We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in the Mayan Riviera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay to your Saves list
Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km. 298.8 Carretera #307, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Resort in the Mayan Riviera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one week with the Blue Diamond as a trip with my mother to celebrate my finishing my service in the Army. Everything at this resort exceeded our expectations. The atmosphere was soo relaxing, the rooms spacious and beautiful, and the staff was always on point. They constantly made you feel like you were the most important person at the resort.

The food at all the restaurants was amazing. Nothing short of five star quality, amazing presentation , and not a single meal that didn't taste absolutely delicious. If eating at the Aguamarina make sure to ask for Daniel! He was an amazing server with wonderful personality and always explained what the delicious items on our plates were.

The beach area was amazing and the service down on the beach as well.

I plan on going back every year that I can!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    126
    42
    22
    18
See reviews for
33
537
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

All was perfect! Stayed in BD in the beginning of January 2013 for three nights. The hotel is amazing. In my opinion better then Banyan Tree or Rosewood which are both near. The spa is nice. The food is excellent. Good selection of cigars and wines. Perfect view from the suites.

I recommend the laguna view suite as it is close to the beach/breakfast, dinner and smoking lounge. The price is also OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 glorious days prior to Christmas at Blue Diamond. We are still basking in the afterglow of our visit. Never (and I mean NEVER) have we felt so welcomed and warmly tended to. Day and night the super professional staff could not do enough for us....But that was only the beginning! The appointments of the elegant, oversized rooms, the ambience and beauty of our surroundings, the gorgeously and carefully prepared cuisine all added up to a slice of heaven in Mexico! Although the entire staff deseved praise, I must mention our favorite bartender (Ildegard), our gracious headwaiter (Martin) and in guest greeting services (Jesus).....In closing, we implore you to visit.....You will fall in LOVE!

Room Tip: Book one of the patio rooms (these have their own private patios), which are peaceful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed there over Thanksgiving and we had the most wonderful time. The hotel itself is gorgeous, rooms amazing and we genuinely enjoyed the expansive property. We are from New York so used to walking everywhere but there were golf carts available at all hours of the day to ferry people around. Their service was stellar...all the staff was extremely friendly and always ready to help with a smile. The only minor complaint we had was the lack of variety with respect to the food especially for dinner. We stayed there for 4 nights which was perfect but would have gotten a little tired of the food options if we stayed longer.

I can't wait to go back and am already exploring options!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Diamond during the first week of 2013, and found our visit to be a great way to begin the new year. Three couples took the trip together, and we wives, who set up the trip, were a little worried because the Blue Diamond looked and sounded quite different from the usual all-inclusive. We were concerned that our husbands might not like it, but we need not have worried.

When we arrived in the gorgeous, open-air lobby, and were all seated comfortably with fruit drinks and cool towels to complete the quick check-in process, we knew we'd found a great resort. After we'd checked in, we were taken to one of the great restaurants, Aquamarine on the beach, for lunch because our villas weren't ready yet. We were picked up after lunch and taken to our separate villas, where our bags had already been delivered. Our "villas," which seemed to be the mid-range residence option, were very roomy. They had sleeping rooms with tables and chairs ahd couches, huge walk-in closets, large bathrooms with two showers and an outdoor tub and terrace, and another terrace facing the lagoon with lounge chairs and another table and chairs.

Our villas were very near Ambar, the restaurant that served only dinner, with a wide variety of gourmet choices available. The food was unfailingly delicious while we were there. The M-bar was in the restaurant, and a cigar bar was on the rooftop--a lovely place for a pre-dinner margarita!

We were located a little hike from the beach, but if we didn't feel like walking, we could always catch a ride on a golf cart with one of thge friendly drivers. At the beach there are two restaurants--Aquamarine, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and Seviche, which is open all night and much of the day and serves a casual menu in the restaurant and on the beach as well.

The beach is gorgeous, and there was always a nice breeze while we were there to keep it from being too hot. Above the beach on the level of Aquamarine is the swimming pool. There are ski-doos, a small sailboat, a larger sailboat available, kayaks, canoes, and fishing boats available, so there is plenty to do, but it was lovely to just sit and relax in the sun by the ocean.

