We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptionally Seductive Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Riviera Maya
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 35% Plus $100 Credit
Ranked #19 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Portland, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Exceptionally Seductive Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Arriving at the Viceroy Riviera Maya is a distinctly unique experience.

From the main highway, you'll be driven down roads so narrow only one car can pass, taken over some deeply rutted sections and, if it weren't for the occasional VICEROY blue directional signs, you'll be convinced your driver is lost. But then you arrive at what feels like a back entrance to a high-end private residence. Don't expect the usual registration desk. While you're looking for it, you're guest will likely be being guided toward your Villa. Catch up.

Heavy vegetation canopies a meandering walkway toward to your Villa, past the spa, and eventually, the Ocean. You check-in within your Villa. Ours was pool side with view of the Coral Grill, the bar, and the ocean beyond. Thoughtfully appointed, the large bedroom and equally generous bathroom area both open to the outdoors. The bathroom opens to an large enclosed outdoor shower, the bedroom to a patio, small pool, and hammock. Incense was burning upon our arrival.

The staff is remarkably and consistently exceptional. We were referred to by name during our entire visit and the staff seemed genuinely concerned that our experience would be pleasant. They made sure we were well taken care of whether at the dinner table, bar, poolside, or with concierge services.

With an adults only policy, couples were generally together and happily enjoying their stay without distraction. Their attentiveness to each other created a positive backdrop for our own experience. No cannonballing or solitary drunks at the bar make for a nice couple's vacation. We guessed that at least half of the guests were on their honeymoon and, those that weren't, acted as if they were.

Nightlife was a bit more difficult. If you need it, plan on the 200 peso/15 minute cab drive to Playa del Carmen. We decided that we didn't need it and took full advantage of the two supremely satisfying restaurants at the Viceroy as well as the competent, friendly bartenders.

A side trip to Cozumel involves the 15 min taxi to Playa del Carmen and then a 45 minute ferry to the island. An excellent guided tour and private car trip to Chichen Itza, arranged by Hector (remember that name - he is a remarkable host), was a 9 hour affair - and a highlight of our vacation.

Running on the beach was safe in either direction but we'd recommend traveling north toward the Princess and beyond. Sunrises are not to be missed.

If you seek quiet privacy, luxurious accommodations, impeccable service, beach access, professional staff, and to be surrounded by like minded lovers, sign up for the Viceroy. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear KT,

Thank you for provide us your feedback regarding your recent stay. As you are approaching to the resort you might feel some uncertainty but once that you set up the first step as you express, and begin walking along the path amidst the vegetation, passing the waterfall and jungle that surround our villas, a new experience begins. At your villa you relax and enjoy our signature outdoor-moon shower, feeling in contact with the nature and in total privacy.
Our staff is always available to respond to any small request, so you always feel pampered at any time. This is our goal to make sure that you enjoy your stay and relax either in your Villa, our Main pool area, when you seat at the end of the pier while you see the sunset our just by relaxing in one of our beach palapas.

We hope that you can give us the opportunity to host you again in your next visit to the Riviera Maya.

Cordially,

Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    101
    38
    21
    16
See reviews for
20
431
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a charming place. We went to celebrate our anniversary and you can’t improve it. Just 41 super cozy villas and an extraordinary personal service. It is exclusive so expect to pay for it. Everyone has a smile and a way to make you at home. The environment is just breath taking...walking along those beautiful paths is a natural jungle like experience. The dinners on the beach are unbeatable. The only thing is the breakfast; the menu is short and not the traditional Mexican buffet, which normally is a culinary in experience in Mexico. Luxury, service, exclusivity and relaxation

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Robprad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am really glad that you have enjoyed the unique setting that offer our property, the special location of our villas amidst the nature offers not only privacy but a scenario with nature, vegetation and total relaxation. I would like to thank you for your comments about our food. We are actually in the process of doing an update in our Coral Grill Menu that is going to have more variety for our guests.

