spas, travel and tour agencies, dive shops, real estate offices and more. Experience the lively pulsating scene out on the town and then dive into the relaxed atmosphere of our shady garden filled with tropical almond trees. PLEASE NOTE: Our location is the right place for people who plan to enjoy the day and have an active nightlife, but not for people, who love early nights. Because there is live music at our neighbor’s bar nightly from 7:00pm to 12:00am and their bar closes at 2:00am.Casa Freud is just a three-minute walk to the white sandy beach and the several shades of the crystal blue Caribbean sea. Sounds like a Freud dream but THIS one’s very real! Our go-to beach club, Lido Bar, is a centrally located bar and beach club, between 10th and 12th Streets and it offers Casa Freud guests lounge chairs, washrooms and shower in exchange for just one order of food or drink.A 1-week minimum stay for ROOMS3 nights minimum stay for the PENTHOUSE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posada Freud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Freud Hotel
Posada Freud Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Posada Freud Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Freud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.