We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were hoping for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay to your Saves list
Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km. 298.8 Carretera #307, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #50 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just what we were hoping for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This resort met and even exceded our expectations. A few of the exceptional things:

1. Almost instant service at any request.
2. Within 10 minutes of arriving (early in the day) we were checked in, taken on a quick property tour, helped with putting our luggage in our room, taken to lunch were we were greeted by name and asked for our preferences, allergies, etc. and then asked what time we would like room cleaning and turn down each day and then blown away by the kindness and attentiveness of the servers.
3.Within the first hour we had enjoyed a delicious lunch with fresh local specialties, a glorious ocean view and a mariachi group playing requests, then whisked back to our room by the ever ready golf carts where our private plunge pool was already being filled at our request.
4.The quality of the room amenities was great, even cintronella based repellent if we wanted to sit on our porch at night. The linens were plush and we received fresh towels twice a day.
5. Never a problem getting a lounger or a relaxation bed by the cool infinity pool, warm lap pool or very warm jacuzzi. Never a problem getting a chair and umbrella right on the lovely clean beach where you seldom sit for more than 10 minutes without offers of service. Want two thick beach towels and a pillow for your lounger, no problem here, no towel cards or stingy lack or availability, just constant service and a desire to please.
6.Plenty of constantly clean restrooms available by the pools, beach and restaurants with individual cloth hand towels.
7. The water circuit at the spa is included with a eucalyptus steam room, followed by experience showers, healthy rehydration (such as chlorophyl water to drink) and then the bubbling relaxation pool, again with plenty of plush towels, robes. lockers and amenities for your comfort.

Much has been written about the large rooms, pleasant decor and great food selections, and it is all true, but what really sets this place apart from the ordinary AI experience is the staff's attention to detail and the managements desire that each guest have a stress free vacation, no cattle herding going on here, no crassness passed off as entertainment, no loud drunk groups topped by music so loud you can't have a conversation here. Instead a refined sense of relaxation,indulgence and peace underscored by a happy vibe of people who really seem to be enjoying their jobs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your delightful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest. I was particularly happy to read your comments about our staff's desire to please. All of us at Blue Diamond are truly grateful for the honor you gave us to be host of your vacation. Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    192
    65
    31
    23
See reviews for
44
697
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Blue Diamand and it was ALMOST the perfect resort. Let's start with the good...the resort is beautiful and the rooms are some of the most spacious you will ever find. So much room and perfectly done with multiple showers and a small pool outside our room. The view from the room was wonderful. The staff at this resort are top notch...some of the most courteous and attentive staff we have ever experienced. Ceaser will take care of you at the beach! The spa service was ridiculously great...do not skip the massage. We have traveled the world and the service at Blue Diamand beats them all. What wonderful people. To sum up the positives...best room we've ever had and the best service we've ever had and the resort is fun and beautiful.

Now for the slightly negative...good luck ever getting your television to work. By accident, we got the sound working twice. No big deal, but annoying. My wife and are foodies...so food and cocktails are important to us when we travel. The cocktails are lacking...the cocktail menu is just missing something. Not enough choices and the martinis just never tasted quite right. We would stare at the cocktail menu and never know what to get. The standard wines that they pour are not good quality. In fact, a couple are seriously flawed (Cab/syrah blend & the tempranillo specifically.) If you want good wine, you will need to order off their wine menu and pay for it.

Now for the food...I know this will sound strange...but everything was fantastic, except for the main course for dinner each night. Breakfast...awesome..lunch...fantastic. The Mexican themed breakfasts were just plain incredible. The view over the ocean and they had the perfect breakfast menus. The lunch offered was also top notch...loved the duck tacos and the tuna.

Dinner...well, it was flawed. Don't even bother ordering any meat off the menu. Whether it flank, filet or rib eye, it just was never cooked under flame. It almost seemed that it was boiled. This seems like such an easy thing to fix...sear the meat! For being right on the ocean, you would expect many fish options...not the case. The fish from the Mayan menu on our first night was something my wife and I couldn't even take more than 2 bites of.

If you decide to go "off campus" for dinner, then I highly recommend La Casa Del Agua which the staff at Blue Diamand recommended to us...wonderful dinner in Playa Del Carmen.