I hope that you can give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having experienced many hotels of a similar level before, it was refreshing to arrive at a hotel where a smile felt genuine, and service was effortless and faultless as it was at the Viceroy Riviera Maya. The hotel is set amongst a maze of lush jungle foliage which makes your villa seem isolated and hidden, as if it was the only one at the hotel. The staff here work as a synergistic team, each one aware of your name and where you are, as they communicate with upmost discretion amongst each other to make sure every request is handled quickly. Before you even sit down by the beautiful pool or sea, it's as if they know exactly what you desire.

Two members of note are Pepe and Hector, who both in turn looked after the majority of our requests during our stay, although there wasn't one member of staff who weren't a credit to the team.

We were lucky enough to stay in a Jungle villa and a Premium villa during our stay, and whilst both offer the privacy, the premium villa is worth the upgrade if you can afford it, as they sit on the quieter side of the resort, with many premium amenities that really make the experience that much more special.

Things to try include the Wayak Spa, with outdoor treatment rooms and with lethally hot steam room, perfect for cleansing out the tequila based cocktails; the chef's table, that offers the best of mexican cuisine and wines; and try to stay on an evening when there is a beach barbecue (was on a Friday for us) as the experience was really beautiful and romantic. We had the opportunity to swim with turtles and visit Chichen Itza, as organised by the hotel, both wonderful memorable experiences.

Bar the slightly expensive food, drink and spa services of the hotel, the Viceroy Riviera Maya is probably one of the best hotels in the area, a true gem amongst a plethora of forgettable experiences that line the shores of the Riviera Maya.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 64. A great room closer to the spa, and further from the beach, but fairly quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Jonnyclarkoxford,

Thank for sharing your comments about your recent stay. I am really happy to hear that you enjoy so much not only our hotel facilities but every single aspect that surrounded us, from the privacy of our Villas to the Wayak Spa as well as the culinary experience at either Coral Grill or La Marea Restaurants.
I agree with you about the staff, that is our gem and more valuable asset. We continuously try to surprise our guest with small details through their stay.
I hope that you can give us the honor to host you again in your next visit to the Riviera Maya.
Cordially,

Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Last October I stayed with my husband and my parents at the Viceroy Riviera Maya.
I have been several time to Riviera Maya in the last 10 years and returning again I wanted to make sure to stay in a very special place.
The arrival was magical, we were welcome from a wonderful and very attentive staff, which explained us all the facilities and services of the hotel.
Room are beautiful, cleaned and located in a tropical lush where you can hear and smell the beauty of the nature.
The beach is just perfect, very long beach with a turquoise water and at the Viceroy you can relax under the palapas while sipping an amazing margarita. Beach service is great , staff is always present to help you with your needs.
Both of the restaurants are very good, my favourite was that one on the beach with a spectacular view. Food was also very good. The restaurant staff was great , very efficient, always making sure you have all what you need.
The butler service also was fantastic, very useful and helpful. Our butler gave us very good advice regarding the excursions and restaurants in Playa del Carmen. Any needs you have ask them because they are great with lots of knowledge and experience.
What I can say... everything was perfect and we had a wonderful family holiday at the Viceroy Riviera May, definitely I will recommend to everyone and I will go back for sure!
Very big thank you to all the staff from Isabella , Paolo, Alina & Franco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Isabella,
Thank you very much for such great comments about our staff and our property. I am very glad that you have found us to celebrate such a special occasion.
The impression and experience that you had is the one that we want that our guest take back home. We try to make you enjoy the resort and facilities through the service provide by our staff.
We all look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, MI
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have to agree with the prior reviews--the service was the best we have ever had in Mexico. The staff went out of their way to be very attentive, anticipate your needs and be very friendly. They called you by name from the moment you arrived (we could see them studying their guest lists). The food was very good--we ate at both restaurants and really enjoyed the Tuesday night "Street Food". The villa was very comfortable but we spent most of our time under a palapa at the beach doing nothing and getting great service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Njpone,
Thank you for taking the time to provide me with your feedback regarding your stay at the Viceroy Riviera Maya. Our staff is very happy to know that they success in providing an excellent service to our guests. This is one of the main characteristic that we pride ourselves, our staff. Our management team is always willing to go beyond to satisfy not only our guest expectations but also to offer them a unique experience. Our “Street Food” night is a very original interpretation of our Chef that is also looking to surprise our guests.
I hope that we continue to having your preference in your next trip to the Riviera Maya.
Yours,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for a week at this hidden gem.
The property is beautiful and very well managed. Service was flawless. The room was private and beautiful. Great design, good flow. The private outdoor shower was a big plus.
The main pool and restaurants were much better than expected. THe food was phenomenal. I wasnt planning on eating many meals there, but the food was so good we didnt feel like we needed to leave.
The beach is well maintained with a really great little dock and pavilion right on the water. The beach lounge areas are private and comfortable. We ended up spending most of our time there.
The only issue is that the beach is very rocky. You cant really just walk into the water. They provide water shoes, but its a lot of rocks. If you are swimming, there are some nice sandy areas off the dock, but for just jumping in the cool off, its a pretty big production to get in and out.
Also you are not that far from Playa Del Carmen (just a few miles), but they wanted $50 EACH WAY to take us there. So we skipped it. We found a nice guy on the beach who took us to Tulum (about 30 miles farther) and the ruins and a cenote for the whole day for the same price.
My main issue was the "service fees"
There were service fees on everything (In addition to tip and tax). At the end of our stay we were shocked to learn there was an additional "service fee" per day ON TOP of all the other service fees. No one was really able to explain to me what this additional fee was for and they refused to remove it. In the end the service fees ended up being 25% on top of the room charges.
I have stayed at many high service resorts that will charge a resort fee, but 25% is a lot for a resort or service fee when you are paying 500/night for the room. (this is in addition to the tips which are automatically charged).
Id rather just pay more for the room or be told about fees up front, and not feel like Im being taken for a ride.
The service was outstanding, so I was happy to pay a fair amount for their service, but these fees seemed excessive.
One side note. We spent our last day in Tulum. While it was more rustic and casual, the beach there is incredible and far nicer than the stretch that Viceroy is on. I will be back and stay there next time. Id rather have a pristine sandy beach since that is where we spend most of our time on these trips.

Room Tip: Jungle rooms are more private. Beach rooms are more expensive and have great beach views, but the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear royald,
I appreciate very much that you share your experience about your recent stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya.
We offer different dining options to our guest as well as special theme nights and other activities to have diversity and variety that keep our guest happy. Our Villas are surrounded by natural vegetation that keep the privacy and provide a secluded atmosphere that is very much seek by our guests.
Our pier not only has the advantage to provide a very unique setting for a romantic dinner, a wonderful massage, a yoga class or even a Mayan wedding; it also provide an easy access to the Caribbean sea through some steps at the end of our pier.
The beach offers an amazing view and in a clear day you can even see Cozumel island.
Our Butlers are always ready to provide any information about our resorts as well as activities and various numbers of requests.
In regards to the extra fees, I am sorry that we did not give you enough information, just to let you know that Federal Tax & State Taxes in the Riviera Maya are up to 14%.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and I hope that you can give us the opportunity to host you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went to Playa del Carmen for a wedding and booked one night. The next day of the wedding was also my birthday. The staff surprised me balloons and a cake in our Villa. I had no words to describe the unparalleled service we received at the Viceroy. We had such a magical day that we decided to stay another night. The staff was exceptional and the level of service was beyond expectations. Staff such as Pepe, Anastacio, Gilberto, Carlos, and Ivan among others were friendly and made sure every detail of our stay was covered. Other staff in the resort knew it was my birthday and would congratulate me by name. I can not stress enough the amount of detail that the staff covers to make every part of your stay unique and special. The room was fantastic, and we loved the hammock and private plunge pool. Food was spectacular. The whole experience was so serene and so special, that there is no doubt in my mind that we will go back and stay longer in this secluded gem in the Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear MariaPR1028,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya. It is our pleasure to make sure our guest received not only personalized service, but also to ensure that every detail is well taken care. I am very glad to hear that you enjoy our food and the tranquility and privacy that offer our Villas.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.