We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay to your Saves list
Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km. 298.8 Carretera #307, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #46 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“AMAZING!!!....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I had an amazing time at Blue Diamond. We stayed there from April 21-25. The staff was so friendly, great food (a la carte), tranquil, beautiful beach and we had an amazing room with a spacious luxurious bathroom that included 2 rain showers and an outside tub. A special note to Caesar, he was great!! Was always there asking us if we needed anything to eat or drink. We chose this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. We loved the trail walk from our room to the beach, sometimes we used the bikes as well. We also took a sailing lesson that they provide there on the beach side which was fun and we did parasailing as well which was amazing!! The service was top notch from beginning to end and we will be back. Loved every moment of it <3

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    180
    61
    29
    23
See reviews for
42
666
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto ON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Until you check to see if everything in your room is working or not. We lost a couple of hours of holiday time unpacking/repacking/unpacking because in the first room the air conditioning wasn't working. We were moved to another room where it was working. After unpacking in the second room we discovered that the TV wasn't working. A broken light fixture fell into the sink from overhead. The outdoor plunge pool didn't drain. Had a front desk receptionist laugh over the phone when assistance with these issues was being requested. Very surprised by recent positive reviews of this joint. Spent one week there and didn't find much to like except breakfast and the one night we escaped to Escensia and experienced what we expected at Blue Diamond. Both are SLH and we are members. However, Blue Diamond ISN'T WORTHY of being an SLH member resort.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the Blue Diamond and it was fantastic. We have been traveling to this area for 10+ years staying in a lot of AI's and non AI's and this is the best we have stayed in for overall experience. Cannot rate it high enough and we will be back.
A couple of caveats, if you want a large pool with swim up bar and loads of activities then this is not the place. It does have a pool and a great pool bar overlooking the ocean that stays open until 1am with great staff, thank you Javier, but the scene is more chilled and laid back. The beach is narrow and is a bit cramped, I would suggest they spread the chairs out a bit more. The ocean is wonderful though with a few stones and no seaweed.
The grounds are beautiful, when the door opens from the highway it's like stepping into paradise. It can be a long walk to the beach depending on your room but golf carts are patrolling and the walk along a stone ribbon of pathway through the mangrove and gardens I found very relaxing.
Lastly the food, the best food we have had at any AI, period. All A la carte and lots of choices cooked to perfection. I was concerned about only 2 restaurants but the daily menus with specials were great. The staff are superb. Javier at the pool bar and Dago at Breakfast and Lunch, thanks for looking after us. Also, the steam room is included and is a great place to steam out all of the great food and drinks.

Richard and Madalyn

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Fantastic

*ROOMS*-great spacious and modern rooms, we stayed in many resorts in Riviera Maya, and it would be hard to find more amazing rooms. Bright, private, with contemporary décor. Fine quality bedding, towels etc.
* FOOD*-excellent, local and fresh! Even though it is all inclusive and there are only 3 restaurants, the menu changed daily and we really enjoyed the food selection and quality.
We love the pool service, no need to get dress and go to the restaurant, but still be able to enjoy gourmet food. We loved fresh sushi, fusilli salad and always cold drinks!
*NEVER CROWDED*- pool/beach area with 2 restaurants and bar are the place to be. Although the space is not huge, we never felt crowded. Always tons of loungers to choose from, nice fluffy towels and pillows.

The Good

*SPA*-complimentary access to the wet areas of the Spa:Steam Room, Sauna, Indoor and Outdoor pools and experience showers. Great Zen ambiance, very tranquil experience
* FREE OF CHARGE*-Mayan Temazcal session, snorkeling tour, complimentary worldwide calls and free internet
*STAFF*-very accommodating, mostly very professional and eager to help. Few outstanding employees in our eyes: Victor and Delgado-wait staff at Aquamarine and pool area and Gabriela- front desk manager. Thank you for making our trip even more wonderful!
*LOCATION*-only 30 minutes drive from airport, and 15-20 minutes to Playa Del Carmen. Very convenient!
*BEACH*- beautiful, tranquil and relaxing. Soft sand, excellent service, never crowded and you always will be able to find a chair. Lots of umbrellas and palm trees if you prefer shade areas.

The Bad:

* INCONSISTENCE SERVICE*-resort is filled with inconsistencies that keep it from being a 5 star resort. While the staff is very friendly, be prepared to ask for things over and over again and to be kept waiting an unreasonable amount of time. Few first days everything was going pretty smooth, but the last 2 days we were waiting almost an hour for breakfast and almost 1.5 hours for dinner. No big deal, we were on vacation after all, but quite frustrating. There is a general air of understaffing that makes this far from a luxury hotel and it's a shame because it could be an outstanding resort. It seems most of the waiting staff are working too long hours, and you can tell they are tired, which is understandable, especially working in almost 90F all day and half a night.
Everyone was truly lovely to us and we tipped consistently regardless of whatever happened but the list of mishaps is too great to even start...
* MAITANANCE*-Let me say that's the resort is beautiful. It used to be a part of Mandarin Oriental family and absolutely brilliant architecture and the whole ambiance is still there. However it is million little things that seems overlooked... Peeling paint in outdoor area of the rooms, dirty walkways, full of birds poo patio areas at the room etc. I am the true believer that the
"the devils is in the details" and the details are rather lack of them is very visible at Blue Diamond.

