We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring ear plugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Freud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Freud
Save
You added Casa Freud to your Saves list
5ta. Av. Norte #192 Entre Calle 8 y 10, Fraccion 2 | Center, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bring ear plugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel is actually a motel and the windows only have bug screen and no glass, so when the bar next door have their live band playing every night till' sometimes 2 am. you better have some good ear plugs. Toilet blocks every day and we are careful not to throw paper in there but still had problems. The place looks nice but once you get to know it....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    23
    7
    14
    9
See reviews for
7
62
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The hotel was the same price as hostels nearby, but with the amenities of a hotel. The European showers made it hard to get ready (the toilet, shower and sink are all in the same room, but the shower has no doors and drains into the floor).

The location is ideal right on the main strip, a block from the beach and near restaurants. The downside of this spot is also the location. There is a bar attached that plays loud music until midnight each night and it will vibrate the room as well. If you're planning on being out late then it shouldn't be a problem.

The wifi is non-existent at this spot, but Starbucks is right across the way for anything important.

The garden is a pretty jungle set up set back inside the street and the staff is nice.

I doubt I would stay here again because of the shower and noise situation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had 2 stops in Playa del Carmen on our trip to Mexico and on the second one we checked into this hotel due to its proximity to 5th Ave and the beach. The location was definitely great with the beach only a few minutes walk and bars/restaurants on its door step. There is a fun bar next door which had live music both nights we stayed. This is great if you like the nightlife but it means that the hotel is not quiet.
Beach towels and a safe key can be provided but you need to provide a cash deposit.
We selected an air conditioned room which was definitely a wise move. But, the room was pretty dark and seemed to have a ridiculous number of mosquitoes. We didn't have too many issues because we used a lot of repellant and my partner would do a big mosquito kill each evening before we went out for dinner. I guess they were let in each day by the cleaner when the doors/windows were open.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

we stayed at 3 places in Playa 2 years ago, and loved Posada Freud (giving it a good review on this site) and so headed back there this year. Last time we felt that we had a great room at a good price, with the only pitfall being the late (3am), loud music.
Sadly,we felt it had let itself go a bit this visit. We walked right on past as the whole front was in darkness, not even the hotel sign was lit up and the reception guy was sat in the dark. We had our old room- minus the fridge (which was replaced) and hot water (which we never got). The crockery was much depleted and the cutlery was down to 2 forks and a spoon. The loud music also went on later than our first visit, heard even through ear-plugs.
We had planned 4 more days there at the end of our holiday, but found a bigger, quieter, cheaper room with full self-catering utensils. Sorry Posada, our love of you has waned.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at Freud's for a couple of nights Sept 2011. The rooms are spacious, airy, and super clean, with an excellent location and very good price.

In addition we got free beach loungers for the 2 days at nearby Sensi, free use of beach towels and free Wifi. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I went there with my girlfriend four the last 2 days of our vacations in the Playa del Carmen area. I was cheap but still very clean and quiet. The hotel itself is accessible by an "alley" between a converse shop and a bar on he 5th avenue so the real facade is hidden from most tourists eyes.

The only bad comment I can give (I had to find one) is that we had problems using the (free) wifi.

I recommend this hotel for any couple or family who want to stay in playa, but still be able to escape its loud and crowded streets for a few hours of good sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

it is a wonderful hotel, with clean rooms, and the price is perfect. i loved the location. thnx for everything. i loved my vacations so much.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Freud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Freud

Address: 5ta. Av. Norte #192 Entre Calle 8 y 10, Fraccion 2 | Center, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minimum stay 3 nights: Casa Freud is located on 5th Avenue, the most famous pedestrian zone of the Riviera Maya, between 8th and 10th Streets, in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The comfortable PENTHOUSE is perfect for big parties up to 12 people, the other ROOMS accommodate from 1 to 4 people. CASA FREUD is surrounded by countless discos, bars,restaurants, cafes, dive shops, boutiques, handycrafts,travel and tour agencies...Etc. Enjoy a night out on the town in the pulsating nightlife of Playa or relax in the atmosphere of our shady garden filled with tropical almond trees. PLEASE NOTE: Our location is the right place for people who plan to enjoy an active nightlife, but not for people, who love early nights. Live music at our neighbor's bar nightly from 7:00pm to 12:00am,they bar closes at 2:00am.Casa Freud is just a three-minute walk to the white sandy beach and the several shades of the crystal blue Caribbean sea. Our go-to beach club, Lido Bar, is a centrally located bar and beach club, between 10th and 12th Streets and it offers Casa Freud guests lounge chairs, washrooms and shower in exchange for just one order of food or drink. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Freud Hotel
Posada Freud Playa Del Carmen
Casa Freud Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Freud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.