We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing! Love, Love, Love this resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Viceroy Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% Off Plus $100 Credit
Ranked #26 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing! Love, Love, Love this resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Viceroy Riviera Maya for 7 nights on our honeymoon. This resort is so incredible and I can't say enough good things about it. The rooms are unbelievable. Our favorite thing was the outdoor moon shower! My husband refused to shower indoors he loved it so much! Its such a unique setting with the rooms in the jungle. We even saw monkeys overhead on several occasions. The beach is wonderful and we felt so taken care of by Francisco and Pepe every day. They let us have two sets of lounge chairs, one in the sun and one in the shade! We felt very VIP! The spa and therapists are awesome. The staff here is what makes this place so special. I have traveled all over the world and stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels/resorts and the staff is by far superior to most. Oscar, Carlos, Manuel, Victor, Gilberto, Francisco, Pepe etc truly made our experience phenomenal. The food here is so excellent we actually didnt leave the resort once to try dining anywhere else. We did have an issue with our airport transfers both to and from the resort (always give yourself plenty of time to get from the resort to Cancun!) but honestly you will LOVE every second of your experience here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    105
    42
    21
    18
See reviews for
24
468
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny, ny
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed here for 5 days in paradise.The resort ambiance and unbelievable staff was truly 5 stars!!upon our arrival Oscar one of the managers, met us and greeted us with cold towels& drinks.We immediately felt very comfortable with feeling created by the resort.The beach staff is beyond any description with Pepe& Francisco catering to our every whim ,usually before we could ask them.All of the staff at viceroy was excellent and couldn't, do enough for us.This is now our favorite resort in the Riviera area,we have been to this area at least 8 times in the past few years staying at other boutique resorts.

Room Tip: We were in room18 which is a royal villa,very roomy with a real feel for the culture.it had a very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a quiet romantic place to escape for 4 days and we thought we found it. Everything was turning out just perfect until we began to eat. When you choose a hotel of this caliber you expect the chef to have an idea of what culinary cuisine is all about. The first night was the chefs dinner for the hotels guests as their were no other options, a 5 coarse culinary disaster with wine tasting from Mexico. The wine was delicious but as we started to receive the coarses we were shocked that how terrible was the food, and when the final coarse came which was suppose to be a rib eye, my wife was upset as her piece of meat was actually a piece of fat, and mine was tougher then leather. The chef was no where to be seen, now maybe I'm crazy but if you are invited the a "chefs "dinner" the chef is present and over seeing everything in the Restaraunt. While conversing with the sommelier we discovered it was his last night as he knew the food does not go with the hotel. Be aware as well, earlier in the day we had lunch at the pool side Restaraunt and when you receive the bill, their is already a 15% tip added to your amount (15% service charge) I asked the waiter if the tip was included and he said "well, their is a service charge, but if you want to leave a tip, it's extra" We are from Cancun and we know what is service charge and what is a tip, what this waiter was trying to do was fool us. Let me make clear that the hotel itself is spectacular, the staff (except lunch waiter) were at the level of the hotel, excellent but the food, VERY expensive and not worth the money. We have no problem paying for quality and fine dinning and I would love to return to this hotel...BUT WHEN THEY CHANGE THE CHEF

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Wiljor,
We were quite surprised by your comments, since your experience was truly an exception to the rule. In fact, our resort is known for its superb cuisine and we enjoy rave reviews about our food from guests. Our chef has been with us for several years, and still is. She has received considerable recognition as a world-class culinarian, and her weekly Chef’s Dinner is a culinary highlight.
However, I accept your comments and only through your feedback we can improve the service at our resort.
As you noted in your comments, the Viceroy Riviera Maya is a spectacular resort with a topnotch staff. We strive to assure that every guest has an exceptional experience. My staff and I truly hope that you will visit us again, so we can demonstrate that our cuisine lives up to the fine reputation that we have worked so hard to establish.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The stretch of over-hyped, over-priced and overly-large hotels dotting the Mayan Riviera stretching from Cancun to Play del Carmen is impressive, unless you're looking for a smaller first class, quiet, secluded and top-of-the-class experience. The Viceroy Hotel in Playa del Carmen is just that. The 41 air-conditioned thatched-roof hideaway rooms are strung throughout the property along winding paths in Mayan forest, leading to a beautiful beach.

It's a quiet setting with two first class restaurants and a staff of 100 people. The staff selection and training makes the trip thoroughly enjoyable. There will be no unmet need or request. It's a great way to end a trip in Mexico. The property, beach, bar, food and accommodations are superb in every way.

If you want to avoid the drunken disco crowds in Cancun or Playa del Carmen, then this is your place. And if you're a drunken disco lover, please enjoy another accommodation.

Room Tip: Beach front may no be the best. Pick a secluded room in the forest. The beach is a short walk from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

One of the best hotels we have been to. The service was exceptional, all in attention, quality and simply nice. The food is of the highest quality.
We also love the exotic maze of bungalows in the jungle. Ours had an amazing outdoor pool and outdoor shower. We will definitely come back there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hands down one of the nicest places I've ever stayed - and I've been all over the world. It is very small and intimate, a very private type setting. The helpful staff, the gorgeous rooms, the relaxing atmoshpere...all perfect. I will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Where to begin. First I should tell you I planned this trip as a surprise to my wife for her 40th Birthday. She knew only we were heading to Mexico. To say the least I blew her expectations out of the water. This resort is really a gem and I don't say that lightly. It is a very different resort in that the focus is on the entire experience from the arrival to the departure. The attention to detail is amazing and consistent throughout our stay. I have vacationed quite a bit abroad and this vacation by far was the best ever.

If you want to relax and I mean relax this is the spot. The size of the resort and amount of people that can stay here at any one time is perfect. The food was outstanding, were were lucky enough to be there for the beach BBQ which was an awesome surf and turf all prepared and cooked fresh, we had the paella for lunch on another day and this was prepared and cooked fresh. The service is not just good but its genuine, which makes a big difference. Pepe is the best beach waiter in the Caribbean. He makes sure you are well hydrated!!

Twice in our 5 days stay we saw spider monkeys swinging from tree to tree on our way back to our room. The privacy of your villa is great and if you don't put it to good use that is your loss, the beach front villas are not private but have a nice view of the beach. I liked the jungle villa because it was so private but also so different to be hanging out in all that lush green foliage is a rare experience.

The spa was incredible as it was by far the best massage I think I ever had. The ambiance in the spa is also really nice and sets the tone for your treatment. I used the gym on-site a bit and it was perfect.

The concierge arranged a taxi to take us into Playa and they same driver took us back, $17 each way. We decided to leave the resort so we could head to church and hit a few shops, we might have been off the resort for 3 hrs but other than that we had no reason to leave.

We hope to go back in 5 years, we would go back sooner but we have little ones at home it made this little get away all the more special. Do the all inclusive package as it is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.