We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundays Buffet is a Must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wah Wah Beach Bar

Wah Wah Beach Bar
Calle 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 1 984 143 6009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 787 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wah Wah Beach Bar\Restaurant\Club is located right in front of the Caribbean Sea, on one of the nicest stretches of beach in Playa del Carmen. With the biggest grass roof and sandy floors, you cannot miss us! We offer a great selection on our Menu which includes Brick Oven Pizza, in house roasted Ribs, Chicken and Sausage, Fresh Seafood, Stuffed Hamburgers, Wings, Sandwiches, Salads and so much more. Wah Wah Beach Bar is fast becoming famous for their 130 peso ($8.20 USD), all you can eat Pig Roast Buffet on Sundays. We are a live music venue with bands playing every Thursday through Sunday, shows start at 7 pm. (Wah Wah is home of The Nasty Bstards Band!!!) *COCKTAIL AND BEER BUCKET SPECIALS DAILY2 X 1 Pizza Free Beach ChairsFree showersFree WiFiVery Kid Friendly (and kids menu)
Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sundays Buffet is a Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a Good CLEAN restaurant. I come here every time I am Playa.
Owner/manager (American & Canadian) lives on site & really cares about customers.
Quality & customer service are #1!

They have live music many nights.
A huge dance floor & all kinds of activities like horse shoes on Sunday.

Right on the beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Wah Wah Beach Bar, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks Kabrigo!!
We are constantly trying to improve on our customer service so it is very refreshing to have received your comments. My husband and I are here on site and take pride in everything that we do. Thank You for taking the time to write us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    78
    21
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Should try it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food is ok, nothing special. A must is the all you can eat roasted whole pig on Sundays. Drinks are good and the music was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wah Wah Beach Bar - Our favorite in Playa del Carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We visited Wah Wah Beach Bar a number of times during our 6 night stay in Playa del Carmen from July 3-9, 2013. We had the 4th of July buffet with great southern style barbeque and much more at a very reasonable price (like being back in South Carolina with great barbeque). They have a very reasonable price on a pig roast buffet (or other themed meal) each Sunday. We enjoyed the free beach chairs almost daily during our stay in Playa, excellent free wifi and great pricing on cerveza and margaritas. Roberto, Pablo and other staff provided great service. No pushy service here like many other Playa del Carmen beach clubs. It was neat to be able to meet Kim and Cowboy John. We will be back in September 2013.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Club!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We got married at the Wah Wah Club in Playa, July 1, 2013. We had an amzing experience. They closed the entire club for our wedding and we had only 16 people. we used their sound system to connect our Ipods. They decorated the sand with huge illuminated balls. Jesus (The Manager) was amazing and very professional. We came back after the wedding to have a beer with him and say good bye. The Pig Roast Buffet is $9.00pp all you can eat and the tap beer is 1.00 also, The pizza is excellent! we are very please and we made friends for life. we'll come back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Playa del Carmen "must"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We kept hearing about Wah Wah as a must visit from the all the expats we were meeting. We went on a Sunday and the BBQ buffet is everything that you read about in the other posts. As good of BBQ as we have here in the Carolina's (that's high praise, ya'll).

The also had two bands, Combo Criollo and The Dirty Bastards. Probably the best $10 you'll ever spend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wah Wah Beach Bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Wah Wah Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wah Wah Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.