The Ugly:

*A/C*- or rather lack of it. Our A/C didn't worked for 2 days (!!!!!) which is a big NO NO in my book. After a few visits in the lobby and a little aggravation, we were moved and upgraded to a lovely room with working A/C, but nerveless it should never happened in resort that's claiming to be a 5 star or luxury.
We talked with other patrons and the staff and it seems it is an ongoing problem in the resort. Again BAD MANAGMENT. Issues like this should be resolved immediately and never come back. Not in 5 star resort.
*20$ ROOM SERVICEC CHARGE*- It just seems funny and rather weird to charge for it. Never saw similar practices in 5 star hotels, it doesn't look good or classy. Adjust your room prices and get rid of this idiotic charge, again management needs to step up.
* IDENTITY CRASIS*- It seems the resort is still trying to find the right groove for them. It is way too loud for a tranquil, ZEN- feel like resort and way too quite for a regular resort. During our stay the resort was hosting a wedding and the whole vibe of relax and peacefulness just vanished. Too be honest I was expecting much more tranquil and romantic ambiance. I was aware of lack the evening life or entertainment, which I did not care on my honeymoon and was not nicely surprised of the big wedding going on and basically taking over the resort or crazy loud ethnic music played by the pool for hours on Saturday afternoon. It is another inconsistence in the resort that's needs to be addressed. I personally believe the architecture and the all aura ( which is still there) of former Mandarin Oriental is still there and should be perused. With crazy busy life, we all ( we- 30-40-50-60 -years old successful professionals and couples ) are craving quite, tranquil, serene and beautiful places for our vacations. Cancun area has millions of options and resorts for singles, families, party animals etc.., and not necessarily needs another one, but still can accommodate the- sanctuary for adults, "la la land" we want to experience at least for 2 weeks in our busy life's. Be bold Blue Diamond, Be Different, Be Something else. Don't stay BETWEEN the lines, it will never pays off. "He who doesn't risk never gets to drink champagne"-old, but how adequate saying. Don't stay in the shadow of Mandarin Oriental, put your own signature on it, dream big and charge big, just do not stay inconsistence:-)

We had a great time and would return to Blue Diamond, but only if the price would be right. We were lucky this time and didn't spend $5000 for a week, which seems way too overpriced with all the issues you have to deal with. Riviera Maya has a tons of wonderful properties and possibilities are basically endless. Blue Diamond could be a perfect destination, defiantly has a room for it and the beauty of this place deserve it. To said that is a long way to get there. I am myself a manager in a big medical practice and knows the difference of a place that runs smoothly or not. Also being twice a year in Mexico for past 10 years, I stayed in at least 15 different resorts and see the differences. Blue Diamond could be a real deal, a perfect couple destination, spa getaway destination, yoga retreat destination etc. just needs to addressed too many small issues, concentrate on the details and put their own stamp on it. Which I wish them from the bottom of my heart.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a great time at Blue Diamond, we normally stay at Grand Velas just down the beach but were kid-free for this trip and so took advantage of staying in a patio suite for the week.

Make sure you leave some meat after dinner in the Ambar to feed to the crocodiles and don't be prudish when your bicycles are missing at the end of your day at the beach, just take 2 others - this is the way bicycles work here. Strange thing happened one day though, we came up from the beach and bicycles gone, took 2 others and when we got back to the suite one of our original bikes was outside the room, strange! But not as strange as when we opened the door to go for breakfast in the morning and the other was there!

I have read a couple of reviews about management being difficult and to be honest we did experience a couple of problems original bicycle provision/ late check-out u- turn (was sorted) but once you step down a layer to the real team they are all great.

A small tip to the guys at the pool bar at the start of the day will get you premium, unprompted refills and nothing too much trouble but no tip also gets you as good a service as you would find anywhere else.

The guys doing the water hover are fun to watch and contrary to an earlier review, create no noise.

You will see lots of wildlife, we even saw a snake one day shooting up the pathway whilst on the back of a cart.

Great place to relax.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the jungle not a pathway, we had a patio suite looking right out to jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just got back from 4 nights at Blue Diamond Riviera Maya. Very glad we chose this place. Food is all 'a la carte', which is great for an all-inclusive (rather than buffet style you get at a lot of all-inclusives), and food was excellent quality, particularly at the fine dining restaurant Ambar, which was also included at no additional cost, but even the other restaurants were great food too. Only thing we paid extra for all stay was for a Red Bull one day when we needed to recharge.

Staff were simply amazing, you can tell the company treats its staff well, and many of them said they feel well looked after, which I think is important for a resort: happy staff = good service = happy guests! They get this very right. Some particularly good staff that looked after us were Juan de Dios (Beach / Ambar), Antonio (Ambar) and Javier (Pool bar) - must say as well that the alcohol is free-flowing and is premium all-included (Grey Goose, Bacardi, Tanqueray, Dos Equis, Tecate, etc). We must also mention Jose, Nicolas, Cesar and the manager Julian at Aguamarine.

Couldn't have been a more wonderful trip. Definitely will go back again in future to this resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Palafito Suite, which was a good choice as it was close walking distance to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We just returned from a weeks stay and it was amazing. This was our first rip to Mexico and we couldn't have picked a better place. The resort is beautiful, very tranquil, and relaxing. Entering into the lobby you are greeted by the doorman, who walks you up to check in. Your luggage is taken to the cart where they ride you to your room. The service is impeccable.The food is amazing, some of the best food you will ever have. Gabriel was our butler. He is the best. Everything was already taken care of for us, from reservations to activities. He was amazing. April at the spa was one of the most sweetest and helpful persons there. They also have some of the greatest staff. Jose at Aquamarina is great. He was funny and very pleasant. Because of there staff, and service we will be back. The Palafitos Suites are amazing. Next time we will try the Presidential. If you are looking for a place to relax and get pampered this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay

Address: Km. 298.8 Carretera #307, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Jetsetter, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Riviera Maya By BlueBay Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.