We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Viceroy Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off + $100 Credit
Ranked #24 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Blissful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beautiful boutique villas in stunning Mayan jungle with five star service. The villa's design was charming with our own pool, colonial style furniture blended with Mexican fabrics, candle burners, water carafe, moonlight shower, dressing area with large closets & comfortable high quality beds & linens. Outside of our room every whim was indulged, thoughtful touches like baskets of straw sunhats together with attentive but discrete staff made our stay perfect. The food was imaginatively prepared, rarely have we eaten at a resort so much as usually we get bored & like to go out but the variety here made it easy to stay cocooned in the Viceroy. Based on our stay here I would definitely try other Viceroy properties & I'd be very happy to return to this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear HummingbirdRoatan,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay.
Such feedbacks would always help our team to work in the right direction and continue to maintain our standards for all our present and future clients.
It gives us great pleasure to say that our friendly and helpful team and extra touches in our Villas make every guest feel special and team strives to provide an enjoyable stay.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    118
    45
    22
    18
See reviews for
28
515
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Viceroy Maya is a little slice of paradise...beautiful ocean front hotel that feels like a thatched hut hideway, not a massive resort. Staff is SUPER friendly and take great care of their guests. Quite spot, but near Playa if you want to get into the city. Would go back in a heart beat for a relaxing beach getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Summer J,
Thank you for your great and encouraging words for the team.
It gives us great pleasure in knowing the fact that we are able to provide our valued clients with professional and personalized customer service.
We look forward to welcome you back at Viceroy Riviera Maya in the near future; we are thrilled that your expectations were met!
Once again thank you for your time and motivating feedback.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This all private Villa has a very friendly and homy feeling. The service is so genuine and good even though I payed all inclusive with gratuity I kept giving more. The food was surprising and beat my expectations every day and every dish. The Spa was a bit of a disappointment . The daily yoga was amazing on the pier. Drinks Food and amazing atmosphere I am coming back

Room Tip: any room just be mindful of mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Gregory R,
Thank you for posting a wonderful review of your stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya. We very much appreciate your kind words and compliments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope we will have the opportunity of offering you a very warm welcome on your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Yours Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Beautiful and very private villas. Exceptional service especially from Pepe who works so hard to ensure the guests are happy and fully accommodated. Pablo was also an excellent waiter. The pier is relaxing but the water can be a little rough depending on the time of year. I would recommend all-inclusive as to get to Playa for meals will cost taxi fare to and from (about $20-25 each way). We had incredible time and enjoyed every bit of this outstanding property!

Room Tip: The villas away from the beach are definitely more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear mjmcmeans,
Thank you for taking the time to write us this great review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our accommodation, friendly staff and service.
We do endeavor to make our guest stay with us the best possible experience that it can be.
Hope to see you again in your next trip to Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful boutique style hotel! Very quiet & relaxing atmosphere. Truly a get away for couples wanting to unwind! None of the loud music & noise we have experienced at large resorts. The food was excellent! The property is tucked away off the main road. The beach was perfect for swimming. We were always able to have a chair under a beach hut AND a lounger in the sun. The staff is VERY accomodating. They know all the guests by name and are very eager to make your time there perfect!We went into town for dinner a couple of nights just for a change in atmosphere. Playa is a short taxi ride. However, dinner at the Viceroy was wonderful. We loved the lighting around the pool area & the romatic feel!

Room Tip: Our room was completely secluded. We couldn't see any other guests and we never heard anything o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear dpmoore,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your holiday experience at Viceroy Riviera Maya.
We try our best to offer our guests an incredible experience, whether they spend time at the beach in one of our palapas, relax at one of our jungle cabin while taking a massage or have a delicious meal at our Coral Grill or at La Marea Restaurants. Based on your comments we were able to achieve this. We feel very happy and proud that you find our property a unique hidden gem with excellent service and those extra personal touches.
Once again, many thanks for your review and we look forward to your return visit.
Warm regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long islland, ny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beyond amazing service. From check in to check out it was a flawless stay. Special shout out to Manny and David and Chef Paloma for helping us with our dietary restrictions. Service from Pepe at the pool and beach was outstanding. If you are thinking of going don't look any further. They address you by name and know how you like your coffee. Best service we ever experienced. Very romantic and secluded.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear marissad,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review of Viceroy Riviera Maya. We couldn't be happier to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and that you appreciated the attention to detail and service from our amazing staff. Our Culinary Team is honored by your kind words and is delighted that they could assist with your dietary restriction. We hope your travels bring you to Riviera Maya again soon and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our romantic getaway.
Warm regards.
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

What can I say...this was the best customer service I've ever received, and I know my new wife would agree with me. From being greeted at our tranquil check-in (there is no front desk, just a breezy bamboo entryway) by Omar, to the impeccable service day in, day out courtesy of Pepe and Francisco, I've never felt more welcomed, honored and taken care by a hotel staff before. (My wife cried at our last lunch when Pepe brought the final check.) Pair that with the breathtaking view of the Caribbean, this place literally is heaven on earth. We were there for a week and left the hotel a total of two times; and doing that was like pulling teeth. Check this place out, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Splurge for the Beachfront Bungalows! They're pricey, but the direct access to the beach and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Michael F,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your honeymoon experience. We are truly honored to read that you enjoyed your stay and most of all this was one of the best experiences you have had. The fact that you had a wonderful experience reinforces that we are certainly doing an amazing job.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed so much our beach front Villa and our incredible staff, which is always attentive and ready to assist you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our jungle paradise.
Best Regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.