We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay to your Saves list
Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km. 298.8 Carretera #307, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I do not want it to appear that I am being too negative. Conversely, I am just trying to avoid being too repetitive to others’ positive comments. This place is really special.

NEGATIVES
A large corporate group checked in during our stay. They closed one of the restaurants each night to accommodate the group. It would have been nice to know this in advance so you could plan your eating rotation accordingly.
Ambar menu is a bit old fashioned…heavy creams, etc…Despite nightly specials, the menu is quite limited as your stay goes on.
Don’t bite on the notice under your door to see the concierge for a message! It’s a rather pushy pre-sales pitch for their preferred hotel membership.

POSITIVES
Impeccable service throughout the resort! The poolside bartenders bent over backwards with creative cocktails and frequent service.
Rooms, as others have mentioned, are great. We were in the cenote patio suites. I think these are their cheapest and they are the greatest distance to the beach/pool. However, no complaints. Great/unique view. Got bikes on day #2 and cart service was very prompt when needed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    142
    49
    27
    20
See reviews for
36
575
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband & I just got back from 5 nts. at BD.The resort is gorgeous, beautiful appointed suites. If yiou like a quiet laid back feel this resort is for you! No loud pool games, horrible big buffets or "cruise ship entertainment" to be had here. The staff is amazing starting with Gabriella & Martina at the front desk. The best wait staff who truly caters to your requests. You will always find Priscilianno, Rey David, & Martin at Aquamarine restaurant ; truly a pleasure to deal with every day. Adrien couldn't do enough for us, helping with our bikes, always there to shuttle w/ golf cart etc. The best!! Had a minor issue with getting hot water but managed just fine with medium lukewarm. Restaurant menu a little repetitive as there are only 2 options for dinner. Overall, perfect trip....can't wait to go back, hopefully next year.

Room Tip: Rooms next to spa furthest away everything. Book larger size suite, really worth it! Top floor suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Not sure why this resort is so low on the list. But I will first point out the draw backs that some might find unattractive.
There is no night life, only 3 dining options and the property is very spread out. With that said, none of this was a problem for us. We enjoy there not being any night life because that means most will retire early and there will never be a problem with noise while resting. We go to decompress and very much appreciate the serenity and quietude this resort had to offer.
There aren't a lot of restaurant choices but the menus at each are extensive and provide such a great variety. I think they are able to focus on what they do offer and make it great.
And as far as the property, it was really nice to take walks. Golf carts are always available and they do have bikes for some villas. If it is an issue, definitely book a room near the lagoon or on beachfront.
Service was very good, only one server that fell short. Juan and Caesar were exceptional!!! We really appreciated their attention to detail. Made us feel special and welcome.
Rooms are very very clean,,,which is super important to me. They are absolutely gorgeous and spacious. Nicest room we've stayed at in Mexico. Towels and mini bar are always restocked. Along with turn down service. The spa was also very nice, a bit pricey for a massage but worth it since we were on vacation.
If you really want to get away from it all and relax this is a great option for an all inclusive. If you are picky about walking and being closer to beach, probably not the best choice. We will visit again!

Room Tip: We were in Patio 6 Villa number 364. The property is stretched over a mile but this is right in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernCal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just got back from 5 days at the Blue Diamond. 3/5 thru 3/10. As others have stated clean, open concept rooms, very large bathroom, great double rainfall head showder.

Very comfortable king bed.

There was a wedding and large group there the entire time but it did seem to affect the service or jive of the place.

But what put this place over the top for us was the food and the willingness of the servers/chefs to change or create new dishes based on what we asked for. It happened at any meal, be it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Room Tip: Best tip, is to take time and talk with the staff, they were great assistance and informed us of sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My best friend and I met here for a long weekend in March. The staff was fantastic, the room was huge, and the resort was clean and well taken care of.
The only downside was the spa. We joked that it was the' spa time forgot.' They advertised a water circuit, but all they really had was showers. The pools are NOT heated, which was a problem. We had massages and pedicures, which were not great.
We loved the hotel but the spa was a big miss.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the beach, so you can avoid using the golf cart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My daughter and I just had our best vacation ever at the Blue Diamond. It is unlike any all-inclusive I have ever experienced. . . and we've been to our share of them. Everything was exquisite. The service was exceptional - everyone taking extra measures to make sure each guest's experience is the best possible. The food, drinks, and service were all excellent.

This resort doesn't try to entertain the guests; it assumes we are there to relax and be pampered. It pulls out all the stops to make that happen. They have thought of everything. The rooms are beautiful and well-appointed with all the amenities; turn down service makes sure there are always plenty of clean towels. The beach and pool area are spectacular. There is no need to "reserve" chairs or umbrellas. I am certain that if all the chairs were taken, this accommodating staff would bring out more chairs and place them exactly where you want them.

I cannot praise the food and service highly enough. Everything is made to order and served with perfect timing. Jaoquin, the manager of the restaurants, was an excellent example of the kind of service this resort provides. When I asked for the general manager of the Ambar on our last night to pay our compliments, I realized that I had seen him in the background several times but never in an obvious way.

If you have any interest in sailing, Serena is the best! She will make sure you can handle the Hobie Cat and then help you launch and return. She has a wonderful spirit that complements this resort well.

A long way of saying this resort is incredible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I just got back! We were looking for an extremely relaxing vacation and that is what we found! It was small, quiet with large rooms and great views! We started in rooms in the 200s and got moved to the 500s bc our shower was cold-the rooms were almost identical except view and convenience to beach and restaurants. The food was by far the best all inclusive food we have had. Prior to arrival I read reviews and the negatives I read about were not existent! If we needed a ride we called and one would show up within 5mins. Bicycles were not readily avail but once on list got them in one days time. We would go back again! Not a place to go if looking to be entertained-but if you would love some relaxation this was above and beyond our expectations!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay

Address: Km. 298.8 Carretera #307, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, T4B, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Riviera Maya By BlueBay Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.