The spa is supposed to be great, but we couldn't stay away from the beach long enough to try it. I'm sure it would be an additional draw for many people, but we enjoyed the rest of the resort so much that we just didn't get to it.

The best thing about the resort, though, was its people. Everybody who worked there was friendly and extremely helpful. Even those who spoke minimal English were very helpful and accomodating. Sergio was one example: he drove us around, and knew all six of us by name within a day; when we left, he drove us all to the lobby with our stuff and then waited with us until our bus came. Another example: we like to play cards in the evening, and the hostess at Aquamarine found us a room to play in, and every evening added a better table, or better chairs or something new to make it nicer for us. The employees were just like this--it was amazing!

This is a terrific place, but it's adults only. I'd recommend it to anyone who can go without their children.

Room Tip: We were in the "Deluxe Laguna" villas, which were huge. There were two kinds of rooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently returned from a week at Blue Diamond Riviera Maya, and overall, we were very pleased with our experience. The resort itself is STUNNING, quite possibly the most beautiful rooms and grounds we've experienced in Mexico, and we've been to quite a few!

THE ROOMS: We stayed in a Laguna Suite room, which was stunning and enormous. The laguna is lovely, and the we didn't hear or see any of our neighbors the entire time. We didn't have any hot water the first day, but they fixed it by nightfall. The bathroom was beautiful, the only downfall being the outdoor bathtub (which was a selling point for us). First of all, you can't fill the tub yourself, you have to call the front desk to send someone... which takes almost an hour, if not more. Then, the tub that they so meticulously fill for you is barely lukewarm! Apparently it's not possible to get hot water into the outside tubs at all. The other minor complaint we had was the uneven room maintenance. A couple nights, turn down service came in the middle of the night. Once not at all. The rest of the time, however, it was perfect! They even neatly arranged all our toiletries ; )

THE GROUNDS: The grounds themselves are impeccable. It's like being in a lush rainforest. The rooms are all very private. The pools are lovely. Everything is kept immaculately clean, and the service staff is really on top of their game. I felt like anytime I tracked sand off the beach, someone was right behind me sweeping it up! The size of the resort was a little cumbersome, but they offer golf cart service whenever you need a ride to the restaurant or the beach. We were under the impression that we would get bicycles to use for the duration of our trip, but there was a wait list, so we only ended up getting them for the last few days of our trip.

THE ACTIVITIES: We actually wanted to stay at a resort that was quiet and light on the activities, so we were totally fine with the fact that there isn't too much going on. There was a sushi class (super fun), a ceviche class (which we missed), some live music, and a traditional Temezcal ceremony (highly recommended!!). There was supposed to be yoga (another big draw for us), but all the classes got cancelled while we were there.. big disappointment! All in all, this is a resort for rest and relaxation, not partying. No kids, no screaming, no drunks, no people walking around with beer cozies. Thankfully!! Heaven.

THE FOOD: We actually really liked the food. There wasn't a huge amount of variety, but we were always able to find something we liked. And bonus points for presentation! The dishes were always beautifully plated and presented. We did feel a little pressured to tip, which is unusual for an all-inclusive resort, but they did go above and beyond most of the time, so we felt good leaving tips.

Overall, we were really happy with our stay and would definitely return. I think a lot of the kinks we experienced are the growing pains from the still relatively new ownership of the resort. When we complained, the concierge sent us a bottle of wine at dinner, as well as a 15 minute massage at the spa (which was lovely). So we felt better! Hopefully the next time we come, things will go a little smoother!

Room Tip: The Laguna Suites are an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Natasha, Thank you for your delightful review. It’s great to know that Blue Diamond Riviera Maya has met your expectations in different ways, such as food, facilities and service. There is always a room for improvement and your suggestions are very much appreciated. We are looking forward to having you as our guests again and make every effort to exceed your expectations. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Totally agree with the other reviews. The place was a tropical paradise - beautifully manicured grounds, well designed and spacious rooms. The staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful, the food world class. We had plans to venture out but ended up staying at the resort most of the time, though we took advantage of the gym, yoga classes and snorkelling they offered. We travel extensively all over the world and are typically very skeptical of all inclusives but this one really won us over. We would highly recommend it to anyone we know wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay

Address: Km. 298.8 Carretera #307, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Riviera Maya By BlueBay Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.