I leave this feedback so hopefully the staff reads this and makes some adjustments because it is a seriously great operation they have there and an incredible vacation destination. We would recommend it highly. Again, my wife and I are foodies and I'm in the wine industry so we may be pickier than most. In fact, it seemed that most people completely enjoyed their dinners.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Tom, Allow me to take this opportunity to express my gratitude for all your kind words about our staff and hotel´s facilities. I'm happy to know that your overall experience was pleasant. However, there is always a room for improvement and your suggestions are very much appreciated. We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future. We will make every effort to exceed your expectations.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A friend and I went on our annual "get away from life" vacation for five days at the Blue Diamond Riviera Maya. It was fantastic! We had a wonderful time and it was due to the beautiful resort, the fabulous food, and the outstanding service. The staff truly were great. They were attentive, kind, funny, and very well trained. The concierges, specifically Omar, were fabulous. They learned our names right away and really paid attention to getting us set up with excursions, classes, dinner, a celebration cake, and, oh yes, our bikes!

The all-inclusive was great. I was worried about the food before we got there, but I worried for nothing. The food was excellent, and I live in Chicago and am a food snob. The wine choices were fine. The service at all meals was quite good. Breakfast specifically was excellent. Eating while overlooking the ocean - it was wonderful.

The rooms were beautiful. We started out in one of the junior patio suites. It was huge. Beautiful, large bathroom. We had a little trouble with getting hot water and the sound bar in our room. We called several times to report the hot water issue. They sent someone each time basically immediately. We continued to have the problem and the concierge at the front desk moved us to a different room (an upgrade even). It was all a rather pleasant experience even though it was interfering with our relaxing. It's a testament to their dedication to service.

Overall, this was a fantastic place to spend a vacation lounging around the pool, eating, drinking, relaxing, riding our bikes, getting massages at the spa, working out at the fitness center, and laughing with the staff. We will absolutely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our group of eight had a wonderful time at the Blue Diamond. The resort is stunning and the room is spacious and modern, but the most of all, it's the service that's above all the rest. All the staffs were extremely friendly and always greeted us with a smile. A big thanks to all the waiters for taking such good care of us.

The only negative thing was the limited dining options. The food was delicious but having only 1 choice for breakfast and lunch, and only 1 restaurant open for dinner a couple of nights, it got a bit repetitious toward the end of our stay. But nonetheless, we still pigged out and enjoyed every meal. (FYI...the seafood soup at the Aquamarina is the best!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your recommendations! We are looking forward to your next visit in the company of your friends. Next time be sure to try our "Ceviches" cooking lessons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a week long stay at BD and were hard pressed to come up with one negative thing. From beginning to end, this was more than a vacation-it was an experience. Having stayed at many resorts across different Caribbean locals, this was by far the best. The service is impeccable, where waiters know your name and can anticipate your requests before you made up your own mind. Shout out to Ceasar and Roman, who kept the XX and the margaritas coming! The rooms are beautiful and spacious, with an outdoor space with plenty of privacy and an outdoor tub, which we didn't get around to. The only thing worth mentioning is there is not much going on in terms of night entertainment, which seemed to suit the couples which made up 95% of the guests, although depending on the person that can be either a good or bad thing-we were a group of 4 so we were not bored as long as the bars were opened (till 1am) and the in room bar was stocked. On that note, the hotel had a very good selection of top shelf liquor and a good wine selection. Some come at an additional charge though. When we got to the room, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne and a beach bag, which were nice touches. Also the free long distance calls and wifi were a small yet very noticeable and much appreciated features-really made the hotel stand out. Overall this is one of those places you recommend and then turn green with envy when someone buys into your repcmendation because you start wishing it was you coming back there instead of them ;)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the resort. We always felt welcomed and the staff were the friendliest we've ever seen. Resort was beautiful, the food was excellent and very fresh. There were a couple of times we were too lazy to walk the 10 minutes to the restaurant on site and called for a cart to take us but it never arrived! It didn't spoil our trip we just took a nice stroll as we should have. :) we told Jorge (concierge) about the incidences and he immediately got us bicycles to get around the resort in. We had so much fun as my husband and I have not ridden bicycles for a long time and felt like kids! I did not use the spa but did hear a couple of other guests rave about the steam room which is free for 15 mins!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Laguna room and it was absolutely gorgeous. It was within walking distance to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for posting this nice review of Blue Diamond. Next time be sure to try our massages menu at our Spa!
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 4-night stay here! It was the one of a kind all-inclusive thing - not cheesy and cheap, but generous, a la carte food and high quality. The resort wasn't very busy that time we visited, but they had plenty of staff. The service was amazing. There was nothing more you could have asked for, and they seemed to read the wishes from our eyes. It is great place if you are traveling without kids and don't need to be around other guests' kids - it's an adult only resort! Our suite was very spacious and also modern, as was the style of the entire resort. The spa and the gym are so too, with the best equipment and spa services. The two different restaurants for dinner changed their menu daily, so there were new choices every night. Everything was wonderful - we'd love to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay

Address: Km. 298.8 Carretera #307, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Splendia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Riviera Maya By BlueBay Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Diamond Riviera Maya by BlueBay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.